You Oughtta Know…Part 1.

Here’s the first round of answers to ya’lls burning questions…

1. What are your plans for an upcoming album?

We are so excited that people want new music 🙂  We do not have a release date as of yet–because making a record is a big, expensive project…BUT, we promise to announce a release date as soon as we have one.

2. How has such close proximity to “celebrity” affected your views on being musicians and your future in this business?

There are extreme highs and lows in this business no matter what level you are at…you have to love what you do in order to withstand the lows and sacrifices that this job entails…but the highs are definitely worth it 🙂  

3. Starbucks or Dunkin’?

Starbucks for hot….Dunkin’ for iced.  Bam. 

4. Whats your secret to having such amazing hair?

Hahaha….

Jill: Amazing hair?  Hats.

Kate: My friends make fun of me for having greasy hair…so it’s funny that people out there might think I have amazing hair.  My secret weapon to fight the “bad hair days” is dry shampoo.  It’s amazing…and it gives you tons of volume.  Klorane makes it…I use it like it’s going out of style.  Haha.

5. What are your goals for 2008?

Have fun.  Be happy.  Do good.  (Not necessarily in that order)

6. Is there a plan to tour in Europe?

It’s not in the immediate plans, but you guys are awesome and we hope to do that eventually.  

7. Where has been your favourite place to visit on the tour? 

Kate says…London baby!  Jill says…Australia and Cardiff.  

8. Did you get to do much touristy-type sightseeing?

We didn’t have a whole lot of free time–one of the highlights was doing a scavenger hunt in Cardiff 🙂  It was an awesome way to see the sights and have some good laughs while doing it.

9. Were there any of the shows that you particularly enjoyed more than the others?

It’s hard to pick a favorite–every show is a blast.  

10. Will you release your music in Europe esp. Germany, as well??

Our current music is available on iTunes and on our website.  We do ship overseas.  It will be the same for our new music 🙂

11. Jill, what’s the one biggest thing that Kate does that annoys you and Kate what does Jill do that drives you craaaazy? 

Jill says: Kate is a multi-tasker…a chronic multi-tasker.  And I am a uni-tasker…you can see the problem. 

Kate says: Jill’s idea of being on time is being 10 minutes early….I am not like this…

Great guys…that last question just broke up the band…HAHA…just kidding.

12. What’s your fav song of the ones you have written? And why?

Jill says:  A tie between Alive and East Coast Bound….East Coast Bound because I love where I’m from and Alive because I just love the song.

Kate says: A song called Who Will Cry.  We’ve never released it–but it’s the most therapeutic song I’ve ever written or been a part of.

13. When is Jill going to rock the side-ponytail during a concert?

If I gave that information away, it would not be sacred.

14.   When did you write your first songs?

Jill started writing songs in Junior High, Kate started shortly thereafter.  We met at a music program in college and wrote our first song together there…it was called Stained.  That’s right….we shared that with you.  Haha…

15. What do you look for in a guy?

Kate says:  Honesty.  Someone who is super fun…like me…haha.  Tall.  Not a tool.  Can’t spend more time getting ready than me…or wear more jewelry than I do.  

Jill says:  Gotta have a sense of humor.  Tall.  Awesome.  Easy-going.  And He can’t be a Yankees fan 🙂 But we’ll take what we can get 🙂

16.  If you could date any celebrity, who would it be and why?

Both of us say: J.T.T.  That’s right…Jonathan Taylor Thomas…but only if we were 12 again.  

17. Out of your songs, which is your favourite to perform live?

Our current fav to perform live is Finding My Own Way….be looking for that one on the new album 🙂

18.  What inspired you to become singers?

We both found music to be our safe place when we were kids…even though we didn’t know each other, we were obsessed with the same artists and addicted to recording songs off of the radio onto our cassette tapes.  All hail the early 90’s. 

19.  Did you guys see the front row at Manchester rocking out with our side ponytails?

How could we miss it???  You guys are awesome 🙂

20.  Uhmm Kate…are you sure that thing was a hairdryer???

Well…I hope so 🙂 Haha.

21. If you had to make a CD with only 5-10 of your favorite songs ever, what would be on it?
We are each choosing 7 songs…this is a hard question.

Jill says:
Stay-Lisa Loeb
Rain- Patty Griffin
Walking in Memphis-Marc Cohn
Perfect-Alanis Morissette
6,8,12-Brian McKnight
Drive-Incubus
Mr. Jones-Counting Crows

Kate says:
If-Janet Jackson
Are You Still Mad?-Alanis Morissette
Love is Overrated- The Ataris
Hook-Blues Traveller
Whenever You Call-Mariah Carey and Brian McKnight
When It Don’t Come Easy-Patty Griffin
My Song-Brandi Carlile

22.  What was the first concert you went to? Most recent? Favorite?

Kate says:  August 16th, 1992…Amy Grant.  It changed my life.  I still have my ticket stub 🙂  Most recent…Lady Antebellum at a club in Nashville.  Favorite…Patty Griffin at the Hotel Cafe in LA.  Front row…I cried for the first 3 songs straight.

Jill says:  1994.  Steven Curtis Chapman.  And Jill says the same thing about the other two questions…except she didn’t cry for the first 3 songs….her tear ducts are stronger than mine 🙂

More to come….
 

25 Responses to “You Oughtta Know…Part 1.”

  1. Lauren Says:

    hahaha you are are <3.

  2. Holly Says:

    uni-taskers unite, Jill! I can’t multi-task to save my life, or anyone else’s for that matter.

    and i’d just like to take a moment to apologize for breaking up the band, but i have to admit, it was a pretty good question, not to toot my own horn or anything….. toot toot.

    can’t wait for more, you guys are silly, i love it.

  3. melissa Says:

    jill i can’t sing, but i have to be early for everything, SO if you need someone to replace Kate just as a body on stage, i am game 😉 j/k

    and i hate you guys for the lady A concert…… ::grumbles:: not really, but SO NOT FAIR!!!

    and sadly probably a majority of the people that read your blog now, DONT EVEN KNOW WHO THE GREATNESS THAT J.T.T was….Oh man whatever happened to him?!

  4. Amanda Says:

    J.T.T. is dreamy… I just wish he would have grown a couple of more inches taller.

  5. Jennifer Says:

    Ok my responses in order haha

    Dry Shampoo! Rock on…I actually love that stuff it saves my life! Don’t buy the tropical one though Bleuuugghh!

    Do You think we might maybe be able to hear the song “Who will cry” Sometime?….plleeeaaase *big smile*

    Recording songs off the radio…..oh my gosh I used to sit and stop the Tape when the DJ was talking then start it again for the next song I liked….took me ages!

    MANCHESSTTAAAAAA! Side ponytails rocked the world! My hair is waaay too long though so I kept whipping people with it!

  6. Tricia W. Says:

    aww J.T.T., Kate you win for putting a song from The Ataris, not many people I know, know who they are. I definitely agree on the coffee situation.
    Thanks ladies for answering the questions, can’t wait for more.

  7. Jessica Says:

    i love that you anwered my questions! that may have just made my day,week or year.

  8. Vicky Says:

    I am with Jill. Arrive early. Thanks for answering all this stuff! Looking forward to the next set of quizmaster questions.

  9. Olwen Says:

    Wooooooot for Manchester and the side-ponytails.

    And J.T.T was oh so hot

    And I’m seriousky even more excited for the new album now wheeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. Nina Says:

    I totally had a J.T.T. calendar.

    It was right next to my bed ;] hahaha

  11. Panalee Says:

    What an awesome thing to come home from work to!!! I’m excited to see the other questions and even more excited to hear y’alls answers. Special thanks for answering some of my TEN million questions 🙂

  12. Pam Says:

    JTT- oh the good ‘ol days of Home Improvement.
    thanks for answer my questions, guys!

    and Jill- Drive by Incubus, NICE CHOICE. 🙂

  13. Elise Says:

    Thanks for your answers. I’m looking forward to the next set!

  14. Danielle Says:

    Ahahahahaha! Jills tear ducts are stronger! Love it!

    That’s exactly what I said about the Manchester audience when they didn’t cry at Kelly waving!

    It’s so great that you keep on with the blogging! If you do the q/a thing again I’m soooo gonna ask a question. And it will be goooooddd! Yes.

  15. Mandi Says:

    Haha loved the answers.
    Kate, I am glad that you have “Not a tool” as one of your requirements in a man. lol. I laughed pretty hard at that answer, and Jills “Awesome” was funny too.

    Jill, it is scary how much our musical taste is alike. I love all but one of those songs (I dont know the one, may know it if I heard it). Lisa Loeb – Stay has been one of my favourite songs since I was about 10, same goes for Mr. Jones, I still get excited when I hear it on the radio!

    Can’t wait for the next installment ❤

  16. livin' vicariously Says:

    You do realize that by listing “tall” as one of the attributes of your “perfect man”, you are now destined to end up with someone short, right? 🙂

  17. Anakellya Says:

    woop woop i see some of my questions were answered (:

    awesome answers to them all! ! 😀

    x o x o

    XxKellxX

    PS. “More to come….” theres moree? WOW! =P x

  18. Monica Says:

    Recording off the radio still lives on, my friends.
    Well, at least it did a year ago before I got myself an ipod. 😉

    And Incubus’ “Drive,” nice choice. Love that song. I think Ima listen to it now.

    Can’t wait to see the next questions! 😀

  19. Marley Says:

    I totally feel you Kate, I so cried for like the first 4 songs at Patty Griffin’s concert too!

    Nice work on the goals for 2008, good luck on the last one…

    Who wasn’t in love with J.T.T! We all watched home improvement faithfully!

    Nice selection of songs girls. And Kate I can’t believe you know who The Ataris even are, you are way cooler in my book now!

    I can’t wait until the new album just hearing the names of the songs sound amazing (so find a sugar daddy pronto)!

  20. Erin Says:

    kate:
    i always have to be early too. im pretty paranoid about it.
    i dont think there’s such a thing as not a tool, but im the worst at picking boys. ive pretty much given up. you know trying that whole, it’ll find you when you’re not looking. so ive been not looking for about 2 years…sweetness.
    i love that you have the ataris on there. they rock my world. my favorite of theirs is ‘looking back on today.’ im really jealous you saw patty griffin. i think i might pass out if i got that chance. probably some hyperventilating involved. i dont get star struck but for her…i think i might die.

    jill:
    i love drive and mr. jones. mr. jones is on my running playlist. gets me pumped. i hear ya about ill takin what you can get. and hats are a necessary part of my wardrobe. ill take any outfit and add a hat. even if im in a dress…its not complete w/o my texas longhorns hat. and i just realized why im still single…haha

    cant wait for the new tunes!

  21. Gem Says:

    You girls absolutley rock!!! I can’t believe how down to earth you are…. Kate “Not a tool” is something that is a MUST, you gotta make it clear, just incase men arent aware they are one!! And my ex, if you’re wondering ‘yes you are!!’ LMAO

    Love you girls, XX

  22. Gem Says:

    PS your music taste? LOVE IT!! Freakishly similar, taste in men, oposites!!?? LMAO I love it!

  23. Holly Says:

    how’s the rest of the questions coming along? can’t wait to read more! 🙂

  24. Beth Says:

    I just realized I never commented on this blog…after you guys took so much of your precious time to answer questions. I’m a bad fan, I know.

    Ne who, I thrououghly enjoyed reading your girls answers!! Especially kate’s, “not a tool” so slyly put into what she likes in a guy!!haha I must say I laughed pretty hard at that. and the random “bam’ at the end of the question!!

    Still waiting for my questions to be answered tho! It’s been so long I can’t even remember what I asked, but I’m sure it was good!lol

  25. Gem Says:

    LMAO Beth – “I’m sure it was good…..” I can’t remember I’ve asked so many. lol I’m sure I’ll remember when i see it, HA!! WOOT for 2008 and 2009 – hopefully see you girls in USA as i’ll be there rocking out to Kelly and ARRRREEEEBBBBBAAA in NY! OH yeh!! x x x

Leave a Reply

