New Song on January 17th–“Stay”

We thought we’d share a little bit about why we wrote this song.  This is a song about not wanting to be alone and asking someone to put up with all your craziness and to not give up on you.  Loneliness sucks!!!  And could possibly be one of the worst feelings ever….this song asks someone to stay with you…even when it doesn’t make sense, even when you don’t deserve it.  

Love,

jill and kate

 

STAY

 

Please don’t leave me high and dry

Please believe me when i lie

Please protect me when i can’t fight

Please come find me when i go hide

Please keep calling when it’s too late

Please forget all my past mistakes

And when i don’t show, please just wait

Please don’t leave me

 

Please just stay

Turn around and wait

It’s not too late

To save us

Stay

 

Please remember i’m not that strong

Please forgive me when i do you wrong

And don’t forget me

When i’m gone

Please don’t leave me

 

Please just stay

Turn around and wait

It’s not too late

To save us

Stay

 

Things change when you go away

Things change when you go away

Things change when you go away

So save us, Stay

 

Please just stay

Turn around and wait

It’s not too late

To save us

Stay

 

© J. Pickering, K. Rapier, 2008.

41 Responses to “New Song on January 17th–“Stay””

  1. Tricia W. Says:

    Ok so firstly I have to say great great song. second, this was the most entertaining song on the 17th ever! haha.

  2. Sarah Says:

    Sounding good ladies, as always, and yes I always found it weird talking into the camera also. Haha.

  3. rhonda Says:

    once again, i just love your harmonies. when are we gonna get to see you live in Nashville? i’m ready for some jillandkate. ya’ll may not even be in Nashville anymore. ok, i’m just rambling now, so i’ll end it with a Woo Hoo

  4. Holly Says:

    love this song!

    love you guys! lol Kate I think you should totally lip sync along to one of your own songs hahaha

    and yeah Tricia, it was very entertaining!

    p.s Jill your voice is fierce ❤

    p.p.s I think it’d be quite awesome if I could get the chords to this song…. just sayin’ : )

  5. Jennifer Says:

    As per such a good song, love it!

    Singing into a camera is weird, I hated having to sing into a camera for my performing arts exams bleugh.

  6. Pam Says:

    now why would anyone say that they hated it?! it was beautiful! i love the lyrics…i can totally relate

    btw Kate- your hair looks fabbbbulous!

  7. SarahLee23 Says:

    Uhm…is it normal to cry to this song? LOL! Ok, it’s HAPPY tears, Jill and Kate, NOT sad tears (LOL!!)! That song is BEAUTIFUL! Wonderful job, as always!!!

    Peace and love,
    Sarah

  8. Monica Says:

    Wow. Is there any better time for this song
    I was just talking to someone about everything in the description of the song and the song itself. it pretty much fits me perfectly.

    yall were acting silly too, haha it was cute 🙂
    and i loved jill’s use of the veto, it cracked me up.

    I’m trying to think of a good adjective for this song.
    I’ll go with…Marvelous? Yeah, it was marvelous 😀

  9. Panalee Says:

    REALLY??? I mean REALLY??? That’s the only thing that came out of my mouth after listening to this. I heart this one…A LOT!!! You ladies look great, you sound great…an AMAZING song. Thank you very much for that!

    I don’t mean to be a bother but live shows??? Coming soon??? I swear it’s warmer in Orlando than Nashville 🙂 It’s Florida cold here but it’s better than some of the cold I’ve been hearing about 🙂

  10. Kirsty Says:

    OMG 1 word…..LUVIT!….New word :D:D! And I can really relate!! Thanks guys! 😀

  11. Nic Says:

    How can anyone say anything bad about, Yall, love the new song on the 17th i have been check since the 16th, hhaha

    Again another great song!

    Nic

  12. Erin Says:

    Probably one of the prettiest songs I’ve heard in a long time. Jill you gave me goosebumps at the beginning. Your voices are AMAZING. Stay warm!

  13. Jaclyn Says:

    I LOVE it!!! That was a gorgeous song 🙂 Pretty sure I got goosebumps.

    I feel awkward talking into a camera, lol…normally I’m on the other side of it…except for when my roommates film randomly…we’ve caught some pretty interesting moments, haha..ones that I don’t really want to share with the world 😛

    It is so freaking cold here though! It got up to 20 degrees today and it felt like a heat wave, lol…but the wind is still harsh..that’s the only thing that sucks about living so close to Lake Michigan.

  14. Amanda Arch Says:

    You guys do know that you pretty much rock right?
    How could you not after writing that song. Its beautiful. I would even go as far as saying its one of your best.
    Thanks for gracing us with the awesomeness of this song!
    xoxo (gossip girl)… sorry had to do it. (Holly will get a kick out of that) lol

  15. NewFan Says:

    Alright, I’m gonna sound like a total d@#k, but I really love the song, I think the lyrics are heavy and honest in a real beautiful way. I’ve already checked itunes for purchase but it is not available. That being said, is it possible to just hear you sing the song without the intro/explanation/talking at the beginning or end of video. You’re both cute and all but I’d like to play this more than once and just hear the song. Ouch, sorry, I will now purchase the EP.

  16. vanilla Says:

    Like it ……… I love it !!!!!

    U guys are awesome I really wanna see u guys live but I hope you’d keep the humour running like u have now u guys crack me up

    U should so do a video for one of your songs and post it now that would be awesome

    Hope ur well guys n warm cause it’s freezin here in the uk I swear my house felt like it was gunna fall down with the amount of wind that was blusting away outside last night

    Well I’m off to work see u layers byeeee xx

  17. Karin Says:

    ohhh – what a beautiful song! i can totally relate!
    LOVE your harmonies!

    btw – watching you sing into the computer is hilarious! you guys are sooo funny!!

  18. Anakellya Says:

    wow – i loved that song (:
    the harmonies were incredible.
    and i loved the dorkiness ;D haha that was awesome (:

    so true though what you wrote,
    loneliness is THE worst feeling in the world ): it makes you feel so empty and like nobody cares ): horrible. – but the song wasn’t , it was beautiful!

    happy new year 🙂
    xxx

  19. Elaine Says:

    That was fabulous! Very VERY nice. You guys have to come play Ireland at some point, seriously!

  20. Kristin Says:

    hi Kate, hi Jill. I always read your updates but never posted a comment so far. But I feel the urge with this song. Oh my.. It made me cry.. how beautiful.. the lyrics, the melody, your voices, the candles in the background. even the giggly interruptions 🙂 weren’t capable of killing the atmosphere. it totally caught me off guard. and I think everyone in the world can relate to that feeling. kr

  21. Helen Says:

    I’ve been loving all the new songs! Keep it up, ladies!

  22. Amanda Says:

    Haha you girls are too much. Awesome new song on the 17th!!

  23. Erin Says:

    haha that was hilarious..love the song!!! but what did i tell you guys about making sure to pay your electricity on time?? you must be on top of that!!!

    i like the candles 🙂

  24. Fouts Says:

    great vlog ladies, even better song 😉

    ok how are you ladies cold? I mean you come from two of the most chilliest places during the winter?!

  25. Christine Says:

    I’m with Erin. Tell your boss to give you a raise…poor children can’t even afford electricity

    🙂

  26. Jenny Says:

    This song is absolutely amazing, so beautiful and your voices sound so great together!

    Keep rocking!!

  27. Hope Says:

    hiya !! woohoo for new song on the 17th !
    love this one, its probs one of my faves that youve done so far. its sooo pretty and your harmonies kick ass !! gorgeous lyrics, and kate i think you should do the lip synching vid that would be hilarious !!
    lovin the candles in the background too !

    luv ya girls
    Hope xx

  28. Kelly H Says:

    I think this is my favourite of the ‘New song on the 17th’s up to now!!

    Also, it took me way too long to realise why your faces are kinda blue…i’m clearly not as intelligent as my parents believe.

  29. M Says:

    Awww, y’all! Ok, that song is great. I so love it and who can’t relate to those lyrics? That’s what I love about your songs. The comments in between were funny…hope y’all stay warm! 🙂

  30. Carly Says:

    This is by far my favorite new songs on the 17th! Great job girls 🙂

    Keep Warm!!!

  31. Becca Says:

    I love the song 🙂
    And I love how you guys say awkward.
    I use that word like no other.

    It’s just so funny.

  32. Becca Says:

    Oh yeah, and I’ve actually written a song called Stay before and it’s pretty similar 🙂 Great minds think alike 😉

  33. Marley Says:

    I’m with you that LA/Cali people SUCK… No just kidding but if I have to listen to my friends tell me how its nice a beautiful day and like 80 degrease everyday! Seriously they rub it in how they are surfing and eating outside and wearing flip flops…. Well it’s not like I live where it is really cold either but it has been a high of 40 down here this past week (we even had to put sheet on our plants these past few nights). Seriously I’m never hear either what am I saying…

    Ok so on with what I came to really say. That song was great! Seriously y’all get better every time I hear you…. Let me just say that you need to go on the road really soon. I gave everyone y’alls album for Christmas and now they all want to go and see you. But I have to tell them I don’t think you are going on tour. You should see their disappointing faces every time! 😦

    Kate we are totally up for the lip syncing music video…. Just let us know and we will so be there for you because Jill SUCKS for not being up for it….. I really like I how just use the word suck like way too many time in this comment section. Anyways the song was great and y’all are always enjoyable to hear. Keep up the fun blogs and I look forward to hearing the next song!

    I almost forgot to tell y’all that we listen to your album before every concert…. We can’t help it y’all inspire us!

  34. cassie Says:

    great song ladies! i really like it!! i know i say this every time, but yall are so talented!! =] i look forward to the 17th every month =]

  35. E Says:

    OK – so the wrath that I will receive for this is going to be painful.

    I don’t love it. I am not digging the lyrics and phrasing. It’s odd. I love that I can hear each of your voices on this song and I LOVE the music. Jill you are an excellent guitar guitar player. But for some reason the song doesn’t flow. I listened about 5 times and all I keep hearing is a new take on the Grey’s Anatomy episode where Meredith says, “pick me. choose me.”

    If I should keep opinions like this to myself in the future please let me know. It has been a long couple of days and maybe I’m just not in the right head space to hear a song like this.

  36. livin' vicariously Says:

    Great tune. Are you girls going to go out and play to support your EP? Gotta get out there…the fans are awaiting…:-)

  37. TB Says:

    I LOVED the song! Actually I loved the whole video! You guys are way too adorable!!!

    And I loved the lyrics!

  38. Anakellya Says:

    i think this is my favourite song EVER actually (: (:
    i’ve found myself humming it at school randomly and while i’m getting my dinner and i’m not realizing it until i want to come upstairs and go on youtube to freakin watch/listen this!!!! lol.

    I LOVE IT 😀
    xo.

  39. Lauren Says:

    17th is definitely my new favourite date. Absolutely beautiful song, girls!!

  40. cduggan13 Says:

    we are so spoiled… thank you!
    as a lyrics girl, you two never disappoint. love it.

  41. M Says:

    So…I’m following up on my lame comment. Someone above wrote about it reminding them of “pick me, choose me” from Grey’s, which I love (even if it drives me nut sometimes). The song does an amazing job of capturing that sense of desperation when you know it’s all falling apart and you’re trying your hardest to make it work. Deep down you know it won’t, but you hope against hope. Well, that’s what I get out of it. Or maybe I’m just looking too hard? Ha. Anyway, it’s hardbreakingly good. Thanks to you both for sharing your music…and hope to hear y’all live soon!

Leave a Reply

