1 Year Ago.

Happy December 9th everyone.

A year ago today we released our EP “Finding My Own Way.” Honestly, we didn’t remember until someone very kindly tweeted us and reminded us. See now that’s something funny that’s happened over the last year…twitter. A year ago we didn’t say things like twitter or tweet. But now we do. So thanks to all who follow along with us on that magical ride called Twitter.

We’ve got 3 shows left with the KC gang….these have been some of the most fun shows we’ve ever done! If you’ve come out to a show you’ve probably seen the massive smiles on our faces.

And thanks to everyone who has been so kind and generous to us over the year. Whether it’s coming out to shows, sending us sweet messages, commenting on our blogs…We really, really do appreciate it !

I do believe I (kate) got a super sweet and AWESOME gift bag for my bday–which is in 1 week from today (WOOHOO)–so thank you to everyone that contributed! I will post some pics modeling the hats, but not right now because I haven’t showered in dayssss. True story. So maybe tomorrow I’ll post some pics πŸ™‚ But seriously…THANK YOU!

In January the J and the K-ster are gonna be recording again…yup…another true story.

Jill bought Scattergories To-Go at Target today! That’s a fun game. You should play.

Love,

k&J

58 Responses to “1 Year Ago.”

  1. jessica Says:

    awwww love this blog!

  2. Noelle Says:

    Happy 1 year anniversary girls! I know more great music is on the way from you two.

    I’m glad y’all are having a blast on the tour. I saw the show in Vegas and it was amazing!

    I can’t wait to hear new music and hopefully see y’all on your own tour sometime…and maybe with a stop in Vegas πŸ˜‰

    Loving the blogs as well!

  3. hmm Says:

    3 shows left….Y’all arent leaving the band right??

  4. carolfritz Says:

    Aww, Happy December 9th! πŸ™‚
    “In January the J and the K-ster are gonna be recording again…yup…another true story.” <– MERRY CHRISTMAS TO US!!! Best part of the blog!
    Jill has uber great taste with games! We played Scattergories in my high school literature class before holiday breaks for extra credit–the ONLY thing I miss about high school! haha
    Have fun with the last 3 shows, girls! It's so sad to see the tour end! I hope you have one helluva prank planned for Kelly for the last show. πŸ˜‰

  5. Pam Says:

    oh crap i forgot about the 1 year anniversary too!!!! one of my favorite albums EVER (and i’m not just saying that).

    i agree about twitter. i’ve had mine for about a year and a half, but just within the past few months…wow, it’s exploded.

    i was at the NYC show of the KC tour. it’s so weird how you guys are still doing the tour- my show was in the beginning of October and seems like ages ago.

    Kate, i hope you have a fabbbbbulous birthday next week, but i’ll just wish you again then haha.

    and yay for the pictures and recording!!!!! πŸ™‚

  6. Steph Says:

    Happy 1 Year! You are both amazing and can’t wait to hear some new music!!!

  7. jacinta Says:

    I love you Kate. You are sweet. The BEST! Glad you liked the gift bag from the gang. πŸ™‚ You rock!!!

  8. Melissa Says:

    You are welcome for the gifts from all of us, Kate! =] we love ya.

    Aaaand can’t WAIT to get a new CD from you guys! Ah! Great new excited.

    Also, can’t wait for those photographs πŸ˜‰

  9. chelsea Says:

    Aww well your very welcome! And I totally forgot today is one year since Finding my own way EP. I guess its now one year since I feel in love with y’all (That sounds kinda weird, but whatever…It’s been one year since I’ve become a fan of yours lol) I remember listening to the EP and like having it on repeat for the whole night. I dont know, its just something about yall’s lyrics and songs that got my attention. I love the whole acoustic feel to everything. It’s helped me through some difficult times..so for that I thank you. That weekend after your EP came out I had my mom and aunt listen to it while xmas cookie baking. and they loved it πŸ™‚

    OMG it’s so sad the tour is over, if seems just like yesterday I saw you guys in detroit. and yes, I could deff tell how happy you were. haha

    HAPPY EARLY BIRTHDAY KATE! (I know I’ll probably say that again in the future, but i just felt like saying it since you mentioned it)

    YAY FOR RECORDING AGAIN! (I should have said that first..because of my excitement..oh well) I CANT WAIT! I hope to go to one of your shows one day. I tried going to Chicago but it was 5 hours away..and I’m 19. 😦

    Anyways I know this uber long so I’ll stop soon. I just wanted to say y’all are awesome, and I look up to you guys alot. Ok mushy moment over. πŸ™‚

    • Jaclyn Says:

      Oh yeah, the Detroit show was so long ago, but it feels like it was just yesterday…hopefully they’re not too scared to come back after those gunshots that were NOT part of the movie set, hahaha (that story still makes me laugh)

  10. Shari Says:

    Cant wait for new music from you two!

    I am sure it will be sad when the tour is over but than you will be heading overseas, correct? And it appears you all still hangout when you are not on tour. It seems kate, jill, kelly and her crew are all very good friends. So therefore, I would assume you all make time for each other as good friends do..

    Congrats on the 1 yr anniversary!

  11. Jaclyn Says:

    Wow, I can’t believe it’s been a whole year already…that’s crazy…and even after just 1 year, Finding My Own Way has made it into my top 15 most played songs in itunes πŸ˜›

    So I’m looking forward to this recording you’ll be doing πŸ˜€ …which would maybe mean more future J&K shows, right? πŸ˜‰ …Like maybe one in the vicinity of Michigan? City doesn’t matter, I’ve got friends to drag around in all of the major ones, haha

    PS – Scattergories…best.game.ever! I play it with my roommates all the time when we get bored…which is a lot because there’s not a whole lot to do around here…but playing it so much you tend to get creative coming up with different things…I just hate the letter K, because most of the stuff I come up with ends up starting with C instead, haha

  12. Alison Says:

    Congrats on the 1 Year!!

    Recording in January – Thats the best Christmas present I could ask for…

    Thank You!!!

  13. I'm just sayin'... Says:

    A year ago I decided β€œFinding My Own Way” was my favorite EP EVER….Not much has changed.

    P.s. “You might break my heart” and “Let me go” are still my favorites from that EP

  14. I'm just sayin'... Says:

    P.s.s. I can’t wait for the new music!!!!

  15. Bre Says:

    So i met (aka: yelled hi at) you guys last month at a show in Victoria, so i understand if you dont remember me… but know that i still remember the face Jill gave me; it was a mixture of “whats ur problem?” “how do you kno my name?” and “shut-up!” haha.

    Anyways, to get to the show i woke up at 3am, drove to Calgary, flew to Victoria, stole/borrowed a bus and its driver, walked for a couple hrs, and then stood outside in the poring rain and wind for about 4 or 5hrs by myself. Totally worth it! (what else are college loans for).

    I was wondering if you had any stories about crazy insane fans you’ve met in the past that ya’ll could share with us on ur 1 month of blogging quest…

  16. Jennifer Says:

    That actually scares me it was a year ago that your EP came out because that means it was a year ago since I started my final project for my last year of University (I remember trying to get the album in the morning before my meeting for that class at 1pm lol)

    How time flies!

    Quite excited for you guys recording again, can’t wait to see what you come up with! Does this mean more shows? Maybe one show of your own in the UK? pllleeeeeeeeeaaaaase?

    I have no clue what scattergories is! I think thats the 2nd or 3rd game you guys have mentioned in a blog/tweet and I’ve been like wth!?! *goes off to google*

  17. Jeremy Says:

    Yay for new music! Can’t wait to see the last show in New Orleans on Sunday night! And Kate, we share a birthday! Me, you, William “The Refrigerator” Perry and Beethoven! Good people! πŸ™‚ Happy early birthday! Hope you guys have a great last three shows.

    Merry Christmas!

  18. Carly Says:

    Happy 1 year πŸ™‚

    did i read that? do you guys only 3 shows left ever 😦 So much for it being the happiest time of year.

    But… in that case yo’ll just have to plan more shows… north of the boarder would be loved.

    Missed your Christmas cards this year… just saying!

    • I'm just sayin'... Says:

      I know right! But it’s kind of awesome because now we can say…”I knew of them when they passed out Christmas Cards…And I got one…so ha!”

  19. Allison Says:

    Woo Hoo!!! Happy one year EP anniversary to you Jill and Kate! Had a couple of your EP songs on repeat today just because they are so addicting πŸ™‚ . I am soooo freaking stoked about you girls heading back to the studio this January! I can’t wait for more of your beautiful music to hit the world by storm! It’s simply phenomenol and ALWAYS makes my day better πŸ™‚ sooo thank you! πŸ™‚

  20. 1wildegirl Says:

    Yay!! I’m waaaay happy to see this blog! Gotta love Twitter. I remember counting down the days for the release and the hilarious vlogs due to iTunes issues. (“Jiiiiiiillll, Kaaaaaate…I love your song!”) BTW, CDBaby still emails me and y’alls EP was the last thing I bought there…ha. I cannot believe it’s been a year. On the J&K front, I’m really happy to hear there’ll be new music. Perhaps y’all can do some shows while on break from the KC tour? *ahem* ATL is still needing some J&K love. πŸ™‚

    In the meantime, I get to enjoy one of those last 3 shows! I’m uber excited to see y’alls massive smiles tomorrow! I’ll be doing a J&K sing-along on the way down to Columbus.

  21. Regine Says:

    YAY! I think I was the second person to tweet you about the EP’s 1st anniversary – I wanted to say that it was something blog-worthy, but I left it out. Nonetheless, you tweeted about it! I’d like to think that just maybe I somehow had a hand in the idea for this blog.

    Crazy how fast a year goes by – just like the anniversary of “Song on the 17th” was last month. Last year, we also had to deal with the fiasco of the Christmas cards, which once again, I have to say thank you for putting that time and effort to wish your fans a happy holidays. But seriously, it’s crazy how fast time has gone! I remember the craziness with iTunes not posting the EP on Tuesday, and how I religiously kept checking my iTunes to buy it. BTW, it really is a very well done EP. I recently purchased your 1st cd (I’m late, I know) and can hear how much you’ve grown in the time between the two. I’m excited to know you’re going back into the studio! I can’t wait to hear both the new material, and the artistic growth. πŸ™‚

    Scattergories = fun. Great choice Jill! Word games in general = fun. Actually, any multi-player board/word game = fun and hilarity. You should try “What?” It’s hilarious, and there are no wrong or right answers, but in the end you get a winner out of it!

    Kate, can’t wait to see the pics of your b-day gift.

    Have fun on your last 3 shows! Great job with the blogging thus far! And here’s to another year full of happiness, fun, success, adventures, blogging, music, and much much more! You gals deserve it.

  22. gypsygies Says:

    Big fan of scattergories. I have an obscure mind that thinks randomly and therefore I stand a chance in scattergories (am bad at many games…love them, bad at them).
    Hell there’s a pool table in the house I live in and I’ve never gotten better, completely suck at it. Love it.

    Scattergories? I’m so there.

    I probably should Not show you this, but there is a Scattergories Online:

    http://www.hasbro.com/games/swf/scattergories_demo3.swf

    (Sorry if you have a sudden drop in productivity… lol ).

  23. Jamie Says:

    Sweet new recording in Jan!!! This makes me super happy. You two rock! This tour has been so much more fun with you two being so awesome to me. So thanks. And Miss Kate: happy friggin birthday to you πŸ™‚ and Miss Jill: thanks for my pick. Your pick has stayed in my pocket since I got it. True story. See ya tomorrow night. Hopefully at the preshow!

  24. Erin Says:

    Happy one year anniversary ladies! Switching up the J and K at the end, yes i noticed. Happy early birthday Kate!! Party like the rockstar you are. I’m excited for new music…YAY. I don’t think I’ve ever played scategories. I will have to look into it. We’re big taboo fans around here. Any time you ladies want to do another show in Chicago feel free. I had a blast and I know you ladies would draw a crowd, just like last time. I can’t wait to see the hats. That should be interesting.

  25. Melissa Zappala Says:

    Happy 1 year! I’ve become a fan of you guys through being a fan of KC and love your music and sound! I have been to my share of KC concerts and it definitely felt like you guys were all having so much fun this time around! I think it’s awesome that you guys tweet and blog! I am definitely excited for the new songs to come! πŸ˜‰

  26. Sarah Says:

    Happy anniversary! Wow, one year already?? I can’t wait to hear the new tunes – they are gonna ROCK!

    Wishing you a great day!

    Hugs,
    Sarah

  27. Myriam Says:

    Woohoo for recording in January! Can’t wait to hear it.

    And another woohoo for hat pictures soon πŸ™‚ Happy early birthday and glad you liked your gift bag!

  28. cassieleetx Says:

    sooo excited about the new works thatll be starting up next year!!! woo! =] cant wait to hear what yall have been writing!

    Happy 1 year too!! I feel like it hasnt been that long… they do say that time flies when youre having fun! haha.

    Cant wait to see the pics of the gifts! good luck with your last three shows! : )

  29. Elle Says:

    Just wanted to add to the Woohoo’s! about recording in January. I can’t wait to find out if you record any of the ‘Songs on the 17th’s’ that we’ve heard and/or what you may have tucked up your sleeves that we haven’t heard yet. You are both incredibly talented, and I have no doubt that we will be impressed with whatever you come up with. Safe travels, good luck with everything in the future, and thanks for all the wonderful music! (P.S. For what it’s worth, 3 of your songs are in my iTunes top 50 most played πŸ™‚ )

  30. Khitam Says:

    Happy 1 year you two!…wow time sure does fly

    Thanks for stringing us along on your adventures…looking forward to some new material and hopefully some more shows?

    : )

  31. Selena Says:

    Hope you had a Happy “Finding My Own Way EP” Anniversary. Those songs have stood the test of time! Good stuff! πŸ™‚

    I’m pleased to be a part of your Twitter world. I joined back in March of this year and you two are fun to follow. Thanks for staying in touch that way as well as through your blogs.

    Wow, only 3 more show left. Time flies when you’re on tour, huh? I’m so glad y’all also double as Kelly’s back up vocalists. You’re both so talented and of course, it’s great when your band is made up of friends!

    Woohoo…sounds like the great Kate birthday celebration is already getting started. Looking forward to seeing you modeling the hats.

    That’s exciting news about recording in January. I’m sure y’all got some great tunes coming. In the meantime, keep on rockin with KC, enjoy yhe holidays, and have fun with Scattergories!

    Take care, J and K-ster! πŸ™‚

  32. anakellya Says:

    AH HAPPY FINDING MY OWN WAY DAY yesterday πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    EEE I ❀ THAT CD. IT'S AMAZING. ASWELL AS EASTCOAST BOUND.
    SORRY ABOUT THE OVERUSE CAPSLOCKS, THIS BLOG JUST MADE MY DAY πŸ™‚ AHA.
    GLAD YOU GUYS HAVE HAD SUCH A GOOD YEAR (: AND HAVE HAD AN AMAZING TIME ON THE ROAD!
    AND EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE SO GLAD YOU'RE RECORDING IN JANUARY! ANY CHANCE OF HAVING 'SARAH' OR 'TEXAS' AS A BONUS TRACK?! :D… I CAN DREAM! I HOPE THIS WON'T STOP YOU FROM COMING OVERSEAS WITH KC & THE BAND πŸ™‚
    MUCH LOVE ! XXXXXXXX

  33. Jenny Says:

    It’s not your last shows are there? 😦 That would not be cool! I love your music but I still want you to tour with Kelly so please stay, at least for a little while longer πŸ™‚

    Anyways, happy 9th December!

  34. Monica Says:

    Glad you liked your gifts, Kate!

    And ah! I forgot it’s been a year since the EP has been released. Wow, time goes by fast. But in that year, I’m proud to say Finding My Own Way has made its way to number 2 on my most plays, on itunes. Yup, yup. In love with it πŸ™‚

    J&K recording!?!?! Here’s to 2010! I’m sure it’s going to be a good year πŸ˜€ Whoooo!

  35. Amanda Says:

    I love the J and the K-ster…especially since they are gonna record new music!

  36. Jennifer Johnson Says:

    Cant wait to hear your new CD I listen to you at work almost every day..and you all make me smile ..so thanks Happy Birthday.. have fun with your last shows I was luckly enought to see 3.. and the underground.. you are amanzing.. blessings Jen

  37. morganax Says:

    Happy bday to Kate next week. Sure excited to hear that you guys will be in the studio recording new stuff…can’t wait to hear it.
    I am listening to Finding My Own Way right now actually, actually I listen to it pretty much every morning…great way to start my day!

  38. Lisa Says:

    Oh, I missed this blog yesterday …. FAIL!

    But HAPPY 1 YEAR!!! And here’s to many, many more years of success! I can’t wait to hear more music of yours — y’all are so freakin’ talented. Loved seeing the show of yours in Chicago — y’all MUST do more of those!!

    Have fun with the last 3 shows! Wish I could make it to New Orleans, but what can ya do!?

  39. melissakrrv Says:

    it’s been a year already? man time doesn’t stand still for anyone. thanks for all the great music over this past year! can’t wait to see what next year brings.

    i got to see you guys in beaumont, tx and ya’ll did have a smile on your face πŸ™‚ ….well until that ball (or whatever it was) cracked jill in the head…just sayin’
    can’t wait to see you guys in new orleans and hopefully i’ll get to meet you guys (finally).
    -melissa

  40. Tina Says:

    Sooooooooo excited about the recording!!! Can’t wait wait wait wait for y’alls music. And it’s been a year already? No way! Time flies!
    Enjoy those last 3 shows, can’t wait till February to see the whole gang! πŸ˜‰

  41. crystal Says:

    last three shows?..please tell me that’s not forever.

    i’m super excited for the new recordings! hope to see you guys soon!!

    happy early birthday kate! πŸ™‚

  42. Stephanie Says:

    I think NYC deserves a Jill and Kate show!

  43. BostonHolly Says:

    Happy anniversary ladies! I’m downright giddy that you will be recording some new stuff in the upcoming year. Yay!

    And just to reiterate what a bunch of others have said here, thank you for sharing your music, blogs, etc. with all of us! Your songs always seem to have a wonderful way of capturing the way I’m feeling and making me feel better, so thank you for that. Have a fun rest of the tour and please come back to Boston soon…I’m still ticked I missed your show when you were here…

  44. Emzy Says:

    Wow its been a year since the ep was released, thats crazy, feels like yesterday. I remember waiting up all night waiting for it to get onto itunes lol. The ep is awesome, as is all of your music if im honest, you guys create music that actually matters and means something to a lot of people. I love how honest you are in your songrwriting, you write and sing from the heart, something ive always loved u for.
    Thanks for the amazing music guys and i look forward to hearing the new stuff.
    Cant wait to see you over here with the KC massive next year, the tours gonna be awesome and i hope i get the chance to say hey to you guys and tell u in person how awesome u are.
    Take care guys!! xx

  45. Brad Says:

    So pumped you guys are going to be recording again!

  46. Kristina Says:

    So excited to hear that you are going to be recording soon!!
    Love Scategories so I’ll have to check out the on-the-go version πŸ™‚

    And the Twitter observation is so true! Can’t believe that a year ago Twitter was just coming on to the scene and shortly before that people would have looked at you like you had four heads for using “tweeted” as a verb in regular conversation! haha

    And just to clarify…when you say 3 shows left with KC…you mean on the North American leg of the tour, right?? You ladies are going to Europe and Australia and all that jazziness too, right??

Leave a Reply

