Jill’s thoughts for the day.

Good friends are the best. One of our best friends, Meghan, who we went to college with, is here visiting us for the weekend. We always have a blast…and she’s a bigger Red Sox fan than anyone i know (except my brother) so we will have fun watching the games this weekend. (Won last night! woohoo!)

I recently got into the show Army Wives and i love it. 

I just read somewhere that we will spend 43 billion dollars on our pets this year. Well, i don’t have a pet, so by “we” i mean everyone who does. Really? That’s a little ridiculous to me, but who am i to judge? 

Hair ties don’t last very long. I go through them way too quickly. I guess there are probably bigger problems than that though. haha. 

Being selfless is hard. Being selfish is easy. I’m trying harder to do the hard thing. It’s hard. But it’s good.

Funfetti cookies are the best. You buy the Funfetti cake box and the Funfetti frosting. The cookie recipe is on the side of the box. They are dangerously good. 

I wish i had “Rockband.” It looks so fun and i’ve never played. I have Guitar Hero, but i’m itching to try playing the drums. I’ll let you in on a little information. I secretly dream of being a drummer. 

Enjoy the weekend. I plan on it.

21 Responses to “Jill’s thoughts for the day.”

  1. Pam Says:

    I played the drums for about 2 months last year. it’s a blast, except for the fact that i have no hand-eye coordination haha.

  2. SarahLee23 Says:

    I have always wanted to play the drums too! When I was in elementary school, I’d always get in trouble because I’d be playing drums on my desk with my pencils. LOL My friends and I even had a pretend band where we’d put on shows for the after school child-care. We’d blare the latest hit on a cassette tape and we’d all grab a cleaning tool ( mop, broom, etc) and lip sync to the music. I rocked out my guitar ( aka the broom! HA) every week! Ha! 🙂 Ahhh…good times! 🙂 Enjoy your weekend with your friends! 🙂

    Take care,
    Sarah

  3. Kelly Says:

    Rockband is great fun however it hurts the heck out of my shins. I’ve tried drumming standing up…sitting down…by the end of the song I’m in pain. Any tips anyone? Darnit…I saw Deaner the other night…I should have asked him the secret. I can only imagine that drummers have very strong legs.

    Selfless is more rewarding than selfish…but that doesn’t make it any easier. 😉

    Peace…

  4. Mandi Says:

    I am ridiculously excited about the new Guitar Hero World Tour game that is coming out that has the drums … except these drums have the symbols baby! lol. That should be a good time. Anyway I enjoyed your random thoughts and I totally agree that it isnt easy being selfless but its definitely rewarding when you are. Oh my gosh, i go through hairties like you wouldnt believe. Which is why i now buy dollar store ones, it gets way too expensive.

  5. vanilla Says:

    ok jill u have to get rockband with the drums or wait for guitaqr hero world tour (its released in november in th UK but i dunno bout the US)

    I play the drums in our rockband band called legend23, it killed my legs the first time i played but u get used to it the more u play and u have to get the right height right and the chair too get a comfy one too i sit on my sofa and im sitting in jumping long with it its awesome my favourite to rockout too is foo fighters “learn to fly”

    Im sooo looking for to GH world tour it has a mini recording studio software built in and ur guitar has a touchpad aswell as the frets so u change it into a keyboard in the recording studio ok i sound like i made the game i didnt but ive watched the demo video

    And i agree with kelly selfless is more rewarding than selfish !!!!

    hope ur well and go rock out !!!!!

  6. Erin Says:

    i will let you know that rockband is awesome. i happen to be the drummer, it is hard at first but you’ll get better. i will have to try those cookies. they sound amazing.

  7. Shelby Says:

    red sox rock my socks :] haha 3 or 4 years ago i would always say that ‘…..rocks my socks’

    army wives is pretty good, ive only watched it a few times tho. do you ever watch one tree hill?!

    43 billion is pretty crazy!! then again, i would have done almost anything for my almost life long dog, lexxus, who we had to put down in march =[[ she had some type of cancer. we found out in october 07 and we spent a lot on chemo just so we could have her thru christmas, and then around feb her lumps where coming back and we decided she had always been more than loyal to us, that this was the least we could do.

    being selfless is hard, but pays out in the long run.

    what are funfetti cookies?! my mother deprives me of good tasteing food..haha its all good tho, im 17. in exactly 11 months i can actually eat some ‘real food’

    i dont even have Guitar Hero =[[

    i should be on my way to reno right now to see kelly and reba tonight, but im not going anymore cuz of something that came up =[[ oh well, everything happens for a reason.

    peace out :]

  8. Amanda Says:

    I LOVE ARMY WIVES. I won’t lie, I haven’t watched it in like… a couple of weeks because life has kept me super busy, but the past few episodes are all on my DVR waiting for me to catch up on them. I think I am going to do that this weekend. I always joke I must be the only person under 40 who watches it (none of my friends do… but my mom and aunts are addicted, go figure) so I am glad to find that I’m not the only one!!

    Funfetti is awesome. I like the icing that goes with it too. The last time I attempted to make a Funfetti cake it kind of… collapsed. I’m really not sure what happened 😦

    All my hair ties are stretched out at the moment and I’m having to use about 3 at a time, so I feel you. It sucks though cause I definitely just bought a new pack of them a couple of weeks ago. What’s going on?? Maybe our hair is too thick or something.

  9. Monica Says:

    Yeeah Sox! I actually just uploaded some sox pics to my myspace (my first time seeing us play the yanks).

    I’ve totally been wanting to catch that show, Army Wives, but I always forget when it’s on. The commercials for it look really good.

    At least you’ve played guitar hero..I haven’t. 😦 But drumming is fun…except how could I remember? It was like 4 years ago when I took lessons. I’ve found myself enjoying Karaoke Revolution Party…that’s probably the only ‘cool’ game i own.

    And the selfless thing…definitely something I should try more. I’ve been also fighting with the whole over-judgmental problem. I hate when people are way too criticial, and I find myself being like that at times…not good.

  10. Andrea Says:

    Army Wives is amazing. I love that show. As much as I love it, I hate the fact that I can’t get through a sigle episode without crying. I feel like an ass half the time, but what can ya do?

  11. Anakellya Says:

    awesome thoughts Jill (:

    and yes agreed with the selfless thing. did you get that from ‘Friends’? 😛 trying to find a selfless good deed ‘eyy? 😛

    and yeah i have 3 dogs and a cat and i’m so lucky i don’t have to pay for them, but i’m guessing they cost ALOT per year, especially considering they have to go to the vets like every other week cause they have bad hearts 😦

    xx

  12. jenbug1988 Says:

    I think I spend more money on hair ties than I ever did when I had pets…..I want a fish though….but yeah hair ties I use them so much since my hair is far too long and I seem to loose them all I mean seriously who goes through 120 hair ties in less than a year?

    Gotta agree on the rockband thing I have guitar hero, but my AV button is broke on my remote so I can’t play it until I get a new remote….but anyway….I want rockband but having a ghetto ps2 feared I couldn’t get it but I can *dances*
    Just need money now hummph being a student sucks for money haha.

    Dude I think you guys need to run some big competition for us non USA people where you will send the winner all these american treats you guys keep teasing us with lmao!
    I had to console myself with vanilla creamer since we don’t get peppermint creamer….and now the funfetti stuff….that looks good!

  13. Olwen Says:

    Oooooh I just bought Rockband a couple weeks ago and it is ridiculously good, Last night my sisters and I had an fun alcohol filled rockband session I think I play drums better when inebriated lol.

    And I am terrible at losing my hair ties so now I’ve started making myself put it in exactly the same spot everytime I take it out so now I always know where I can find it 😦

    And yay for the Red Sox win I actually watched that game but it was kinda hard to understand I’m new to basebell lol, I am hurting right now though my Cowboys just got beat bad…sob

  14. LC Says:

    Agreed about the drummer/Rockband thing. My PS2 busted awhile ago, so I’m no longer having Guitar Hero cravings (after a bad withdrawal). But I’ve been waiting to play RB for awhile. Sad. One day…

    And thanks for the Funfetti cookies tip. Never knew. I’ll have to try that one out.

    Hope you had a fab weekend. Peace.

  15. M Says:

    Great blog….first off, come on, Beckett, 8 runs? Seriously? Here’s hoping he’s not trying to be too much of a tough guy and bounces back. 🙂 Goo Sox! Ya!

    I’ve resisted the RB craze only for fear of getting addicted. But I’m already planning getting GH: World Tour for Christmas. Will make family time a lot more fun. lol

    I’ll have to check out Army Wives on DVD at some point. I love discovering the little shows. It’s how I found Friday Night Lights. It’s amazing.

  16. I'm Kind of a big deal.... Says:

    To Kelly: If you keep your foot down on the foot pedal and only lift it (and put it back down) when you need to, the pain will disappear completely! I used to play by lightly resting my foot on the pedal and pressing down only when I saw the orange line…my shin would be killing me after only a few song, but since I’m so addicted to the game of Rock, I would still play, blocking out the pain, switching the pedal from leg to leg (haha)…I did that until I saw one of those tip things they show before some of the songs. I still switch the pedal from leg to leg though…I have a fear of one of my legs becoming more muscular than the other :-S haha. Hope that helps 😀

    To Jill: The Red Sox SUCK!!! Haha Just Kidding!!!!… The Red Sox are one of my favorite teams! But I do have to say, if they are ever against the Giants I’m going to have to root for my home team (don’t shoot!)!

    You should SO get RockBand! It will rock your rainbow socks off! (That is, of course, assuming you HAVE rainbow socks)

    Btw…You’re great at singing and the guitar… and now you want the drums? That’s just showing off. What’s next? The world? Haha

  17. rhonda Says:

    ROCK BAND is amazing. I can’t believe KC didn’t have that game on her tour bus. Was it not available during the My December Tour? My 5 year old daughter is amazing at the drums. She is rediculous. She makes it look really easy and then it’s my turn…not so easy. We played every day this summer. I highly recommend it. Army Wives, huh? Never watched it. When you have two children under the age of 11, you don’t get to watch cool shows. You are stuck watching Disney and Nickelodeon. They have discovered the Discovery Health channel though. At least it is something that is not animated. ha. Still waiting to hear some new music. Nashville needs some JillandKate action.

  18. Marley Says:

    Ok first of all Jill you totally don’t want to start ROCKBAND!! I’m just saying you may never go out of your house. I’m glad that I don’t own it but my friend does and we never leave the house once we start playing. We are sooooooooooo drunk off of wine by the end of it we can barely stand up. But you better believe we still do! Well at least until we can’t see anymore because our eyes are watering furiously from constantly looking at the TV.

    I’m glad to hear that I am not the only one that watches Army Wives. I do however not like that I cry every single time I watch it! But hey I guess that means I actually have a heart. 🙂

    I always loose my hair ties. With out a doubt I have to buy a new pack every month! Wow I just realized I need to work on that to save a whole $1 every month!

    It is hard to be selfless but it is so much more rewarding in the end. I guess we all get caught up in the madness of life and we forget that think about others on the way. So I would say that you are one step closer because you wrote this blog and Kate did not make you!!! 😉

    Have a good week girls! Marley

  19. jenbug1988 Says:

    So….after posting that I loose all my hair ties…..I’m cleaning up my shower today well my whole room and bathroom and realise my show drain is this really crazy mechanism where like things just kinda fall into it and it catches them……in there was about 10 hair ties…nothing else but hair ties……rather weird contraption on my shower drain though….but it saves my hair ties.

    Oh so my whole point of this is I think I just loose my hair ties in the shower….

  20. Christine Says:

    Thanks Jill for recommending the Funfetti cookies with frosting! I baked some this weekend and my sister and I just can’t get enough of them. They’re super easy to make (even for the cooking illiterate like myself) and are scrumdiddlyumptious!

  21. Holly Says:

    Mandi, Beth and I are so getting guitar hero world tour when it comes out…. i have yet to master guitar hero, but by golly i’m gonna master those drums(with symbols as mandi said haha)

Leave a Reply

