Reflections. Not Overly Serious Ones.

Here are 2 pics from Kate’s birthday fun. Pancake pantry and cupcake time.

In other news, I (this is Jill now) get a weird sense of satisfaction when I do self-checkout at the grocery store and nothing goes wrong. You know how a lot of times you do everything right, but it starts beeping at you and saying “Needs Assistance…Please Call Attendant”…and you’re like…”I didn’t do anything wrong!” That bugs me…and it’s also a little bit embarrassing. Like-how hard is it to self-checkout? Am I that incompetent? Β If there’s going to be a problem every time, I’d rather just go to a “Real Attendant” aisle. Β So when all goes smoothly and I check out without any problems, it feels awesome.

In even more news, I’ve been asking myself lately…”Why haven’t I bought myself a Snuggie yet?” I see them all the time and hear about how great they are…then I sit on the couch with cold arms and wonder…”What’s holding me back? Just buy the Snuggie” I tell myself. Β But I wonder if I am just caught up in the hype of the Snuggie. I don’t know. I think I will buy one before long.

Lastly, as I reflect on these not so important things, I think to myself…”I wish that Home Alone were on instead of The Santa Clause 2 because Home Alone is definitely one of the best Christmas movies ever and The Santa Clause 2 is not.” However, The Santa Clause is a good movie. Also, I (secretly) loved the first Alvin and the Chipmunks movie and may (secretly) be excited about “The Squeakquel”…yeah.

I will stop reflecting now as I am wasting both your time and mine. πŸ™‚ -j

1 week til Christmas.

Be good.

-j&k-

52 Responses to “Reflections. Not Overly Serious Ones.”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Only cool people can admit that Alvin and the chipmunks rule! I openly want to see the 2nd. Ps def get the snuggle. My best friend’s gramma made me a camo one and it is the best thing ever. I take it everywhere! I am always good. You be good πŸ˜‰ just kidding haha!!

  2. Stephanie Says:

    I personally hate my snuggie! Little fuzzies get over me and the couch……it doesn’t wash well either… maybe I got a dud… I use my Yankee blanket, sorry Jill I know you’re a red sox fan, I love ya anyway lol!!! My fiancΓ© was banned from using the self checkout at home depot he got mad when the computer kept repeating “assistance” and cursed at it very loudly! Anyway Merry Christmas can’t wait for tomorrows blog….

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Christmas Day after dinner going to go see the Chipmunks!!!!!

  4. Melissa Says:

    Ok, 1….it is a very rare occurance when self checkout goes smoothly. I always get yelled at for not bagging the item when it is clearly in the bagging area haha.

    Two…Home Alone is one of the best Christmas movies besides The Christmas Story.

    Three…I REFUSE to buy a snuggie no matter how badly the commercials make me feel I need one.

    And lastly, those are adorable pictures, Katie! Lol glad you had a good burfday =]

    • Melissa Says:

      Oh yeah! And I’m with Jamie! Alvin is awesome! I’m almost as excited about the “Squeakquel” as I am for the 3rd Toy Story.

      • Jamie Says:

        Oh emm gee!! Don’t even get me started on toy story 3. I am so childish. Thank goodness I have young siblings so I have an excuse to see all these awesome movies πŸ™‚

      • Melissa Says:

        I have no excuse! Hahaha I AM the young sibling. Meh I don’t really feel I need one. I still watch Spingebob & Fairly Odd Parents and I’m damn proud. LOL

      • Melissa Says:

        Wait wait wait….spingebob? Hahahahaha faiiillll. Friggin iPhone. SPONGEbob. K done. Bye.

  5. Linda Says:

    Why don’t you ask Santa to bring you a snuggy? That way if it doesn’t work out, you’re not out any money πŸ˜‰

  6. Mary Says:

    Ok so first question, “who isn’t excited about the SQUEAKQUEL”?!?! they are the cutest talking animals of all time… and i cant wait to see the girl chipmunks… too freakin’ adorable…. my moma and daddy and i are gonna go see it together… lol 20 years old and love going to the movies with them… but anyhow i’m like drooling over the pancake pantry…i haven’t had pancakes or french toast or waffles in… pretty much forever… so yea!!
    The self checkouts are like an adventure… which im to scared to take for fear of breaking the machine… its always like ” please place item in the bagging area” and i am one to talk back “IT IS IN THE BAGGING AREA!!” so i tend to just go to a cashier…. as far as a snuggie get it if you want it…. but before you do check out the “ICarly” spoof of it… its hilarious……

  7. Pam Says:

    cute pics of Kate and the cupcakes looks amazzzzing. πŸ™‚

    i’ve never used those self-checkout things. mainly because my local supermarket is ghetttoooo and doesn’t even have any. but i TOTALLY feel your pain Jill. i would feel so awkward if that happened to me.

    part of me wants a Snuggie just so i can say i was part of the Snuggie Revolution of 2009. i’m digging the zebra print one.

    i remember my friends and i had NOTHING to do one night a few years ago, so we went to see the first Alvin and the Chipmunks. but honestly, i loved it! i also want to see the 2nd, but may just rent it on dvd in a few months.

  8. 1wildegirl Says:

    I’m feeling like makin’ a list…not checking it twice. Some laaaame Christmas jokes!

    So here goes:

    1. Those pancakes look amazing.
    2. Random: love your countertop…er, I did say random!
    3. I hear you on the self-checkout. The four worst words: “Please wait for assistance.” Like, come on!
    4. Don’t give in to the hype. Snuggies are backwards robes. Or basically, hospital gowns, i.e., open in the back to expose your behind. Be strong. Just say no. πŸ˜‰
    5. Yes! Home Alone is one of the absolute best movies. EVER! I also love the second one, Lost in New York. ’cause really, I wanted that suite at the Plaza!
    6. You have some really funny conversations with yourself…

    “Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays!”

  9. chelsea Says:

    1) i love alvin and the chipmunks! I can’t wait for the squeakquel.
    2) I don’t like the self checkout for that reason haha
    3) I love the original santa clause movie but after that they all got not so good
    4) I don’t get the concept of a snuggie. I really dont. and now they even have snuggies for your dogs. which is crazzzzzzzy.

  10. AmandaB Says:

    Kate – those cupcake decorations look a lot safer than the ones Jill had on her birthday. Is this for safety reasons? Like so you don’t get another Hannah Montana star in your eye? πŸ™‚

    Jill – I’m so impressed you made it through a self checkout without the assistance from the checker. You’re my hero for the day. Also, β€œThe Squeakquel” is going to be rad.

  11. Stephanie Says:

    My snuggie is folded up in the corner of my living room and my cat just hacked all over it, that is randomly funny!

  12. Kathleen Says:

    instead of buying a snuggy just put your house coat on backwards basically the same thing….lol….i don’t tend to have problems with the self checkout….except that certain items don’t scan which is so weird…….the pancakes and cupcake look really good:)

  13. Monica Says:

    I feel all cool when I can scan without a problem. I like doing it. You can call me anti-social, but I think it’s fun. Excepttttt at the grocery store closest to my school, the workers come and bag your things for you. I don’t like that. I like to do it myself so I know where everything is and that I have everything bagged. Don’t touch my goods, please! bahah

    The Squeakel looks cute. I haven’t seen the first one, yet. I’ll have to steal my sister’s dvd. Thennn maybe I can see the Squeakel for my birrfday =)

    I’m not much of a Christmas movie fan. Elf pretty much owns me though. And Rankin Bass’ “Year Without A Santa Claus”… yep.

  14. Jaclyn Says:

    OMG, I’m not the only one that loved the Alvin and the Chipmunks movie!! hahaha…my cousin and I actually saw that in the theater when it first came out, lol

    I don’t really like the self-checkout and I only use it when I’m just getting a couple things. It’s just another example of how machines are taking real jobs from people. The self-checkouts without the item limit take way longer than a normal checkout anyway, I don’t know why people even bother with that, especially when they’re by themselves and don’t have someone else to bag while they scan.

    Santa Clause 2 was ruined by the plastic santa…didn’t like it at all…and the 3rd one…just…let’s not even go there. The original Santa Clause was awesome and is still one of my favorite Christmas movies…but my all time favorite Christmas movie is and will always be White Christmas…nothing beats it in my book. We’ve watched it every Christmas Eve as a family for as long as I can remember and it just makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Of course I love Home Alone 1 and 2 also.

  15. crystal Says:

    those were some good reflections jill. πŸ™‚

    i sometimes think about the snuggle situation too…my grandma has one..my sister, and a few friends..i even bought my dad a stl. cardinals one for christmas..who knows why i don’t have one yet lol

  16. cassieleetx Says:

    thanks for your thoughts of the day jill! Kate, the pics are great! I’m glad you had a wonderful time! πŸ™‚

    As far as Home Alone goes… I ask myself every year “Why isn’t Home Alone on 24hrs Christmas Eve night through Christmas Day instead of A Christmas Story?” HAHA! A Christmas Story is a good movie, don’t get me wrong, but Jill you’re totally right about Home Alone being- by far- the BEST Christmas movie ever!! I know it word for word and I still get super excited when it’s on TV even though I have it on DVD hahaha. it’s wonderful. Just thought I’d share my thoughts ha Sorry to ramble lol. Hope y’all have a wonderful weekend!! =]

  17. Khitam Says:

    Did you know there are snuggies for dogs? True story! If you would have blogged about snuggies before the tore was over, the fans would have worked their gift giving magic. Apparently you can get snuggies with your favorite sports team logos. Sweeet!

    Self checkout is a win unless you are buying rubber cement or certain meds because they freakin ID you. Apparently you have to be 18 or older to buy those items.

    I do love me some Christmas movies….Christmas Vacation is pretty funny but I do enjoy Vegas Vacation a little more.

  18. b. ashley Says:

    wow jill we are on the same wave length on all those comments…i’ve had a snuggie in my hands like 16,000 times but decided not to get it cuz im like what if it isnt as cool as expected…and the whole deal with the self check outs we have a love hate relationship! I cannot wait to go home to wisco to take my little cousins to the squeakquel!! i took them to the first one last year and it was amazing!!!! hope ya havea great xmas! hope to run into ya somewhere around nashville sometime! y’all are great and to meet ya would be amazzzzzzzzing! thanks for caring bout ur fans..happy holidays to the both of ya!

  19. Selena Says:

    Looks like the birthday was a happy one! πŸ™‚

    I’ve personally never used a self-checkout, but I’ve been around when someone else has, and have witnessed quite a few problems with it. Apparently, they’re more difficult than they might seem, so props on a successful scan!

    I don’t have a Snuggie, but they sure seem to get a lot of hype. To each their own, but it’s pretty much a glorified robe worn backwards.

    I’ve also never seen the Chipmunk movies, but the cartoons were pretty fun. It’s been a long time since I watched Home Alone, but I think I liked it pretty well back in the day.

  20. Erin Says:

    I loved the first Santa Clause, but the second one was a little lame. Home Alone is a great movie. My older brother kind of looked liked that kid when he was little.
    I have a snuggie. My dad got it for me for my birthday last year. The first time I put it on I fell asleep. They are comfortable. I want to punch myself in the face all the time because it is just a backwards robe and it made billions of dollars and I think to myself, why didn’t I think of that? I could be rich now. Oh well. However, the dog snuggie is taking it a step too far. I would think they would make an electric blanket snuggie before a dog snuggie, but that’s just me.
    I hate the self-checkout voice. Her tone is so snotty and condescending. There’s always an unexpected item in the bagging area too, but then I remove it and she tells me to wait for assistant. She sucks.

    Pretty birthday pictures Kate. Jill you should blog more often.

  21. Nina Says:

    how can you always look so damn good on every single picture? no i am not a$$ kissing – i’m jealouse!
    almost every single pic i take is like Urgh…
    way to brag miss rapier…. way to brag!

    i LOVE home alone. it really is one of the best. 2 other GREAT ones are: CHRISTMAS VACATION and CHRISTMAS WITH THE KRANKS. those 3 we watch every single year πŸ˜€

    btw is it snowing in nashville??? over here it’s snowing like crazy… it’s soooo cold x(.

    xOx Nina

  22. anakellya Says:

    Kate, those pictures are so sweet! looks like you had an uber fun birthday πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ hope ya did !
    and Jill, i loveeeee The Santa Claus, they’re amazing! aha. but yeahhh Home Alone is definitely a classic, but not the 4th.. ugh it’s not as good! :L andddd Miracle on 34th Street πŸ™‚
    AND I’M SO WITH YA ON ALVIN & THE CHIPMUNKS! BEEN TELLING ALL MY FRIENDS HOW AMAZING IT LOOKS… i mean, any animal that can dance/sing to Single Ladies & I Kissed A Girl , is cool in my books! aha.
    have a good weeeek:)
    X

  23. Steph Says:

    I’m too lazy for the self checkout. I’m like the only person in the store that can’t process my own coupons. (That’s right..I’m totally cheap…lol) the elderly women though are pros!!!! Sign them up for the coupon Olympics!!! πŸ™‚

    Cute pictures Katie!!

  24. Kim RULZ! Says:

    Just think of all the people who run through self check out because they are buying something that they are embarrased about handing to an actual attendant.. because I truly believe that is why they were initally invented! haha

    You know the people.. 1 item in hand.. they just want to hurry and scan it, toss it in the bag and get the hell out of there before anyone can see what they have in their hand and what happens?? ..the NEEDS ASSISTANCE light goes on!

    EPIC FAIL!

    As far as the SNUGGIE goes..

    C’mon, I’m sure you have one of those blankets that someone as made you where they’ve tied 2 different types of flannel type material together?? So just untie the whole top side and slide on in it and then maybe untie a few on the sides and bottom so your arms and feet can poke out! lmao

    I just totally cracked myself thinking about people actually doing that! It would be like an adult snuggie onesie!!

    Sleep deprivation does this to ones brain.

  25. riaNa Says:

    lol…

  26. Emzy Says:

    Kate u look so pretty in those pictures, wasnt that in the morning, good god girl looking that good in the morning is wrong! youre gonna give girls a bad name! haha. Just kiddin, you look great and i hope u had a great birthday.
    Jill i have to say u could be one of the funniest people ever, u have such a wicked sense of humour. Totally agree about ‘Home Alone’ and ‘The chipmunks’ both great movies.
    Anyway guys take care and be good! x

  27. Luchi Says:

    aww that cupcake looks sooooooo good! i want one

    the squeakquel has me so excited. i am going to see it on monday (monday is my 19th bday)

    home alone lost it when they went down the home alone 3,4 and 5 route… the first wee kid was the best!
    and self checkouts confuse me, they do just beep all the time for nothing… and then the steward comes over and checks your not stealing things… tut tut!

  28. Amanda Says:

    Okay, seriously. I just woke up… and now I want French toast. Thanks Kate! Hahaha. I’m home for the holidays, so I’m pretty sure I can convince my Dad to make me some. Mhmm! I hope we have powdered sugar.

    I quite enjoyed your reflections Jill. I LOVE Home Alone. My family quotes it regularly. Last night I was talking to my Mom about how I think I’m slightly OCD (hahaha, shhh) and I was like, “Yeah. I was on the plane home and all I could keep thinking about was, “Did I unplug everything? Are my doors locked?” Then my Mom just screamed, “KEVIN!!!!” I dunno. It was kind of awesome. Hahaha.

    I think aside from Home Alone 1 & 2, one of my favorite Christmas movies of all time is I’ll Be Home for Christmas. Yes, that ’90s movie with JTT and the people from 7th Heaven. I watch it every Christmas Eve. I dunno if I love it because I used to be madly in love with Jonathan Taylor Thompson (until he stopped growing, haha), or if it is actually a good movie, but it throws me back in time. Seriously, Jessica Biel’s clothes just scream, “OHMYGOSHITS1998!” I love it. Hahaha.

    Okie, that’s all. Keep the change you filthy animal πŸ˜‰

  29. BostonHolly Says:

    FACT: self-checkouts intimidate me, especially when trying to scan/weight fruit. Having to use the scale increases the likelihood of the “please see attendant” warning and then I get anxious. It makes me question the 40k on top of the 100k I plunked down to go to undergrad and grad school when I can’t successfully self-checkout.

    I also now want to bake cupcakes.

  30. danielle1414 Says:

    i cannot express how much i seriously love you girls. sooooooo cool! <3<3 and you girls behave too or u'll be getting coal in ur sacks for xmas πŸ˜‰

  31. Stephanie Says:

    Another funny/cute Xmas movie came out last year… Four Christmas’s with Reese Witherspoon and Vince Vaughn

  32. Holly Says:

    Yay for mentioning Alvin & the Chipmunks. I just watched it last night with my 7 year old neighbor…so cute. And I’m pretty pumped for the squeakquel now!! πŸ™‚

  33. gypsygies Says:

    You’re mistaken – these kinds of things Never waste our time. It’s great. Keep it coming yo.

    *smiles to all*

  34. Theresa Says:

    I love using the self check out. It is so much faster. The walmart by me really needs to get one. Anyways my big tiff with them is that they start saying “please take your bags” repeatedly the, very second you finish paying. I always want to yell at the stupid thing to give me a second to put my freaking change away. The other thing that bugs me about them is that if I accidently set my purse down on it when I am taking my money out it gets all upset and freaks out.

  35. Jennifer Says:

    Argh, I know what you mean about self service checkouts, Asda (UK Wal-mart) are the worst ones here!! Especially now that there are so many things that you have to get ID-ed for in Asda….i.e Metal spoons! while taking a bunch of 13-16 y/o’s on a trip they bought ice cream and had to buy spoons, they got stopped and they couldn’t understand why. Trying to explain the reason them all was mighty awkward! and the reason is so ridiculous!!!!!

    I have yet to give into getting a snuggie…I really want one though!

    I shamefully have to admit I loved the first alvin and the chipmunks movie, ended up seeing it because all the other films were sold out when I went with a bunch of friends…we were a bunch of 20 year olds sat with like all kids and their parents in the cinema lol But we all loved the film!

    Agreed on Home Alone and I have no doubt in my mind that I’ll end up watching 1 & 2 next week, my cousins daughter is coming to visit and she’s obsessed with them…..She watches them everytime she comes here so it being Christmas now gives her 10 times more reason to insist we watch it lol. So it’ll be like my 10th time watching them this year!

  36. Clara Says:

    Ok so I was like a week till cristmas, you must have your dayes mixed up! But just remember that y’all in the US celebrate cristmas on the 25th, which is really weird, but whatever! πŸ˜›

  37. Jacinta Says:

    Jill, I love your random blogs. You’re so funny. Made my night.

  38. Karina Says:

    Cute pics!!

    Jill, feel very proud of yourself, I hate those self-checkout things :/

    aww you wanna get a wtf blanket? lol Sometimes they seem *kinda* cool, but then I remember this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h05ZQ7WHw8Y

    Enjoy the holidays you two!

  39. Karina Says:

    oh, and as a P.S. I agree, Home Alone rulez most Christmas movies. I used to want to be that kid (sometimes, like when he’s in the hotel enjoying sweets and watching tv).
    Some of my other favs are “A Christmas Story” (Who doesn’t love that lamp? haha), “Love Actually” (great stories) and “A Charlie Brown Christmas”.

  40. Lauren Says:

    I’m the attendant at a grocery self check out and I have to admit my co workers and I make fun of people who screw up at self check out. I’ve been caught laughing at people a couple times thankfully they were nice and made fun of themselves but it is pretty funny to see how angry people get at what possibly is the easiest thing to do (that also could be since I work it i find it really easy to do) I was thinking the same thing about Home Alone earlier and The squeakquel as well! Thankfully I have a Nephew to pawn it off on hahaha Im such a great godmother!!

  41. I'm just sayin'... Says:

    This blog was HILARIOUS!!

    Jill you seriously need to write more….I could totally relate to everything you wrote. HAHA.

Leave a Reply

