Road Trippin’ It ’08…

So, we took a little road trip to celebrate the new EP…you know, “Finding My Own Way”…we decided to find our own way up to the Chicago area for a couple days to bring in November right.

Here is a little synopsis of our trip.

After about an hour of driving, we made it to Kentucky. Yeah! Kentucky!

welcomekentucky

So, after that very exciting event, we continued on our way and what do you know? We passed a “Google-Car.” Again, a very thrilling encounter.googlecar1

Well, no road trip is complete without a large Sonic drink (only 99 cents between 2-4!) Here is Kate enjoying her delicious beverage.katesonic

…and both of us ecstatic about Sonic happy hour. jksonic

Not long after our Sonic stop, we crossed over into the Hoosier state, Indiana. Corn and basketball…how can you go wrong? indy

It just so happens, that one of our BFF’s hails from this lovely state. He doesn’t live there now, but was there visiting his family so we swung by and had some dinner with them. Here we are with our friend “Stix” aka Scott…who will be drumming for us in the not so long future…yes, that means shows, people. We hear you. stixkatejill

The last leg of the journey was upon us and we finally made it to Illinois. We ended up sitting in traffic outside of Chicago at 1 in the morning for about an hour, but Stix’s mom sent us off with orange slices and that kept us trekking on. photo-8

Chicago was fun and a nice change of scenery, but since this is a road trip blog, i will skip ahead to the road trip back to Nashville. You have to appreciate the randomness of “Dinosaur World” right off the highway. dinoworld

We found gas for $1.98/gallon in Indiana! All of a sudden, i thought it was 2004, but alas…it was still 2008 and i took a deep sigh of relief. We celebrated the “cheap” gas with an extravagant lunch at Subway. photo-11

Well, no pictures of this, but we counted 11 dead deer on the way home. How morbid, i know. You’ve got to keep yourself entertained somehow though. 

We made it back in time for the big Election day. Here’s Kate with her “I Voted” sticker. By the way, i voted too, but just absentee-ly…so i didn’t get a sticker. Bummer. pic

that’s about it.

 -jill- (and kate)

23 Responses to “Road Trippin’ It ’08…”

  1. Erin Says:

    UNDER $2!?!?!?! wow. Also, my brother works for google, so i can get you guys shirts or something if you want. I have an “in”. I also voted…for the first time…it was exciting!
    p.s. (tour in chicago pleaasseee?)

  2. Amanda Says:

    JILL! I dunno if I said this before, but your hair has been looking good lately. I’m diggin the darker hair. Woohoo darker hair!! Don’t worry, we still love you too Kate. Haha. I am pretty jealous of the “I Voted” sticker!!! I totally didn’t get one yesterday. What a rip off. Especially since, I won’t even lie… I was kind of talking about that being the entire reason I was excited to vote in the first place. I was in it for the sticker!! Okay, voting was still exciting, but I mean…… it would have been more exciting with a sticker!! I use a lot of exclamation points…… Whatevs. Yay for shows!! Glad you girls had a fun road trip. Those are my favorite.

  3. Amanda Says:

    I’m glad my train of thoughts are all over the place too. Hahahaha. I sounded like such an A.D.D. case up there. I think I probably sound like that a lot. Haha.. please forgive me. I will stop leaving novel long comments now, peace.

  4. Jenny Says:

    AWESOME!! so glad you took some time off!! nice to see you had a great time road tripping it!! thats the way to do it!! you ladies are just the best!! ;)

  5. Erin Says:

    ahh i love roadtripping! and i just killed a fly on my computer screen. sick haha you didnt need to know that..but haha

    my last roadtrip was like a month ago to Nashville actually! hahah and I’ve DEF seen the dinosaur man on the side of the road hahaha that’s hilarious..glad you guys had fun! love all of the pics!

    Oh and did i hear shows??? WOOHOO!! :)

  6. vanilla Says:

    jill lovin the dark look on u !!!!!!

    awesome roadtrip guys looks like it was fun !!!!!! my nephew would sooo wanna go to dinosaur world, all ur pics look awesome especially the orange one u just have to do that whenu have orange slices lol

    news on shows im excieted i really wanna come ill just have to jump on a plane from the uk but it’ll totally worth it !!!!!!

    hope ur both well xx

  7. Tricia W. Says:

    1.98 for gas, wow I would be excited too.
    yay for road trips they are fun, in fact I’m doing one today.
    can’t wait for the new ep and shows!

  8. M Says:

    Hi, y’all…. Roadtrips are the best, especially the sights. On my way to Nashvegas, I get to hit the Jack Daniels Distillery. I think that’s cooler than dinosaurs. ;) For the record, $1,98 for gas? That’s insane. I danced (yes, literally!) at the pump last night, and it was $2.09 for me.

    I’m jealous of your cool “I voted” sticker, Kate. I mean, I did vote and got one, but mine was a giant peach one. Seriously. Everything in this state has to have a peach. I guess it’s, “instead of your fruit basket, here’s a peach sticker!”

    Sorry for the long comments. I’m just really long-winded. Whoops! But I did read that right, shows?! Like, really? ‘Cause that would be Sweeeeeet!

  9. Pam Says:

    i seriously wish the east coast had sonics, no fair! Jill- i love your hair color. i’m not sure if it’s new or not, but i just noticed it and it looks great! and YAY…VOTING! i was so in to this election, but i wish i could’ve voted. booooo :(

  10. Panalee Says:

    Less than $2??? OMG…it’s $2.09 here in FL. But that makes the roadtrip better doesn’t it? When it only takes $22 to fill up the tank, for my little civic at least.

    So…what were you ladies for Halloween? I was expecting lots if pics :)

    Yay for y’all voting! I was an early bird last week but I didn’t wear my sticker until tuesday so I can get all the free stuff. Free coffee from starbucks(I went to get one though I don’t drink it) a free donut from Krispy Kreme, free smoothie from Planet Smoothie, free scoop of ice cream from Ben and Jerry’s…it was a great day :)

    PUMPED about shows!!! Willing to travel for them though hopefully you’ll do them into the New Year ’cause work kinda has me tied down until then :)

    BTW, I did have a recent roadtrip too…well, it was an “airtrip” since we flew. We got to visit Nashville this weekend and I won’t go into how beautiful it was but have y’all ever had a cupcake from Gigi’s? I bought two and I’m totally in love.

    Ok, this is long enough….that’s all. ;)

  11. classic06 Says:

    hey guys, been meaning to say this for a while, but i love y’alls blog. y’all are seriously awesome, and i can’t wait until the new EP comes out. i’m sure it’s gonna be kick ass. can i say ass on here? well, it’s gonna be kick butt, lol.

  12. SarahLee23 Says:

    Woot woot for road trips!!! I can’t wait for the shows!!! I am hoping and praying and hoping ( did I mention praying??LOL) that you two end up here in Austin!!! Congrats to the both of you for voting, too! I am still on a winning high! LOL

    Hugs,
    Sarah

  13. Shelby Says:

    I just passed my driver ed test [i think i got an a :] which means behind the wheel, getting my permit, then, getting the coveted drivers licence!! haha
    i love how I’m 17 and I still don’t even have my permit “/ my friends and I are planning on going on a road trip after graduation. I don’t even care where we go, as long as we go somewhere, I’m tired of here…I’ll even go by myself if everyone wigs out haha..I really wanna go on a road trip if you haven’t noticed.

    oh, and um, you two better come to cali!! [kelly and reba are lame-o 's for not coming to cali on the 2w2v tour haha jk] just make sure to come to the bay area [[SJ]] cuz then I can go for sure :]]]

    or maybe we can just road trip to one of your guys shows :]]

    I like that idea better :]

    what were you for halloween?
    i was a banana haha :D

    srry for rambling

    peaceeeee,
    Shelbyy

    ps wow, did i really just call reba and kelly lame-o’s?! ahaha

  14. Clara Says:

    Shows in Sweden ? ;)
    Wish I could meet y’all.

  15. Monica Says:

    Sonic! First and last time I had sonic was 2 years ago in Oklahoma…Dang Boston and their crappy fast food chains. BUT! April I’m going back to OK for a college visit andddddd I get sonic! :)

    Yahoo! Shows? Definitely excited for that :D

    The orange picture is adorable haha!

    1.98 gas? Craaazy, but cool!

    Jill, your hair looks great, btw!

    But I’ve come to the conclusion roadtrips in fall are the best…In the summer you deal with all the crazy heat and it’s not the comfortable-ist ride, and who’s crazy enough to drive in winter with ice?
    So, therefore, fall is perfect…not to mention the perrrty leaves as a sight! :)

  16. Jenbug Says:

    Cool looks like you guys had fun.
    Jill the picture of you with the orange made me chuckle ’cause when I was in primary school we so all did that with our orange slices and got in trouble for it and of course would smile like that with the slices while the teacher was telling us off hehe.

    And did I read something about shows? You guys know you wanna wait until next year when I graduate so I can incorporate seeing one of your shows into me planning to go to the USA after I graduate. :-D lol

  17. Jenbug Says:

    and wait….thats a BP! Something British haha it took me a while to click with that. I’ve never seen a BP in America before……ok I’m sad that I noticed that, Yeah….I’m a loser haha.

  18. LC Says:

    That giant dinosaur frightens me EVERY time I head up 65. So do the giant “Adult stores,” but I won’t go there.

    Yay for a mentioning of shows–that is fanTAStic news!

    Random, but Trader Joe’s in Green Hills opens on 11/7! That’s tomorrowww. Whole Foods & Trader Joes = happy times.

  19. E Says:

    I love hearing that you did this. I took a fall road trip with some friends through the midwest the other day as well. We went from Milwaukee to Minneapolis to Moline and back to Milwaukee….One Big Friggin’ Circle! We saw claims of the worlds largest skillet/frying pan. We saw towns with more tractors than people. We sang loudly and horribly to country music. We gambled on riverboat and got massages @ the mall of america. Sometimes the open road (1am traffic is kind of sucky) is the best place to hang out!
    Nice to hear about some upcoming shows as well.

  20. Jennifer Says:

    Ok one of my OAG (Old aged guides) has just decided after I was looking at your blog that BP should be AG (American Gas) since British petroleum doesn’t make sense for you guys.
    Yeah it’s 4am and we haven’t slept and aren’t allowed to till 9am….so we’re kinda bored and making no sense…..fun times it must be the caffeine/ lack of sleep/ high increases of sugar intake talking and smoke from the fire we made and burnt stuff on it we really shouldn’t have done and we have been raided by the police for being very loud but they had a cup of tea with us and played sing star and pool! We just realised we don’t actually know why we are telling you guys this…..we’re a bit delirious and won’t remember this is the morning.
    But anyway a few of the girls now have been made to listen to your music.
    So much love from the UK!
    1st MESS (Senior Section)

  21. Anakellya Says:

    ahhh i loved those pics and the story to go with them (:
    how sad, 11 deer ): urrrghh damn those speedieee drivers!
    i think the whole blog was the best so far, but, the best part had to be… THE NEWS OF SOME SHOWS.. FINALLY!! =DD i reeeeallly hope you make your way over to the UK next year for some (: if not, i suppose i will have to drag someone out to the States with me to see you guysss (:
    much love x

  22. Jennifer Says:

    So lesson for the day don’t let a group of 14-17 year olds finish typing up a comment on a blog. They included some details with a lot more I wasn’t aware of. Hmmm sorry for their randomness, although I’m sure it might have caused some amusement.

  23. Marley Says:

    Wow that whole road trip was my old stomping ground. I’m pretty sure that’s the exit I get off to go HOME!!!! Well it’s not home anymore but it was at one point. And yes I have totally been to dinosaur land… Don’t laugh it is AWESOME!

    I kind of miss that drive from Nashville to Chicago. It’s fun and beautiful and boring all in one…. I’m glad y’all had a fun time!

    Keep up the random blogs they are always fun to read. And I’m sorry that I am really late of my response but you know life is ridiculously crazy right now. :)

    Marley

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

