boarding now….all rows…

we are sitting in the airport right now…about to board a plane headed to st. louis. free wi-fi in the airport rules. seriously. way to go kansas city airport. our flight was supposed to leave at 9:10am…it’s currently 9:15am…and we are still sitting in the airport. maintenance people are “looking into something.” we are flying to st. louis to spend some time in the studio πŸ™‚ i’m super pumped. there is something so exciting to me about sitting here with just the songs on paper and rough demos to show for them, and in a few weeks we will have an actual finished product.
haha….no joke…the airline man just got on the microphone and said these words, “well folks, for those of you traveling to st. louis, this airplane’s broke.” hahahaa….jill and i are cracking up. people are funny. now you might be thinking that being delayed would piss me off…well i’ve decided that when things go wrong or annoy you…it’s way better just to laugh than get all huffy and puffy about something you have absolutely no control over. it’s so good to laugh. to laugh so hard that you cry. this happens to jill often. not crying…that happens to me often…but a common occurrence in our group of friends is uncontrollable, knee-slapping, doubled-over-in-pain-because-you-cant-breathe laughter. and when this happens…jill is the one to have little tears streaming from her eyes because she is laughing so hard. i’m the actual crier in the group….sometime when i feel more comfortable with this whole blog thing i’ll share about the scrabble incident of 2007.
it’s now 9:32am and i realize i’m a slow typer. all of these businessmen are on their cell phones making deals and pacing back and forth right in my space. and this businessman next to me must be ichating or something and his computer volume must have been on high and just made this really loud laughing noise…i’m trying really hard no to laugh…he’s embarrassed…i’m laughing.
ok…enough airport shanannigans.
more to come from studio πŸ™‚
laugh hard.
-kate

18 Responses to “boarding now….all rows…”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I seriously LOL’d at the businessman and ichat. Thanks for that, its made my day so far πŸ™‚

  2. Amanda Says:

    haha I love sitting in the airport watching people. Its quite interesting.
    So excited to hear you guys are about to embark on the journey that is your next album! Cannot wait to hear some of it. Don’t worry Kate, it’s ok, I am the crier of our little group too! It is not hard to imagine that in your group there are a lot of the laugh-until-you-cry moments! lol
    ❀

  3. Holly Says:

    crying until it hurts is one of mine, mandi’s and beth’s favorite past times haha …airports can be fun, i love people watching, its a perfect place for it :p oh and you do realize that you now HAVE to tell us about the scrabble incident of 07

    have fun in the studio, can’t wait to hear more on that! πŸ™‚

    don’t worry, i did laugh…hard.

  4. Tricia W. Says:

    ok seriously you.are.funny. Pretty much cracking up while reading this because I have had those moments in airports.

    scrabble incident of 2007? please continue.

    yay for more studio time, can’t wait for the tunes.

  5. Sarah Says:

    Haha I hate the feeling of needing to laugh but you don’t want to laugh outloud in fear of hurting someone’s feelings.

    I can’t wait to hear the scrabble incident!

  6. Panalee Says:

    Awesome that y’all are getting into to the studio. I bet you’re both excited about it. And I’ve had my fair share of delayed flights….broken A/C…snow storm in the northeast affecting my flights in the south…not enough flight attendants to work the flight…and I tend to shrug it off too. Nothing a nice drink at the bar won’t fix πŸ˜‰

    Can’t wait to hear more about y’alls studio time and the scrabble incident!!!
    Have fun!!!!

  7. Melissa Says:

    ok i think there is a law out there stating that you can not mention a potential embrassing moment, and then not dive deeper into it!

    Good to hear that the demos will be turnt into masters in no time and new Jill and Kate music will be out there for all to enjoy!

    Hope you guys are enjoying your time off, but we do/did miss you on this “mini-tour”! πŸ˜‰

  8. Holly Says:

    wow… i totally meant “laughing until it hurts”….not crying.

  9. Jessica Says:

    aha that just made my day so thank you!and now i am curious if that guy ichatting was my dad at the airport!! anyways i hope some day u share the scrabble thing cause i bet i will be laughing till it hurts when i read the story

  10. Kelly Says:

    Aahhh yes…airport stories…have a few myself. I really am excited about y’all getting into the studio…I cannot wait for some new tunes from you gals. And…I have to agree with everyone else…scrabble story is a must now Ms. Kate. Safe travels ladies!!!!

  11. Lindsey Says:

    yess i want to hear the scrabble story!

  12. Amanda Says:

    Laughing is definitely the cure for anything, especially boredom! I personally like waiting in airports. Well, I mean, I don’t wake up in the morning thinking “Man, I want to be delayed at an airport today yeah!!!” But I don’t mind delays or layovers like some people do. Nothing beats people watching with good company! Especially since there’s definitely some out there people to watch at airports. My best friend and I are always the girls who probably talk way too loud and overly enthusiastically at the airport. And my laugh is… pretty loud too, not gonna lie. So I am sure the businessmen love us!!

    Oh and high five for criers!! I am usually doubled over on the floor in tears. And I laugh at the stupidest things. I mean, seriously stupid things. Life is good when you can laugh about anything. More people need to try it! Like probably those pacing businessmen.

    Way to probably leave a longer comment than the actual blog is, woohoo! I hope you girls are doing well. Rock out in St. Louis!

  13. Elise Says:

    Man, I like in KC, ya’ll totally should have done a show! Anyway, thanks for the new blog and good luck recording in the Lou.

  14. Elise Says:

    Yeah, that’s *live” not *like.* I have no idea how to edit comments.

  15. Skye Says:

    I am so excited to hear some of your new stuff… Thanks for keeping us fans posted.

    Cheers to you!
    Skye

  16. Andrea Says:

    “this airplane’s broke.” ?? Hahaha!

    That reminds me of when I recently went to Spain and our flight was delayed and all they told us was “We are very sorry, the door won’t shut.” That’s always very reassuring when you’re already sitting inside the plane.

  17. Beth Says:

    Smidge late with commenting on this one…whoops! And I hate that, b/c all the good comments have gone and been said. Guess I’ll have to be orignal…I guess I should start with my favourite laughter. It’s when you have a running joke with your friend and you are already laughing so hard you are crying, then you try to add something to the joke but you can’t spit it out or you only get a few random words out…so then you are stuck with this joke in your head that you know they would die laughing at, so you laugh harder at it yourself while your friends look at you and start laughing harder themselves b/c they know you have a good one in there…and by this time everyone is wheezing from laughing so hard that really, your joke doesn’t even matter anymore. And THAT’S my favourite form of laughter. Ever experience that?
    Well now that I am finished with my blog I prob should be going…haha Have a rockin time in the studio! Later ladies!

  18. Ashley Parker Says:

    Haha you guys are funny. I love those kind of stories where you can just read it and picture it and crack up. So you guys record in St. Louis??? lol i love how you guys record yourself saying random stuff…those things are fun to watch. You guys should check out my videos on youtube that I took from the Reba/Kelly concert on 2-7-08 in St. Louis. My username on there is AshleyParker4 they are really good…gives me the chills everytime lol. Have fun in the studio!
    ~Ashley

Leave a Reply

