My thought for the moment.

photo

I took this pic from my dressing room door in Des Moines…I have never seen firworks that big, that close. It sounded like bombs were exploding in the room next door. Actually kind of scary.Β 

Speaking of scary things…insecurity has been on my mind lots lately. I wish I could speak about the word like I couldn’t relate to it, but I’m human so I deal with insecurities like everyone does. The funny thing about insecurity is it’s like a toxin. It might seem small and insignificant, but if you don’t deal with it…it can ruin you. Insecurity is funny in a way because it turns things into a lie. It can be other people’s thoughts/actions or words or even your own…and what insecurity does is convert what would be a normal thing into a lie. (I hope this is making sense.)

Insecurity can and will only slow you down, hold you back and possibly stifle your dreams. So when an insecure thought pops into your head, squash the thought. Have the sane part of yourself remind you of all the truths that you know and go from there. If you dwell on all the “what if’s” and insecurities, you can make yourself crazy.

Be confident. Be yourself. And don’t believe the lies.

OK? Ok.

Have a great Thursday.Β 

-k

42 Responses to “My thought for the moment.”

  1. Erin Says:

    I really like this blog Kate. I have a lot of insecurities and I always have had them. I’ve never really been able to stifle them, but with time they are becoming fewer and fewer. It’s hard to think that someone as talented and beautiful as you are has insecurities, but I guess that’s part of being human. So thanks. I’m seeing KC in Milwaukee, since I can’t make the Chicago show. It’s the first time that I’ve been anywhere near the front…4th row! All other concerts I’ve been too have been up in the boonies. I’ve seen you guys for 3 tours but never up close! I’m super excited!!!

  2. Monica Says:

    yep. one of the best blogs. at the best times.

    i like the idea of squashing the thought. actually, i really like the word choice of squashing. the action itself, however, is hard to do. takes a bit of practice.

  3. Amanda Says:

    OK! πŸ™‚

    Nice blog Kate.

  4. Jacinta Says:

    Deep stuff, Kate. πŸ˜‰
    Reminded me of Prov. 23:7 – “As a man thinketh in his heart, so is he.”

  5. Pam Says:

    aw thanks Katie πŸ™‚ i really liked this and appreciated it. i don’t have many insecurities that hold me back from doing something, it’s more of a self-image problem. i like myself and all, but every once in a while, my body just starts to upset me. luckily it’s not that bad and can easily be worked on. so instead of pouting around, i should do something…asap.

    thanks Kate, this really helped πŸ™‚

  6. livin' vicariously Says:

    This was a wonderful blog post.

    Everyone can relate…yet I have never heard it explained this way.

    I would also say that insecurity in the mind is a toxin that can and does invade your physical body. It can physically hurt. Reverse the process. Walk out into the world and carry yourself with the most confident, tall, regal posture you can muster. Take care of and love your physical body, and damn if your physical presence doesn’t invade your emotional body and make you feel like you can conquor the world.

  7. Tina Says:

    Awesome blog update Kate, you’re so great. Funny you start about the fireworks. This weekend there will be fireworks really close to our house, they’re so stupid enough to do it in the middle of our town each year and all the neighbours are always scared their house is going to burn down. It almost happened once, it’s crazy. My mom’s upset every year because she thinks the horses are going to panick from all the noise. But no, they always stay calm and I’m the one calming down my mom, lol.

    I love the advice about the insecurities and how you explained it. It’s hard dealing with insecurities sometimes. I’ll try and follow your advice πŸ˜€

    Have fun at the show!!

  8. jessica Says:

    Wow!! Kate that blog was amazing! I have a bunch of insecurities about myself and i have really low self esteem, so to hear that someone else is going through the same thing really helps! Your sdvice about squashing the bad thoughts really is inspiring and is so true. I always have a tendency to allow bad thoughts linger on me but I guess your right… I shouldn’t let them affect me! Thanks so much Kate… ur the best =)
    i love your blogs

  9. Jenny Says:

    wow.. Kate. you are awesome. I need to show this to my best friend. cause this really relates to her. and i think it may help her. great job explaining it.. and i totally agree. thanks so much!!! love you!! and ps.. awesome pictures.. the delaware show fireworks was amazing!!

  10. Soundgeek Says:

    pretty interstingand i agree 100%….the only thing i think you left out is the fact that the people who point out others insecurities are insecure themselves. i never understood why people feel the need to point out others faults. i mean we are all human and we all deep down we know how the other feels (hope that made alittle sense….lol).

  11. Amanda Says:

    I’ve said this a couple of times before, but girl, your timing is impeccable! I’m not even joking here. You somehow always end up blogging about whatever it is, right when I’m going through that exact issue. It’s happened more than a handful of times now! Do you have hidden psychic powers we don’t know about? πŸ˜‰ Insecurity has been on my mind lately too.

    Anyway, you’ve made lots of sense; perfect sense! I wish I could elaborate on what you’ve said, but you’ve put it so eloquently that I don’t think there’s a need for me to expand on it. Just remember that even when you find it hard to love yourself, someone else does. Your family and friends love you. In your case, your fans love you. More importantly, and not to sound all preachy, but someone greater than you loves you too. I’m sure you know who that is.

    Whenever I’m feeling insecure, I just try to remember that everyone has “bad” days/moments, but it’s important to always remember to keep my head held high no matter what. The bad day will pass, and I’ll eventually see what everybody else sees… how awesome it is to be me πŸ™‚ I actually woke up two mornings ago not feeling quite like myself. I was kind of down, and beating myself up about stuff, but a few sweet comments from random passerbyers turned my mood right around. So smile to the stranger on the street, and be kind to people, even if they’re not the nicest to you. You don’t know their circumstances, and you could very well turn their day around with a simple “hello”, or other small gesture.

    I should be banned from leaving huge comments. Hahaha. The end! Later Kate.

  12. Jennifer Says:

    Maybe I’m reading this wrong but I kinda don’t agree….not all insecurities are lies. Let me explain…for instance I for one know I’m not a pretty person (Yeah it sucks but you learn to deal) and it’s always been an insecurity for me growing up…..but I know it’s truth and learn to combat it by showing people the person behind my looks and proving to people there is more to me and I take challenges to make myself feel better about myself.
    I know I’ll never be pretty so that insecurity will always be with me unfortunately due to the society we live in, but I can live to deal with it through other ways.

    I hope that makes sense, but this blog deffo gets people thinking, I mean I see where you’re coming from some insecurities can be just blown out of proportion to the point they become a lie and thats sad.

    As for the fireworks….My summer away the camp I worked at had fireworks on the lake while we all sat on the grass by it, never ever been that close to fireworks before and it was amazzzziiinnnng!

    • Amanda Says:

      See, but that’s where the lie is! What society accepts as pretty is not always what pretty is. Just because you don’t fit into a certain image, doesn’t mean you’re not actually beautiful. Also, it doesn’t mean someone else won’t ever see you’re beauty. Maybe I’m just forever an optimist. I don’t know. You do make a valid point about inner beauty though, and it is definitely important to project yourself in a good light…

      Anyway, as far as outside beauty goes, here’s a story from my personal experiences… My mom thinks she’s the UGLIEST BEAST on the planet, but she still manages to take my dad’s breath away every single time he looks at her. They’ve been married for 21 years, so that’s a lot of breaths he’s missed out on! My mom looks in the mirror and sees a monster, but I see a woman I could only ever hope to resemble, inside and out. She IS beautiful, and I’m not just saying that because she’s my mom. I’m saying that because she’s the prettiest lady I know πŸ˜› Anyway, society has pressured her to believe that if she doesn’t look like, uhhh, Angelina Jolie, then damnnnn she must be ugly. She isn’t at all. You aren’t either. I was going to throw in the “you were created in the image of God” bit, but for all I know you might be an atheist. Anyways, my point is this… The world is beautiful, you are beautiful, and I hope one day you’ll see it too.

      If I had a penny for my thoughts, I’d probably be rich by now, but I hope you understand where I’m coming from.

      P.S. Sorry for taking over your blog, Jill and Kate!

    • Myriam Says:

      Aww, I don’t know you, but the fact that you don’t think you’re pretty makes me kind of sad.

      This is exactly what Kate was saying. You’re believing the LIE. I don’t have to know you that you are NOT ugly. I’m a firm believer that beauty comes from the INSIDE first. If you love yourself first, and love others, and have a loving personality, that is what makes you beautiful on the outside.

      If you’ve gone through life thinking that you are not pretty, of course it starts to become a fact to you. Beauty starts with yourself.

      And I know one comment from a stranger can’t change the way you think, but I hope it helps a little bit.

      Keep your chin up and SMILE!

    • Monica Says:

      I have to agree with the above posters. When it comes to physical appearance, only, I believe there’s no way of judging someone as pretty, beautiful or not. Unfortunately, society disagrees, and bases beauty on the outside view. It starts with watching those in the spotlight. Some get criticized based on appearance, weight…and basically everything, while others get praised for appearance. Society cannot see them as a person on the inside, and decides to judge them by appearance. Then they use those in the spotlight as the standard. Also, “pretty”, “beautiful”, “ugly”… those words? They are only adjectives which everyone has a different meaning to. It’s depressing that people fall into these traps where they believe society’s definition of the said words, and begin to hate themselves.

      The saying is true: You cannot judge a book by its cover. As cliche as it is, it’s true. I don’t mean to bash family, but it’s one of the main, honest, examples I have. I have a relative who everyone believes is beautiful, however I do not see her beauty. I see the real person she is inside. She lies, betrays, hurts, etc. Then as another example, I have a friend who is seen as a beast and ugly because she is overweight. People avoid her and are extremetly hurtful. Though, they do not take the time to realize how beautiful of a person she is. On the inside she is very selfless, caring, supportive, and kind.

      Beauty is not on the outside. Continue to let your inner beauty shine through. And be confident! It really is an important factor. Confidence greatly shines through and makes a big difference. People will notice. Those who don’t aren’t worth your time. I really do hope you will one day be able to understand that and fully believe it. Confidence takes practice. Throwing away those negative thoughts and insecurities take practice. But you just need to continue it, and learn to love yourself. I’m still learning, but I’m a whole lot better than I was a year ago. I’m hoping you will see these comments and that they may help you. ❀

      • Jennifer Says:

        Woah I didn’t realise my one message had created such a mass of replies to it.

        The thing is I’m not a person lacking in confidence, yes I have an insecurity due to the fact that I’m not pretty but like I pointed out, I show people who I am inside. Being ugly isn’t an issue and people need to realise it, it’s no more a problem than people realising they perhaps aren’t artistic or musically talented or very academic, in my opinion.
        In one respect it’s actually a plus, because anyone who isn’t willing to get to know me for me isn’t worth it. It has also taught me from an early age to not judge a book by a cover as many people have done to me.

        I do agree with what most of you have said though.

        I do also find it funny how we have taken over Jill and Kate’s blog haha look what Kate’s thoughtful thinking has gone and done.

  13. E Says:

    Very true. Thank you for sharing.

    “Be confident. Be yourself. And don’t believe the lies.”

    I had this moment (it actually lasted for a few weeks) earlier this year when I was laid off. All the things you write about insecurity doing to your heart and your head are true. But if you follow your advice (as listed above) you can emerge a stronger more confident person.

    My happy ending? (please no dirty thoughts) The proof that your advice works and that everyone should drink the Kool-Aid you are serving up? –> I am now in a position that I love, surrounded by people I actually like and 4 months later find myself getting a promotion and a raise that leapfrogs my prior situation by a million miles.

    Be well ladies –
    E

  14. Danielle Says:

    Great words. I’ve been feeling ‘blah’ lately, so words like these are good. Don’t believe the lies. I try to be confident as much as possible, and laugh off the bad stuff!

    Can’t wait to see you all again in October! πŸ™‚

  15. Sota Says:

    I love this quote by Marianne Williamson…

    β€œOur deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, to be gorgeous, talented, and fabulous. Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that others won’t feel insecure around you. We are born to make manifest the glory of God within us. And as we let our light shine, we consciously give others permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

    Yes, SQUASH those insecure thoughts!

    Great blog, Kate. Thx.

    Looking forward to seeing y’all at the MN State Fair this Sunday.

    Chow-
    Sota

  16. Myriam Says:

    You’re human!? πŸ˜‰

    You should bookmark this entry, and next time insecurity takes over, re-read this. It’s good advice.

    Anyways, just because it doesn’t hurt: You’re an extremely talented musician and an amazing person inside and out. Remember that =)

  17. Heather Says:

    Kate,
    You’re hot, a greatttt artist, and an inspiration to people. So, basically you rock…that is all! πŸ™‚

  18. Selena Says:

    The fireworks may’ve been a bit alarming, but the picture turned out cool!

    As for the rest of the blog, thanks for touching on such a serious & relevant subject and for sharing some words of wisdom. “Be confident. Be yourself. And don’t believe the lies.” That’s not always an easy thing to do, but it’s good advice, and you’re right. If left untended, insecurities can be like a disease that eats away at the psyche. I guess it’s just one of those things that people have to battle against, but being comfortable with oneself and having peace of mind are worth fighting for.

    Take care and be blessed, you awesome ladies! πŸ™‚

  19. 1wildegirl Says:

    Kate, you’re definitely a writer. I know…nothing gets by me, right? πŸ˜‰ Seriously, though…this blog was just a nice little gem. Insecurities plague us all to some extent, but few are willing to admit that. One of the reasons I love reading your blog…y’all are funny, share your crazy adventures, and sometimes make me think or reflect.

    Not to sound hokey, but we’re all special and talented in our own ways. Thanks for sharing yours with us all, and inspiring the comments above. (To the other replies, y’all are awesome…and I look forward to reading your comments almost as much as the actual blogs. Almost. πŸ™‚ )

    I loved your quote, Here’s mine (actually it’s Melissa Etheridge’s, but I’ve always loved it): Be strong, speak true and spread the peace.

    At the end of the day, the truth will always beat the lies.

  20. Bianca Says:

    great blog Kate. Really deep stuff right there lol Love the picture of the fireworks. It came out so cool. Hope your enjoying the tour!

  21. Jaclyn Says:

    I totally get what you’re saying…but since it’s 3am and I’ve been maybe drinking a little, I’ll wait till after I get some sleep to really comment…but yeah, I know exactly what you’re talking about and it makes pefrect sense….ohhh, and I love fireworks…we had some for the 4th of July, but don’t tell anyone because they’re kind of illegal here….haha

  22. anakellya Says:

    all i can say to this is…

    THANKYOU SO MUCH!

    this makes so much sense in so many ways to me.

    xo.<3

  23. Britt Says:

    Hi Kate,

    thnx for your beautiful blog! You’re so right! πŸ˜‰

    X Britt

  24. Lauren Says:

    This blog couldn’t have come at a better time. Kate, you rock, keep up these blogs..they help more than you may know!xx

  25. Jason Says:

    Kate, thank you so much, ive been going through lots of Insecurities over the last few weeks, about family and work etc, and you’ve shown me how to battle with them.

    thank you

  26. Lizitanorway Says:

    Amen sister!! …..I actually kind of needed that…. πŸ™‚

  27. Jennifer Says:

    …… Thanks I fricken needed that…. See ya Sunday in Minn. Hugs

  28. higzy Says:

    B-E-A-UUUtiful, i started thinking like about 5yrs ago. I have never had a ‘what if’ since. It’s helping me reach my career goal and so far has worked amazingly!! I’m even working with a big independent film production. Ask and apply is my method. I wanna, i should say will become a film director, in a few years maybe a could use one of your tracks πŸ™‚

  29. Debzah Says:

    Wow… totally relevant and totally relatable!
    Isn’t it strange that someone on the other side of the world can be experiencing the same feelings/ emotions/ situations… and then blogs about it for everyone to sit back and realize they’re not totally alone and not totally insane!
    Thank You so much for your honesty… everyone!

  30. David Says:

    WOW Kate thats just awesome! Thx for sharing your thoughts with us πŸ™‚

  31. Deb Says:

    My sister only has a couple years left to live. I have the same disorder as she has. So im kinda watching my sister die of the same thing thats killing me. Im starting to get scared.
    Hey Kate im not really good at explaining stuff but u kinda put my lil life into words.

    RANT OVER!!! Sorry x

  32. Jamie Says:

    That was sincerely a great blog Kate! Seriously I go through those feelings all the time. I look up to you guys in the band and some times I forget that y’all deal with things just like me. Ohhhh and ps we have gifties for you and everyone else for the York show so be ready πŸ™‚

  33. Jaq Says:

    I’m just saying, you’ll be at my fair Friday. And I really wanted to go because, well, why wouldn’t I? But then life interrupted my plans. Ugh. Anyway, tell Essex Junction I said whoot whoot and enjoy the Champlain Valley Fair. I’m there in spirit:)

  34. erin2484 Says:

    I loved this very much πŸ™‚ And I loved you all at the Syracuse show! Thanks for putting on an awesome show, we had so much fun πŸ™‚

  35. nic Says:

    does anyone else think that jill and kate should do a cover of Hallelujah(Leonard Cohen) πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

