New Song on November 17th, 2009!

-Unfinished New Song-

I miss you so

And you’ll never know

I’m too afraid to try to show you love

To give it up

To let you know I might

Care a little

Care a lot

Have a place for you in this big ol’ heart of mine

I hide it well

And maybe you’ll never see

But you’ve got me

Do you still remember me

Your long lost friend you used to need

I’m still hoping that you might

Find a way back

And if you ever think of me

I hope you know it’ll never be

Too late for you to make your way back

54 Responses to “New Song on November 17th, 2009!”

  1. Kim RULZ Says:

    Jill’s hair.. I’m a fan! πŸ˜‰ Just sayin…

  2. Deborah Says:

    you guys are ridiculously amazing.

    love the new hair Jill!

  3. Sarah Says:

    Aww…I la-la-love the song ( and happy SOT17th anniversary, btw!)! The song really hits home for me too – long story and don’t want to air my personal laundry here..haha. πŸ˜‰

    And if you’re serious about needing a song title and asking us for help, I’d love to submit some ideas to you!

    Hugs as safe travels,
    Sarah

  4. Christina Says:

    i LOVE this song so much, even if it’s unfinished! the lyrics are really amazing! and jill, your hair looks so good! πŸ™‚

  5. Sarah Says:

    uh..that’s hugs AND safe travels! LOL And Jill, I think your hair color looks really pretty!

  6. Khitam Says:

    Happy one year! Beautiful song once again…. Welcome to the dark side Jill, no pun intended cause that would be laaaame

    Love the title, “Unfinished New Song” very original : )

  7. Clau Nader Says:

    omfg!!!!!!!!! please, u cant just leave me this way, I NEEEEEEDDDD to listen to the whole thingy… I love it, im serious!!! please promise you will post it complete someday soon, I just cant wait to listen to it entirely… wow..
    I wont give my hope up, I know i’ll meet u guys sooner or later, and I’ll be honored to work with/for you.. I know I dream a lot, but it’s the only free stuff u’ll ever get in life haha…
    Receive all my love and good vibes from Mexico lindo y querido!!! you all have a safe flight tomorrow; please keep ur head glued to ur body…just sayin… lol

    PS: looking gooooood Jill !!!!

  8. Jacinta Says:

    Love the song, love Jill’s hair and thank you both SO much for giving us new music each month. ❀

  9. nataliana3 Says:

    ok so I was complaining now because it’s early here and I have to go to work and I turn my computer on and what I see ? New Song!! this is amazaing and you make me want to go to this stupid job and you made my day so thank you:) I love this song! I mean it:) and I asked you guys to tell us how was your days off and you said it that’s even more amazaing even if it;s just a coincident still I THANK YOU:)

  10. erin2484 Says:

    Aw, that gave me that sad feeling in the pit of my stomach…oh heyyy depression whats up? You guys suck! haha just kidding i seriously loved it and you are so ridiculously talented. That is definitely a must finish song and blog it when you are done if you can πŸ™‚ Thanks lovely girls! πŸ™‚

  11. Clau Nader Says:

    oooh… yeah, and as a name option I thought bout: “Wished u came back” or “Secretly missin’ u” …
    luv yas!!!

  12. leeamarie Says:

    loved it.

  13. Kim RULZ Says:

    p.s. I live in UT, but I’m going to be in Mass for a week for Thanksgiving.. so anytime after that would be a really good time for you to come this way and do a show! haha And by show I mean.. u should come hang out at my house and just sing for me!

    I crack myself up because as I’m typin’ this out.. I realize that you don’t know how I talk so it’s probably not as funny to you! hahahaha

    It’s all good..

    *

    I know you were here with Kelly not to long ago but I didn’t know who u 2 were then, so that’s why you need to come back! πŸ˜‰

    I had just started a new round of treatment and wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to make it out but I totally bailed on chemo to be there. C’mon.. music, rain, rainbows and great friends.. cancer had to pause for a cause πŸ˜‰

    Half way through the show.. one of my friends pulled off her hoody and stood on her chair. We were probably 5 ft from the stage, on the side you guys were on and she had written on her shirt… “she skipped chemo to be here” with an arrow pointing to me.

    I think she had been standing there for like 2 minutes before I realized what her shirt said.. I thought she was just being crazy and havin’ a good time! haha

    Moral of the story..

    Happy 1 year Anniversary of SOT17th!!! And even though I only heard one of your songs, for the first time, a couple months ago… I’m on it now..

    I think I’ve hit my word limit..

    Peace out!

  14. Myriam Says:

    I was crossing my fingers for a saddish song this month! Is that weird? Oh well :p It’s on repeat right now. Love it.

  15. Sarah Says:

    Okay…I have a song title – you’re welcome to make it your own if you like ( LOL!!)! πŸ™‚ “Broken Road”

    “I hope you know it’ll never be

    Too late for you to make your way back”

    …down this broken road/on this broken road/down the broken road…

  16. I'm just sayin'... Says:

    Hahaha
    Jill is funny…she seriously needs to tallk more! πŸ˜€

    As usual, I love the song. I don’t know how you guys write music like that… actually I do, you’re both ridiculously talented. I’ve tried and it was NOT pretty. I’m sure if my piano could’ve jumped out of a window it would’ve… Let’s just say this, I’ve made a small child cry…I don’t want to talk about it. :-I

    anywho, I loved the song…. Oh and PS, I’m lovin’ the hair, Jill πŸ˜€

  17. Debzah Says:

    Please, please, please finish the song… record it… along with all your other songs… and release another friggin’ album already!!! I love, love, love it!
    Ya’ll definately need to come out to Australia and play a few shows.. I’d love to see you live!

    Jill, your hair looks awesome! Kate, your hair is pretty too πŸ™‚

    xxx

  18. Steph Says:

    Happy 1 year anniversary!!! You guys are just so sickening!!! (In a good way lol) I loved the song and I agree with Sarah about naming it Broken Road.
    Jill your new hair looks off the hook!! πŸ™‚
    And thanks for staying with us for a whole year. We really appreciate.
    -Steph

  19. Monica Says:

    Ahhhhh. So I have a lot of things to say… I’ll attempt to be brief. (I really mean that)
    1. GREAT surprise to wake up to. No better way to start the school day.
    2. JILLIAN, I LOVE YOUR HAIR. IT LOOKS GOOD.
    3. Sorry for calling you Jillian, I just really felt like it. I apologize if you hate that.
    4. This song fits me perfecto-ly.
    5. It also made me tear up.
    6. Totally laughed out loud because Jill asked Kate if she wanted to talk about the song, then when Kate asked her, Jill says no.
    7. I CANNOT wait to hear the full song. It’s awesome so far.
    8. YAY FOR IT BEING ON TIME.
    9. Last but not least…I LOVE YOU GIRLS! =)
    10. I lied, but that’s because I don’t like odd numeros. So here’s a random ten. Actually I know what I can write for number 10…I’m a total wacko for sitting here and writing all this. Sorry about thatttt.

  20. Pam Says:

    ^ha that was awesome!

    i agree with everything above! i love the lyrics and the melody is so so so pretty. today’s my half birthday…which means that considering i pass, i’ll be getting my license in 6 months…whoooot! sorry off topic.

    love the hair Jill! hope you girls have a good rest of the tour—have fun!!!!

    and YAY it’s on time! πŸ™‚

  21. Jaclyn Says:

    Yay!!! This made waking up for class a little better, haha πŸ™‚ I love the song, even in its unfinished-ness, and woohoo for it being on the actual 17th!!! lol

    Jill, the dark hair is awesome! I love it.

    Safe travels to Canada and have fun out there on the road! πŸ™‚

  22. Gypsy Gies Says:

    W o w. You two are truly amazing. Serious. Thanks for all your effort. Glad both the table and the guitar survived. ;’)

  23. Jennifer Johnson Says:

    Loved the song… keep up the great work..looking for your new CD… πŸ™‚ safe travels..

  24. Dani Says:

    I swear it like you too are inside my head because seriously every song you write is about my life !! This song totally hit home for me right now and i think you definitely need to finish it and then let us hear the full version =)

    yay for the one year mark for song on the 17th, it was such an amazing idea and I’m glad you came up with it…even if sometimes they aren’t always on time. =p

    Annnndd Jill, love love the hair and i agree with who ever said you should talk more because you are pretty witty

    okay i’m done. have fun on the road and be safe =)

  25. Abby Says:

    I loved the new song, ladies! This one really hit home for me, I honestly got a little misty eyed πŸ˜‰ I’m so happy to say that I’m a newly found fan, you’re music has really helped me out the last few months.
    Be safe on your travels, and I hope the people on the plane have minty fresh breath this time, Kate. Have fun in Oh-Canada!
    Love the new hair too, Jill!

  26. Melissa Says:

    Aaaaalll y’all..do you not sleep?! Lol fer real,22 comments before I wake up at 8 am. Geesh.

    ANYwho, amazing song. Love it. Why not just call it like, Find a Way Back, or A Way Back? Idk jus throwing somethin out there. Titles are always difficult for me on songs haha.

    And last note, I love Jill’s hair. Oh and one last note…excited to see you girls in Seattle and Las Cruces. =]

  27. Liz Says:

    First off, Jill, love the new hair color! It looks really good!

    I absolutely love the new song. It is so beautifully written! Hopefully some day you finish it πŸ™‚

    Safe travels for the rest of the tour, and hopefully I’ll see you in Pensacola!!

  28. Bianca Says:

    Another amazing song. I seriously don’t know how you girls write such great lyrics time and time again. Thanks for doing this every month! I always find myself waiting for the 17th each time lol Hope you had a great time off! The weather has been so nice in Nashville, so hope you had time to enjoy it! I think a title could be, “Your Way Back” or “Long Lost Friend” Anyway, have fun on the road! (: Hope to see you soon.

  29. Jaclyn Says:

    omg, I must’ve been half asleep when I wrote my comment earlier (and considering it was 7:50am when I wrote it, I’d bet on it), how could I forget to say Happy 1st SOT17th Anniversary! haha

    Also wanted to mention that you guys are really good at writing relatable (is that not a word? lol, it’s underlined in red for me, haha) songs…I think you guys need to finish this one and then sing it for us when you do πŸ˜€ ….and maybe next month a Christmas song? πŸ˜‰ (even if it’s just on the side, not the actual sot17th, lol)

  30. carolfritz Says:

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!! πŸ™‚

    The song is gorgeous as well as Jill’s new hair! πŸ˜‰

    Have fun in Canada!

  31. Selena Says:

    Happy 1 Year Anniversary of SOT17th and thanks for keeping up with it after all this time. Well done! πŸ™‚

    You’re off to a good start on the unfinished & untitled song. Keep at it! Very nice and relatable. πŸ™‚

    Haha, y’all are so funny and entertaining to watch. I’m glad a great break was had and wish you lots of fun on tour.

  32. higzy Says:

    You should have a poll on ideas of what to call it πŸ™‚
    Make your way back
    Old friend
    Miss you
    Far away

    ^^ they’re abit crappy but happy anniversary and nice hair! I think the whole band should be a different colour of the rainbow πŸ™‚ red yellow pink green orange purple blue. btw J&K a film a made Beauty is Everything got thru to london young film fest run by the biggest film fest in england, London international film fest, i’m on the path πŸ™‚

  33. Danielle Says:

    Fabulous unfinished new song!! If you’re looking for a title, you could go with a possible obvious choice of “Way Back” – being that you guys sang it twice in your lyrics… πŸ˜‰

    Jill, DARKNESS RULES. Love the hair!

    Nashville will miss you!

  34. :) Says:

    it’s soooo beautiful ! thx!!

  35. cassie b Says:

    First, happy song on the 17th anniversary! haha.

    Second, I LOVE the song. And y’all couldn’t have picked a better song to share with us right now because when I first read the lyrics (before I listened to the song) I immediately thought about a lost friendship.. which actually one of my friendships ended two nights ago. Coincidence? ha. Well, needless to say, this song hit the heart for me and I just wanted to say thank you so much for sharing it with us! I can’t wait to hear the finished piece! =]

    PS: The 17th is my favorite day of the month and has been for quite some time. I’ve always got something to look forward to that’ll put a smile on my face and brighten my day. So thanks again ladies! Y’all are wonderful! =] Glad y’all had time to enjoy being home and relaxing! Good luck with the rest of the tour!! πŸ™‚

    Oh and Jill. I love the hair!

  36. vanilla Says:

    jill lovin the dark look im thinking of doing it myself maybe tomorrow as tomorrow is my birthday !!! wahooo

    and talking of bithdays happy 1st birthday to SOT17th bar the 18th & 24th (in certain months only) its my favourite day of the month, and i look forward to hearing ur amazing voices all the time

    i cant wait to hear this somg finshed as for a title how about, long lost friend but im sure something will spring up when its completed

    nice to hear u had some off time too uve been super busy and done nothing thats my plan this week for me besides re-reading new moon ready for friday when the movies released im uber excieted !!!! talking of films u should definatly go see 2012 awesome movie i saw it last sunday its amazing !!!

    enjoy the rest of the tour n safe journeys xx

  37. anakellya Says:

    ooo can i just say, your hair is looking lovely, both of you πŸ™‚ after that salon picture tweeting battle thing you two had going on the other day :L haha.
    andddddd awesome lyrics. you guys just amaze me πŸ™‚ amazinggggg.
    hope you’re having fun on tour! sooooo excited for you to come overseas! hope you guys are too πŸ™‚ although it’ll probably rain aha.
    safe travels ! πŸ™‚
    X

  38. BostonHolly Says:

    I think you should entitle it “unfinished song” just to be ironic. Great job as always…and I love how proud you are of your punctual posting! And Jill I’m a fan of darker hair in winter…seems to suit the season. I went dark a few weeks ago in honor of the sun setting at 4pm in Boston. Have fun in Canada!

    • Monica Says:

      DUDE, IT’S RIDICULOUSSSS. I WANT THE SUN TO STAY OUT AT LEAST AN HOUR OR TWO LONGER. And I swear, today the sun started setting around 3:30. Oyyy.

  39. Nicola :D Says:

    One Word ‘marvelous’. oh and happy 17th day … anniversary thing πŸ˜€

  40. Elaine Says:

    Soooo pretty (that goes for Jill’s new hair too) – I gotta say I was REALLY hoping for the Twilight inspired song Kelly’s been on about, y’know seeing as the movie’s dropping in a few days but hey, all in good time

    Glad you guys had a lazy few days of nothing and hope the flight to Canada wasn’t dreadful πŸ™‚

  41. Chelsea Says:

    I’m gonna try to out number monica, cause i’m hyper, she’s my bestie, and i can. okay here we go.

    1. It took me forever to find where to comment, even though I’ve commented on your blogs before, i apparently still had trouble finding it.
    2. Jill, your hair is very rad and lovely and you look amazing in purple.
    3. I love how goofy you all are, i watched this video at 7:30am and right before I had to go to a class I hate, and somehow y’all made me all happy and giddy, and I actually got something done in that class. Y’all put me in a chipper mood!
    4. I LOVE THE SONG! I have to say, it’s probably my favorite song out of all the Song on the 17th songs.
    5. Wow, I said song a lot,
    6. Cannot wait for the finished song.
    7. I’m gonna stop saying song now…I promise.
    8, Happy anniversary!
    9. Happy early thanksgiving
    10. Even though I hate odd numbers, I’m going to include number 11.
    11. I LOVE YOU GUYS ❀ ❀

    (sorry monica, I'm just really hyper)
    kay, bye πŸ™‚

  42. Erin Says:

    LOVE the new hair Jill. I’m shocked at how punctual you ladies are today, usually ya’ll are doing it last minute, like me and this 12 page paper that’s due Thursday. BOO. Hopefully you will finish the unfinished song and we’ll get to hear the rest of it! Have fun on tour and have a lovely Thanksgiving!

  43. Holly Says:

    Love this song – I can totally relate to it! I really hope yall finish it because it’s amazing. Can’t wait to see yall in Columbus, GA next month with Kelly!

    And, love the new hair Jill!

  44. 1wildegirl Says:

    Let’s hear it for Sot17th! I cannot believe it’s been a year, but yeah…sounds about right. Dang time flies. Thanks for the monthly treat! This song is sooo what I’ve been thinking about lately…

    Glad y’all got to “recharge” the batteries at home. Nothing beats bumming around the house with a whole lotta nuthin’.

    Enjoy the road…and as always, ATL needs some J&K love! Eddie’s Attic, seriously, let’s make this happen!!! πŸ™‚

  45. Jennifer L Says:

    So I listened to this at like 4am my time when I couldn’t sleep, I couldn’t really focus in my sleep deprived state to post a comment but now it’s later I feel I can,
    I love the song can’t wait to see when it’s finished. I do love how your voices are just so smooth together it’s beautiful!
    Jill love the hair! I did mine last week too I went a very strong red colour just because I prefer to go dark in the winter…I was blonde last year for winter and I felt weird lol.

  46. Marleyrae Says:

    This is a great start to what I’m sure will be an emotional, heartfelt, and connecting kind of song. I’m sure it will be hit one day and with y’all singing it’s bound to be… πŸ™‚

    Have fun on the road and make that down time really count girls!!!

    Maybe it should be called “long lost friend” or “missing friend” … Good luck girls… πŸ™‚

  47. Amanda Arch Says:

    I think you guys should call it “Care A Little” I don’t know, that is just what stood out to me most πŸ™‚ I think it would make a great name for a song!

    I love the dark hair Jill, I didn’t even realize you had a face lift because I was too busy admiring your hair πŸ˜‰ haha!

    Great song guys. I envy your talent. Even though I am a photographer, you wouldn’t think that I would envy a songwriters talents so much because they wouldn’t really be related, but could you imagine the photographs I could think up if I had the ability to be such a creative writer? Anyway that was way off topic.

    Bottom line is that I heart you both, and hope to see you guys in the nearish future.

  48. crystal Says:

    LOVE!

    like any other song on the 17th. i loved it.

    love your hair too jill! looks cute on ya.

    yay for being on the 17th. 17 is my favorite, so it’s always nice to see a new song. πŸ™‚

  49. Jdell Says:

    love the new song girls! yay for the one year anniversary =) thank-you for all these awesome songs! your voices + acoustic guitar = awesomeness. and jill – your hair looks great! have fun on the rest of the tour.

  50. b. ashley Says:

    LOOOVE the new song ladies! I think everyone can relate in someway with the song so far!! great work! and yay keep doin SOT17…I remember when y’all started it and loved it then and still LOVE it!! y’all have amazing talent and great songwriting abilities come out with another album..CANNOT wait!!
    thought I saw jill the other day near bongo java and i was sooooo excited….but it wasnt her:( just somethign that looked a lot like her lol

  51. Amanda Says:

    Booooo, I’ve been a complete slacker on the comments lately. Anyway, I still check your blog religiously… and I really loved this song. A lot. Mhmm!

  52. Jen Says:

    Love iT!
    Is there a finished version of this song? I NEED to hear it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

