Baking After 10pm.

So, I decided that I should do something domestic this evening. I decided to bake something. Probably because I had just worked out I felt I needed to eat something bad for me because I deserved it, you know, because I had just worked out. Following? Good. So, I had two somewhat brownish bananas and thought…hmmm…chocolate chip banana bread…that’s what I’ll make. It’s quasi healthy, and it’s a favorite that my mom and sister always make. So I started…iPod was blasting “Frou Frou” and la dee da, I was making banana bread.  Well I had an injury making this lovely banana bread..but it’s not your typical injury.

I know you’re probably thinking…she burned her finger in the oven somehow, she got her face stuck in the blender trying to snitch that lonesome chocolate chip that hadn’t made it into the bowl…but no.  This is not your typical injury folks…

This harmless looking bottle is what caused the injury:

I was trying to put away the can after lightly spraying my pan and the cute little, red top would not go on…so I leaned in with my ENTIRE body weight and the chubby part of my right pinky got sucked in right as it clicked…yes that’s right…my pinky was now apart of the Pam can.  I did not appreciate this and could not get the top off using my left hand…and it was not fun.  At all.  I finally just ripped my hand out and it left a nice little blister on my finger.  I mean, I appreciate the amazing things that Pam does for me…always lightly greasing the edges of my pan, providing a layer of protection so my yummy food doesn’t get left behind…but yikes…be careful people…make sure your fingers do not get caught 🙂

So here is a picture of my injury…it looks small but hurt like…well, like a….let’s just say it hurt a lot.

 

So that’s all…my chocolate chip banana bread is baking.  If any of you feel like baking what I baked here is the recipe.  It’s still in the oven so I cannot say how it turned out…but it smells really, really good.

Love,

kate

PS.  My mom’s name is Pam so that’s funny.  Haha.

32 Responses to “Baking After 10pm.”

  1. SarahLee23 Says:

    Ouch!!!! I have horror stories of my own from the kitchen..some funny, and some downright ugly…I am sorry about your finger!!

    Speaking of banana bread..funny that you made this! I made some the other night…it’s my famous banana bread that everyone loves! Ok, so it’s not MY recipe..it’s from the “Friends” (yes, your favorite show! LOL) cookbook, and is aptly called “Marcel’s Banana Bread”. When my roommate’s family comes over, they always want me to make it! I even took pics of it the other day! LOL

    Here they are:
    The banana bread batter – http://www.flickr.com/photos/58745888@N00/2923309506/in/photostream/

    The first slice:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/58745888@N00/2923738056/in/photostream/

    The ta-da shot! LOL:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/58745888@N00/2922888789/in/photostream/

    I’d be happy to e-mail the recipe if you like! 🙂

    Oh! Just a thought..we have silicone baking pans…they are great, because you don’t have to use the Pam sprays – and can prevent kitchen injuries! LOL

    Hope your finger gets better soon! Enjoy your bread!

    Hugs,
    Sarah

  2. Shelby Says:

    haha awww that souds like it hurt like a mother……

    :[

  3. Amanda Says:

    Okay, I think I do that more often than I should. It always happens when I’m putting the cap on my hair mousse back on. Then I jump around and say things that I probably shouldn’t and stick my finger in my mouth because apparently, in my mind, that makes the “injury” feel better.

    Also, this post has made me insanely hungry. Mail me some chocolate chip banana bread. I think that’s a good plan. But only if it comes out yummy, otherwise you and Jill can keep it 😉

  4. ashley rae Says:

    mmm…i always take the shortcut and buy the chocolate chip banana muffins from Trader Joe’s. But then a little trick I learned from J&K…cut the muffin in half, butter it, and grill it in a pan. yumalicious.

  5. Kelly Says:

    i am so sorry for your injury kate, really, i am. but it’s 3am, i’m a bit giddy, and that blog just cracked me up. sorry 😦 i’m sure as you chowed down on that delectable banana bread, the pain all faded away 🙂 i want some too!

  6. jenbug1988 Says:

    Grr I was all ready for class and not hungry before I read this and now I’m gonna have to get something before class to eat haha.

    I can’t say I’ve ever had banana bread so I guess it’ll have to be something I try to make……

    At least u make something normal when u decide to cook, me and my closest friends make beer cake….there’s no specific recipe to it except you make a basic sponge cake with plain flour rather than self raising and add beer in place of some of the liquidy items……We always used to think we were so cool when this random idea came upon us when we were like 15…….but reality is the alcohol burns off so it’s just beer tasting cake haha

    This was mine and my best friends last beer cake we made at ummm around 2.30am when we were taking care of her cousins for a week….we had to be up at 7 to get them ready for school so why oh why beer cake seemed a good idea at that time I’ll never know.

  7. M Says:

    Well, I totally follow your logic about eating something “bad” for you as a reward for working out. Kinda defeats the purpose, but oh, well. ha. I saw the recipe and I’m not much of a baker, but I might to give that one a try. Anyway. Hope your injury heals quickly. 🙂

  8. Amanda Arch Says:

    I freakin hate when that happens. I have done it quite a few times!
    I think I am going to have to make that banana bread. Its one of my favourite. My mom would make banana bread for us when we were younger all the time and it would be gone within an hour of it cooling off haha.

  9. Panalee Says:

    As I’m reading the blog, I said “This has to be Kate.” 🙂 But I agree that injury does look small but I’m sure it hurts. You must post a pic of your banana bread…bet it’s awesome. I like baking cookies after I work out so it’s understandable. Well, I just like baking in general…with Dad being a chef and all…I’ll have to post you a pic of my halloween cupcakes 🙂

  10. Beth Says:

    I had the exact same thing happen to me just the other day…only I wasn’t cooking or using Pam. I was innocently taking pictures of Holly’s eyeball for my class assignment. I had the tripod out aka the enemy and I was snapping away with the camera on top. I decided I needed to get lower to get the shot I needed. So I should tell you all dangerous tripods have the 3 legs, and the one leg in the center that a slider to put out and bring in the legs goes on. I refer to this as the slider of death. Anyway, I needed to spread the legs out, so I did what I always do, and slid the slider down to kick the legs out. But apparently I did it wrong this time and my finger fat jammed in the contraption. And not only did it jam, it jammed at the very bottom when it’s really nice and tight. Lovely. At this point not only do I have a tripod hooked to my middle finger and Holly laughing at me, but I also have to figure a way to painlessly get it unattached from my flesh. So I ripped it out as I swore..and then kicked the tripod for good measure.
    This happened like a week ago and I still have a mark. It bruised and bled a little. Oh and I have another mark on the other hand from the same incident, but no idea how it got there. My guess is its from the fit of rage I threw.
    the end.

  11. Beth Says:

    oh and p.s. I love banana bread.

  12. Erin Says:

    i also encountered a injury with the pam bottle. of course mine was not as severe as yours, but it still hurt. simiilar idea, no blister tho. happy baking 🙂

  13. Chase Says:

    *shakes head*

  14. Amanda Says:

    This is a hilarious sentence…

    “I mean, I appreciate the amazing things that Pam does for me…always lightly greasing the edges of my pan, providing a layer of protection so my yummy food doesn’t get left behind”.

    You crack me up Kate! Hope your pinky heals fast!

  15. Monica Says:

    That…does not sound pleasant. Yikes!
    Now, there’s a lesson I didn’t learn in my cooking class: Pam cans by itself is dangerous.

    And that recipe sounds a lot better than the nasty coffee cake I made today.

  16. Erin Says:

    haha you are hilarious. Kudos to you for even trying to bake… unlike me haha 🙂

  17. Lauren Says:

    hahah you poor thing! See..thats why i don’t like to cook..the worst injuries can occur in the kitchen!

  18. Deb Says:

    I love banana bread!!! I cook a tiny bit but not much, cuz I know what can happen in the kitchen. So far I’ve sliced my hand open trying to cut an onion, I’ve dropped a boiled kettle on my lap, and I always cut my knuckles on a cheese grater. X

  19. Marley Says:

    I am really sorry but I was laughing hysterically while reading this blog. Kate only you would do something like that!! 😉 Ok we have all done something weird like that but most of us don’t write a blog about it. So thanks for making me laugh! I really needed it today because my work is making me go crazy….

    I am totally going to try to make the chocolate chip banana bread after swimming for an hours and biking for an hour today. I’m pretty sure it’s going to be better then the Chocolate Soy Ice cream I usually eat.

    Anyways keep up the fun blogs. They always make me giggle!! 🙂

  20. Holly Says:

    LOL i’m not sure if i am laughing more at your blog Kate, or Beth’s 😛

    and now i want some banana bread!

  21. Pam Says:

    MY NAME IS PAM. haha ok sorry. yeah, i always tend to injure myself in the oddest ways. so i lost my first tooth from eating spaghetti. (ok that wasn’t an injury, but you get the picture. odd stuff like that happens to me all the time). oh and about the PAM, so my mom always buys store-brand spray. i always debate with her on why she bothered naming me Pam if she doesn’t even buy the spray!

    and yay your Mom! :]

  22. Amanda Says:

    Kate, Kate, Kate! I had to comment again, so hopefully you read this. My lovely father asked me what a blog was today… so I used your girls’ blog as a fine example to show him. He was amused by this entry as I read it to him (dramatically I might add)… and he was all “Are you sure that you didn’t write that??” But anyway. That isn’t why I came here to comment again.

    After I read him this entry, I went back a couple of pages and showed him how sometimes you girls even post videos and pictures of your adventures!! He had to take a double take at the picture you posted of your moms. Your mom (I assume she belongs to you Kate, since she was wearing the same funky, purple glasses that you wore) looks like a slightly older version of MY MOM! I had thought that before, when you girls first put the picture up of your moms, but I didn’t say anything cause I see resemblances in the [i]weirdest[/i] places. But to have my dad be in near shock was pretty funny. So then he called my mom into the room and was like “YOU’LL NEVER GUESS WHAT, BUT WE JUST FOUND YOUR TWIN!” My mom was super skeptical, but when she saw the picture she started to crack up and was like “Wow, you’re right. She is my twin.” That is my story. Pretty crazy, huh? I’m going to have to find a picture of my mom to send to you on MySpace or something. The end 😀

  23. Amanda Says:

    weirdest* Oops.

  24. Jaclyn Says:

    Cans are much more dangerous than they look, haha…I once bruised all the way to the bone by dropping a scrubbing bubbles can on my foot (hey, it was full and I wasn’t wearing shoes)…I had to get x-rays to make sure I didn’t break my toe because I couldn’t put any weight on it, lol…

    And I was totally the kid that wasn’t allowed in the kitchen…one of the first times I was allowed to take the cookies out of the oven, I tried doing it with my bare hands…not such a great idea…

    I hope your chocolate banana bread came out good! I love that stuff 🙂 But my roommate just made pumpkin bread so I need to go and enjoy it 😀 I love the fall 🙂

  25. LC Says:

    Hurt like a WHAT Kate, huh?

    As tragic as this is, I’m laughing. Hahaha. Whoops ha, sorry. But, you gotta admit…wtf Pam?!

    At first I thought you were going to say that as you sprayed the Pam, some of it happened to miss the pan as it made a nice little coating on the floor. And then you slipped and fell. B/c I’ve done that hahaha. OOPS.

    I hope you gave Pam a good timeout for biting; maybe she learned her lesson.

  26. Anakellya Says:

    Aww Kate, you gotta be more careful next time!! =P

    but i’m sure the choc chip banana bread tasted delishhh!! (: so well worth it! 😛

    xx

  27. rhonda Says:

    you know, if you would have used LARD or GREASE on that pan this would not have happened. ha I guess it’s a matter of importance….injured finger or clogged arteries. Tough choice. You need to be cooking pumpkin pie or some sort of fried pie. You are officially southern now ya know. I’m not sure if pumpkin pie is southern but it’s my favorite and I am southern. ha Banana bread isn’t so bad either. Quick question, totally off the subject….who talked kc into starting a BLOG? I can’t believe it.

  28. Marley Says:

    I just wanted to let you know that I totally baked the chocolate chip banana bread last night and it was after 10pm! Also there were no Pam incidents but I did however mess up on the ingredients. I kind of used a tablespoon of baking powder and baking soda instead of a teaspoon. So I had to do a second loaf to correct my mistake. The good news is the first one does not stick to your teeth….

    Everyone at worked loved it and they all want to thank you for telling me the recipe.

    Peace out and be careful in the kitchen Kate!

  29. Pam [different Pam] Says:

    my name is Pam too 😛

    and i work at a tea room, so i’m pretty okay with the baking part, but i was actually putting a can of Pam up on a shelf and i walked away and it fell onto the counter, so i know the bad experiences of Pam 😛

    enjoy the yummy stuff!!!!

  30. Theresa Says:

    I feel for you I too have suffered the finger traped by the Pam can injury.

  31. jessica Says:

    LMAO! omg thats hilarious!

  32. Linda Says:

    I’m sorry, but, that was funny *roflmao* I have a bad habit of laughing when people get hurt, I mean, I care, but, if it looked/sounded funny, I laugh. So, yes I do care about your finger, it still got a big chuckle out of me.

    Hope the bread was good 🙂

Leave a Reply

