A Blog from Bed.

I don’t know if there is anything better than waking up, making coffee, and then getting back into bed!  Not everyday of course–it’s definitely a luxury to be able to do this…and so this morning…I am very grateful that I get to do it.  I plan on finishing my book–but before I do, I thought I’d share a few random thoughts in my head…and don’t judge…these are RANDOM…

*I’ve never seen “How Stella Got Her Groove Back” and they mention it in FRIENDS and because of that…I want to see it.

*I miss my Peppermint Mocha Creamer…I used the French Vanilla kind this morning….and it’s fine but it doesn’t make me all warm and fuzzy inside…

*I am absolutely 100% ready for Spring weather to be a constant around here.  Except…with Spring weather you get more bugs…for example I went inside my closet the other day and reached for a coat I hadn’t worn in awhile and I almost grabbed a HUGE spider.  It was BIG.  Thank goodness for good friends who can step up and kill spiders.  I was in the opposite corner with my ears plugged yelling, “Did you get it?  Is it dead?” 

*I saw the movie “Speed” last night…it reminded me of my 12 year old self….because my 12 year old self thought Keanu Reeves was a STUD.  I have since grown out of the crush…but this movie brought it back.

*I was a lucky girl this weekend…my mom and my older brother were both in town randomly and I got to spend some quality time with them…we ate, we drove around town…it was fabulous.

*My car has been making a horrendous squeaking sound…I drive an older car…and I LOVE it…it gets great gas mileage, the stereo is kind of messed up but music always sounds best coming from those speakers…anyway…over the past week, my car has started making this high pitched, nails running down a chalkboard sound.  It’s not constant but I think it gets worse when I slow down and am about to park.  People start to look around, and I start looking around the parking lot too…ahahha…trying to motion with my head, “Where is that noise coming from?”  Hahaha.  I’m an idiot and should get it fixed.

*I’m excited about the 17th this month…we are doing a cover song….oooooooooohhhhhhhh-ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh….but I won’t tell you which song we are doing.

*I cleaned and organized yesterday.  It was so fulfilling.  I had to do like 5 loads of laundry…and this process took me all day…but it was well worth it.  Since I am hardly ever home…I really try and settle in while I am…to take advantage of the perks of not living out of a suitcase.

*I got my first tattoo a couple weeks back.  That’s right…I’m so hardcore now 🙂  HAha.

*I have some really good friends that don’t live near me and I think I’m gonna get to see some of them over the next month or so and I’m REALLY excited about this.

*I’ve been listening to the new Keith Urban record & also Iron & Wine…..

*I think my taste buds are changing.  Let me give you an example.  About two years ago if you would have handed me a bag of banana chips..I would have wanted to vomit a little bit in my mouth.  But now–I LOVE them.  It’s my new favorite travel snack.  I know I’m weird…but if you used to hate something…I dare you to try it again…it might be your new favorite.  And if you do try something again, and you still hate it and vomit in your mouth…I’m not the one that gave you the advice 😉

*I went to H&R Block yesterday and I swear I have the sweetest, oldest tax man ever.  He might be 100 years old but he’s still sharp as a tac and has the sweetest southern accent.  

*We are gonna try to blog more…so bookmark the page people..J&K will be here….

Okay…I’m going to read for a little bit now….

Enjoy your Thursday everyone.

-kate

31 Responses to “A Blog from Bed.”

  1. Regine Says:

    Kate, I love your random thoughts, lol. You’re so “H-Core” (as my friends like to say) now that you’ve gotten your first tattoo. Several people I know have talked about tattoos a lot recently and it’s got me thinking about maybe getting one of my own in the future…if I can commit to something!

    It’s awesome that you’re being all domestic at home. I’m sure you appreciate these moments a lot when you’re living out of a suitcase.

    Hope to read more blogs from you ladies soon! Can’t wait for the 17th!

    =)

  2. Tricia W. Says:

    I miss the Peppermint Mocha Creamer too. I’m like, why can’t this be a year round thing? I miss it.

    I agree with the spring weather statement, totally ready for it, but those dang bugs not fun. We randomly had a moth flying around a classroom I was in yesterday, dang bugs.

    Hey you’re more hardcore than me, I talk a lot about getting a tattoo but have yet to get one, hopefully this summer. So what did you get?

    Ooooo cover song…this makes me even more excited for new song on the 17th.

  3. Holly Says:

    ok first of all, love your random blogs, always fun to read 🙂

    second of all….I cannot agree more with you about spring getting here and staying here already! ….we were having beautiful weather here (finally ripped off my freakin’ bulky winter coat yay!) then all of a sudden, two days ago, it decides to have a freak snow storm… ugh!

    third of all… very excited about this cover song you speak of ooooooooohhh aaaaaahhhhh lol

    fourth of all? I’m in bed at the moment and about to read some of my book 🙂 Vanishing Acts by Jodi Picoult, she’s an pretty awesome author, you should check out her stuff

    have a good one!

  4. Jessica C Says:

    i am the same way about spiders!! ahh they are so gross and scary, haha. i can’t kill them either, i have to suck them up in the vacuum 😛

    my car is making bad noises too, unfort. its gonna cost a lot to fix, so i’m waiting til i absolutely have to fix it, ha! procrastination hardcore.

    what is your tattoo of? you should post a picture of it! 🙂

  5. Monica Says:

    lovely ramble =)

    definitely want spring weather. i just don’t want to see bees. i have a HUGE fear, yet i’ve never been stung.

    i used to be in love with the movie Speed when I was younger, even though i didn’t understand it. But after watching it a few yrs older, i love it even more.

    family time is awesome!! glad you got to see them! 🙂

    i’m looking forward to the cover song, curious about your tattoo anddd i’ve been meaning to check out Keith’s latest cd. He’s awesome.

    nice to hear your random thoughts! i think it’s pretty normal 😀

  6. 1wildegirl Says:

    Well, random blogs are definitely entertaining. First off, and not to sound boring and all, but try getting your car checked. That squeaking noise could be the brakes…not to scare you, but seriously nothing to ignore. We need J&K intact for the foreseeable future! 🙂

    Anyway. So, you got a tat! Whoo-hoo! What’s it of? ‘Cause you know that’s the most important question of all after you get one. I have just one, but I’m dying for more…another side effect.

    Thanks for the reminder that I *still* have to do my taxes. Me procrastinate? Never!

    Finally, Keith Urban is amazing…that’s all.

    PS. Y’all blogging more often? Best news!

  7. Samantha Says:

    haha. I love your random thoughts too. It makes me laugh. What are you reading?

    I still think it’d be awesome to see you and Jill do Austin City Limits Musical Festival this Oct. I guess y’all might be busy with KC though. It’d be awesome though and a lot of people would totally dig your music.

    Keith Urbans cd is fab. I’m also enjoying Rascal Flatts new cd.

  8. Sam Says:

    I really recognized myself in the spider thing! lol. I am completely the same. And I’d probably never ever ever wear the coat again. Once there was a spider near my bed, I litterally cried because it scares me so much. My mum killed it for me and I refused to sleep in my own bed. Now I think almost a year on; I try to avoid facing the wall where it was whenever I sleep.
    When I found out you actually eat spiders in your sleep I really didn’t dare to sleep again! So I stayed awake for as long as possible (not very long for me haha!) but fell asleep anyway as I am such a sleepfreak.
    It’s pretty much a phobia. I think all spiders must die. hate hate hate em!
    I can’t even think or talk normally about them. It makes all the hairs in the back of my neck stand up. I hate it yikes.

    I am very curious about your new tattoo. Congrats on getting your first one. I want to get my first tattoo this year as well. Are you planning on posting a picture? I think we all would love to see it!;)

  9. Michelle M Says:

    you should post a pic of your tattoo!

  10. Monica Says:

    So I don’t think he ever comments your blogs, but I just have to embarrass him.. My friend has a huge crush on you, Kate, and he said this about this blog, “yay kate is a hot blogger”

    =) Have a nice day!

  11. Jaclyn Says:

    I’m pretty sure I have arachnophobia, so I hear you about the spiders 😉 …I live right by some woods (and a farm that smells really bad right now) and as soon as it gets warm all the spiders like to come out…and they have a way of getting into our house…last fall, we had a scoreboard on our white board where we’d keep track of how many we each killed…I had 0 because I didn’t ever want to get that close to one, lol

    Thursdays are always wonderful days for me though because I don’t have any class 😀 In 2 weeks the semester will be done though and I will be on summer vacation until the end of August, yay! Well, as much of a vacation as it can be, I still have to work, lol

    I’m pretty sure my mom would murder me if I ever got a tattoo…so if I did it would have to be in a place where I could easily hide it 😛 …I think my dad wouldn’t care though.

    As for changing taste buds, supposedly that happens about every 7 years…I just turned 21, so maybe I should try some things again? haha…I still don’t ever want to taste another mushroom..ew..and pumpkin is the only kind of squash I will eat, and only if it’s in pie form.

  12. Deb Says:

    eewww eewww spiders (speeders) im arachnophobic!!! (have no idea how to spell that, but its a really big word and im kinda proud of myself) lol

    I cant stop reading the Mills & Boon superromance novals (Im addicted) hehe

    Im going to see P!nk on saturday and sunday YAY!!!

    Cant wait for more blogs

    Love y’all x

  13. Lizitanorway Says:

    Where’de you get your tattoo?? and what’d you get?? 😉 I’m fixin’ to get my third tattoo, hopefully soon! =)

  14. Linda Says:

    Nice long blog. I am so ready for spring as well 🙂

    The sqeeking noise….check the fan belt

  15. Pam Says:

    i have off this week from school, so it’s pretty much been waking up at like 11 each day and doing nothing– and loving it. it’s soo relaxing!

    i also love spring and never want it to end. it’s so nice and warm (even though my allergies start to kick in…meh) but it’s also my birthday in may! so that rocks 🙂

    my fave is the pumpkin pie creamer…it’s actually amazing not gonna lie 🙂

    and…we must see that tatt! if jill also got one, you should post that too!

    oh and to that monica girl’s 2nd comment- yeah i know exactly who you’re talking about. he’s pretty good looking. kate you may wanna check him out haha 😉

  16. Panalee Says:

    Yay for more blogs 🙂

    Add me to the list that’s curious to see your tattoo…you hardcore person you…haha. I actually said “Oh em gee” when I read that part because my best friend and lots of my other friends have been talking about this constantly for a couple of weeks now. Weird that you blogged about it too.

    Can’t feel the same about spring because as you witnessed two weekends ago that it pretty much already feels like summer here in Florida. Though it was only 47 degrees here wednesday morning…but then again, it snowed in NY…so I shouldn’t be complaining about 50 degree weather 😉

    I can’t stand bugs either. It’s pretty bad here because Florida is one big a** swamp. All kinds of bugs around here. We have these bugs called “Love bugs” and I’m telling you they are EVERYWHERE during the spring months…oh, we also have little lizards running around too…eek!!! That doesn’t make me happy.

    Cutting the taxes a little close aren’t you Kate? Hahaha.

    I would keep commenting but this is your blog after all 😉 Can’t wait to see what y’all decided to cover on the 17th!!!

    Oh…this page is already bookmarked 😉

  17. Jaclyn Says:

    ^My grandparents live in Florida and I went to visit them for spring break one year and those lizard things were all over the place!! I don’t know how they got into the screened in area, but they freaked me out, lol…it was so gross though, their dogs would chase them and try to eat them.

    My brother went to pick a lemon off the lemon tree one time and got chased by a duck…it was pretty funny…he was so scared 😛 …ok, I’m done with random stories now, lol

  18. Lauren Says:

    Okay if the spider thing had happened to me, I would have died. Seriously.
    Ahh a tattoo, did it hurt? i really want one but not so good with the painsong.

    So excited for the 17th!

  19. jessica Says:

    i love reading your blogs! and i in fact did bookmark the page when i first found out about your blog:)

    well since you did a twitter about jill liking a miley song is that the song you are doing on the 17th? lol just a guess.

  20. Jennifer Says:

    So I’m no expert but the car thing sounds like it could be the break pads or the discs? If it’s just when you’re slowing down….either way yes get it checked out you may be like a stunt woman now haha but you don’t need to be doing unnecesary stunts!

    I have a secret love for speed since I was 8 when I first saw it when it was on tv (I was 6 when it actually came out) I had a crush on Keanu and I thought Sandra Bullock was the coolest person in the world!
    But if you watch Keanu in Bram stokers Dracula your crush with dissapear again trust me.

    Double chocolate mocha creamer is the way forward! A flask of that keeps me going through a long day of classes.

  21. Selena Says:

    Hello, Jill and Kate!

    I’m a longtime reader, but regrettably, only a first time replier on your blog. Hopefully, I’ll be able to keep the responses coming, because I like hearing from you ladies, and figured you might as well know it!

    I’m glad to see you’ve been having a relaxing time at home, enjoying the simple pleasures. Of course, it sounds like the spider situation was a bit unnerving! I’m glad you had a friend to come to the rescue! For me, bugs are a nuisance, rather than a scare, but at the same time, I’m not comfortable with killing them, so I leave their disposal to someone else. Haha!

    I hope you can get your car fixed soon, and that it’s nothing too serious or expensive. From your description, it sounds like it could be your brakes, but I’m no mechanic, though I’ve certainly had a fair share of vehicular issues!

    Moving on to brighter topics, I’m excited about the ”Song on the 17th” too! Getting new JillandKate music is always nice, but it’ll also be interesting to hear your take on someone else’s. I’m curious about what song y’all chose to cover.

    Another thing I’m curious about is your brand new tattoo, Kate (and Jill’s too, if she has any)! It would be cool if you’d post a pic sometime or at least share what and where it is. Hmm…maybe you will in one of your upcoming (and hopefully, more frequent) blog entries. Oh, and trust me, this page is already a staple in my favorites.

    Take care and have a great day, J&K!

  22. Meg Says:

    Can we see a picture of the new tattoo?

  23. Erin Says:

    I love these random blogs, they make me smile.
    What is your tattoo and where is it? Inquiring minds want to know.
    I’m watching Friends right now. It’s the one with Alec Baldwin in it.
    Keith Urban is my favorite. The new Rascal Flatts is amazing as well.
    I’m also ready for spring. It’s only supposed to be 40 tomorrow. Last week, it snowed. Gotta love Chicago.
    I can’t wait for the 17!
    I have a job interview the next day though, I’m nervous!

  24. Pam Says:

    although i commented this earlier today, i just saw a commercial for “how stella got her groove back” and it premieres on lifetime next thursday at 9PM.

    just thought you should know 😉

  25. Erin Says:

    you are so cute 🙂 And the whole car sitch..Not gonna lie, not a mechanic haha buttt i beleive something similar happened to me a couple of years ago and it was muffler..whatever that means haha yeah don’t know anything about cars..I just know my car was embarassingly loud.

    Happy Easter! 🙂

  26. lindsay Says:

    I was hoping to be comment #27 b/c that’s my favorite number. Weird. But true.

    Banana Chips.
    Oh em gee that you mentioned them. There are only 3 foods that I know of that I don’t like. One of them: banana chips. I used to like them in kindergarten, then it went away, fast. B/c of you, I shall try them again…One day…haha.

    Squeaky car.
    Were you in Nashville on Hillsboro Pike near Walgreens circa Monday afternoon? haha. I thought it was my brakes! (PS if you actually were, awkward.)

    Thank you for the little random thoughts. QUITE enjoyable. : )

  27. Danielle Says:

    What’s wrong with Keanu now? Have you seen The Lake House?
    PHWOAAARRR!

    I have an obsession with raccoons because of Friends! 😀

  28. higzy Says:

    i need to type up random thought sometime, its fun what you come up with! So what your new tattoo??

  29. Hope Says:

    im glad to hear your chilling out kate !
    can we see a pic of your new tattoo ? very rock and roll. i’d just look stupid with one, im sure yours looks ace !
    banana chips… errr i dont think so ! ugh !!
    speed = good film !!

    i hope you enjoyed the rest of your day 😛

    Hope x

  30. Emma Says:

    Awesome blog kate, u do need to post a pic of the new tattoo, im sure its awesome. I have just booked into get my 6th, im addicted! lol
    Take Care and have fun!! x

  31. Sarah Says:

    RE: the squeaky car. It is probably your serpentine belt. Depends how “old” your car is-but most cars within the past century (ha!) have a serpentine belt instead of a chain. This is a rubber belt that is connected to a few pulleys right on the front of most engine blocks- the belt turns your engine, basically. So it would actually squeak when you slowed down, as you described., because the belt loosens as it ages-to the point that the down shifting of the engine will cause little gaps between the belt and the pulleys–thus the squeaks you hear. Once the belt gets to the point that you hear the squeaking a lot-it means there is probably some of the rubber wearing onto the pulleys, themselves.
    I am a dork for knowing that. I would put money on it.
    I digress…Easy fix. Most cars have a diagram to replace it right under the hood. And the part is only about thirty – forty bucks.
    Fix it Girl! If not, don’t pay for more than an hour’s labor. It takes maybe half that to replace it on most cars.

    (wow. I just read that and I am completely embarrassed. But I will leave it for the good of mank-er, womankind!)

Leave a Reply

