30 to 30.

Hi there…

Kate here. And well, guys…I have 28 days until I’m 30. People tend to freak out about this age marker but I am welcoming it with open arms. Bring it on. 30 seems like just loads of fun so I am ready.

I really want to remember this time in life. Sometimes I feel like I’m not remembering enough. I often say I only remember my life through pictures. Maybe that’s why I love pictures and photography so much. As I was thinking about ┬áthis the other day I wondered if I couldn’t remember things because I’m always looking down fumbling in my pocket or purse looking for my phone or camera to document that moment, or place. Isn’t that just a smack dab catch 22 in my face? If I just put the cameras down and just looked around would I remember more?

So the other day my dear sister called me and said that I had one month until my 30th birthday. I got thinking…30 days…hmmm…how would I remember these days? 30 to 30. I came up with this idea to do 30 new things until I’m 30. One new thing everyday. It doesn’t have to be mind blowing or ridiculously awesome. It just has to be new. So far, I’ve done 2 things.

1. Had a bonfire in a parking lot with friends. It was a beautiful night in Tennessee and a group of us made the best of it. It was I couldn’t feel my toes chilly but the stars were bright and we had s’mores. Not just any old s’mores but a normal s’more with BROWNIE in the middle too. I cannot claim this idea…it was Ali from The Better Together Tour…she came up with this genius twist on an old favorite treat. Let me tell you..it was SO GOOD. Enough said. I’ve been to plenty of bonfires but this was the very first one in a parking lot. 1 down. 29 to go.

2. Bought space bags & used them.

Have you guys seen the infomercials too? The ones where the lady looks so happy just sucking the air right out of those bags with her vacuum?? I’ve always seen them and really wanted to try them. So, today was that day. It was like magic. I was trying to organize my linen closet. It’s a tiny space and I like to keep extra blankets/pillows/sheets for house guests to use…so it often times looks messy and jam-packed and I have a hard time getting anything in or out of it. So, space bags to the rescue. It took a good portion of an hour and my back kinda hurts from all the stuffing of giant pillows and blankets into these bags. I had a revelation while I was dealing with these today. There was one blanket that was especially difficult. It was big, bulky and just a pain in my tooshie. So, I put it in one bag with some other blankets and hoped it would magically not become all of the above-mentioned things. I wanted this “difficult” thing to be less difficult and disappear within the other blankets. Guess what? It was still a pain in my butt even in the nifty space bag. I sat there thinking…ohhhhh okayyyyy…I get it. Sometimes you think if you just shove the difficult things with other things or push them under the other blankets they will magically not be difficult anymore. I was wrong. This big bulky pain in my butt blanket I had to take out, re-fold, and try out about 3 different bags before I found one that fit. And it had to be all alone in a bag. That’s how big it was. Anyway–I came to the conclusion that the only way to deal with difficult things is by facing them head on. They might take extra time and finagling. You might have to try 3 different situations to make it work. Ugh…Space Bags…who knew you would teach me things?? I did not. Anyway…here are a couple pics…

(Here are all my space bags lined up & saving space in my closet)

Are you trying anything new? I’d love to read about it…so feel free to share in the comment section :) Happy trails at whatever age you are at.

-kate

15 Responses to “30 to 30.”

  1. localcelebr1ty Says:

    11 days until my bday!!

  2. Jenbug1988 Says:

    I love space bags….we used them when we moved house and it saved us so much hassle trying to put things in the loft. Love them! Especially as I am a hoarder when it comes to clothes so it means I can put things away and feel better about keeping them haha.

    I like the idea of the 30 things though hmmmm so might give this a whirl in the run up to my 25th…..and queue the fact that I have just written that I am about to hit 25 and the panic that ensues with that for me haha.

    • jillandkate Says:

      You are golden…no stress…age is just a number…we set our own limits and boundaries…I refuse to let a number define me :) 25 is gonna be great!!

  3. Jenbug1988 Says:

    *cue

  4. Selena Says:

    Interesting idea to usher in birthday # 30! Kelly really seems to think it’s an awesome age, and hopefully it’s going great for Jill too, so may it be the start of an amazing year and time in your life as well, Kate! It sounds like you’re already getting things rolling, having fun and learning lessons. It’s sometimes strang the simple stuff that can provide some perspective…even space bags! Thanks for sharing your one new thing a day so far, and happy expanding horizons to you!

  5. E.L. Says:

    I turned 35 this year and started the couch to 5k running program. I’m in better shape now than I’ve ever been and am looking forward to the spring when I can start up again.

    Turning 30 was not as bad as I thought it would be. Turning 35 though….yikes! Kidding! ;P

    • jillandkate Says:

      That’s so fun! I love running too. Well…love might be an exaggeration…I really enjoy how I feel after a run. Great job!!

  6. Kalyn Jacobs (@KalynJacobs) Says:

    In relation to the space saver bags, i just moved into a townhouse and bought a new bed. The mattress came in a twin sized space saver bag, with all the air sucked out of it, making the mattress so flat that it was literally and seriously, rolled up like a sleeping bag! Pull out the the bed frame, unroll the mattress, cut the bag open, and BAM you have a twin size bed (mighty comfy might i add!). One of the coolest ways of getting a bed…thank you Sam’s Club! Here’s to hoping it lasts me long!

  7. Ashley Says:

    Love that you kicked the list off with a bonfire. Nothing better than a bonfire with friends. Just don’t melt your favorite fleece jacket with the ashes. :)) Anyway, hope the remaining days are just as fun filled for ya!!

  8. hopelesslypale Says:

    Vacume bags are amazing! I’m currently travelling around Australia and back home I decided to vacume bag all my clothes so they won’t get all dusty and gross. I couldnt believe my entire wardrobe fit into 2 bags. Amazing!
    I love this 30 days countdown, very exciting.

  9. What to do that’s new? « JillandKate's Blog Says:

    […] here. I told you guys about my recent ventures to do 30 new things in 30 days leading up to my 30th birthday. It’s been so much fun. Some days I get a little stressed cause I don’t plan them […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

