2 Kinds of People

Today we are sharing a poem by Ella Wheeler Wilcox…I (kate) found the poem in another book called “The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership.” Random, I know…but the poem is pretty cool. So take what you will from it and enjoy your Saturday evening…xoxo j&k

There are two kinds of people on earth today,

Just two kinds of people, no more, I say.

Not the good and the bad, for ’tis well understood

That the good are half-bad and the bad are half-good.

No! The two kinds of people on earth I mean

Are the people who lift and the people who lean.

There are two kinds of people on earth to-day;

Just two kinds of people, no more, I say.

Not the sinner and saint, for it’s well understood,

The good are half bad, and the bad are half good…

No; the two kinds of people on earth I mean,

Are the people who lift, and the people who lean.

30 Responses to “2 Kinds of People”

  1. Jenny Says:

    aww i love this!! thanks ladies!! i hope you guys arent snowed in like i am.. but its nice to watch christmas movies.. hope you have a great weekend!!!

  2. Jaclyn Says:

    That was a cute little poem πŸ™‚

    The Christmas carolers just came by and now my dinner is ready and I’m feeling all warm and Christmas-y, haha, hope you’re enjoying your Saturday night too πŸ™‚

  3. Melissa Says:

    Aw that’s a really neat poem. Prolly shouldn’t be reading it while I’m driving…but I’m in the middle of KS…what am I gonna hit? LOL

  4. Stephanie Says:

    Nice poem, have a good night ladies, gonna watch the Cowboys beat Saints tonight, Go Dboys!

  5. Jennifer Johnson Says:

    Thanks ladies you always give me something to think about.. You all lift.. I told your friend that God drops off angels and I know he droped you all off.. your music brings lots of joy.. it takes you away.. its helps wash off the soul..its makes you dance.. yes God drops off angles with musical instruments.. he droped you all off… Merry Christmas to you and yours.
    Jennifer

  6. Mary B Says:

    It’s sneeting here in Kentucky….. Snow sleet=sneet Thats wat winter has consisted of for us…. I’m working right now… Good ole walmart… But anyways… About this poem… It’s true… one lifts one leans but there is a third one… Those who knock you down…. Just a thought….

  7. Pam Says:

    i love that! it’s totally true, but you never know how to say it. thanks for making me think haha.

  8. Erin Says:

    i LIKE it. very insightful.
    my favorite part is
    ‘Not the good and the bad, for ’tis well understood
    That the good are half-bad and the bad are half-good.’
    Have a good night ladies.

  9. Jasmine Says:

    Wow! I am impressed! Not that i should have expected any differently or was judging. I am new to J&K via my Sis… (She’s more Kelly Clarkson and i like the Grassroots variety). I mst say smart girls for reading that book. I have read and continue to re-read that book as well others from John Maxwell & Zig Ziglar (love the Zig). Another good one is Good to Great by Jim Collins (alot of perspective even if you aren’t running a company). Way to step up! We need more great leaders in this country!!! You have the ship….#4 CHART THE COURSE LADIES, CHART THE COURSE!
    J&K fans y’all are awesome and i hope you continue to support these two in everyway possible. They obviously are WAY more than pretty faces & beautiful voices!!

  10. Kristina Says:

    I love it. The style totally reminds me of Dr Seuss, Ha….I love Dr Seuss, theres allot to be learnt from him even at 28. ‘Oh The Places You Will Go’ sits right next to Jane Eyre on my book shelf.

  11. Jasmine Says:

    Oh …. Happy Belated Birthday!!!!

    Fact: BIRTHDAYS ARE GOOD FOR YOU.
    Statistics show that the people who have the most live the longest!!!

  12. Jennifer Says:

    Interesting….deffinately got me to thinking…

  13. Jacinta Says:

    Great poem. I wonder…am I a lifter or a leaner??? Hmmm….
    Lucky for me I have all the time in the world to think about it as my flight is delayed in Denver.

    P.S. Gretel live. WOW!

  14. chelsea Says:

    interesting poem and totally true.

    and the beginning reminded me of “Circus” by britney where she says “theres only two types of people in the world, the ones that entertain and the ones that observe”

    random i know πŸ™‚

  15. Melzap Says:

    Love that! Thanks for sharing! πŸ˜‰

  16. Selena Says:

    Ah, I like these sorts of things that make you think. Little morsels of wisdom, if you will! Thanks. πŸ™‚

  17. Jaclyn Says:

    Ok, I’ve been thinking about this a little more and it really reminds me of a book I had to read this semester for my life journey class called Ishmael. One of the themes in that book was about 2 kinds of people, the takers and the leavers. The takers are the the ones that take more than they need and the leavers are ones that take only what they need…there’s actually a lot more to it than that, but I’m just going to leave it there before I get into a whole book discussion, haha. It was good, but I can’t say it’s one that I would’ve read on my own time. I kinda liked that it was written in Socratic dialogue though πŸ˜›

  18. BostonHolly Says:

    I shall do my best to “lift” and not “lean”.

  19. Monica Says:

    niiiice. me likey.
    thank you for sharingg πŸ™‚

  20. 1wildegirl Says:

    I’m a poetry nerd ’cause I see them as songs minus melody, which is why I’m also a lyrics nerd. But anyway, all that is to say that I love when y’all share poems. I ❀ this one! Everyday should be a quest to "lift" rather than "lean."

    Hope y'all have a great Saturday.

    PS. Since y'all are sharing, how about a list of fave books or albums? Kinda like a J&K "Best of"? πŸ™‚

  21. Anakellya Says:

    i love that! i love how whenever i used to read poetry, i used to think it was all about like ‘i do not like green eggs on ham, i do not like them sam i am i do not like them here or there…’ etc πŸ˜‰ and now when i read it i can actually take something away from it! so thanks girls (: very uplifting… and i’m gonna try not to lean anymore! πŸ™‚

    anddddd… could you tell us what you’ve been listening to lately? (:

    xo.

  22. Emzy Says:

    hey thats pretty cool, You can take a lot from that.
    I have to tell u ladies that i was shopping with my little brother yesterday and i sprayed Vera Wangs ‘Princess’ perfume on him and said ‘Now u smell like Jill and kate’ and he stopped sniffed and went ‘Wow are either of them married’ hahaha hes 14 but it was so cute! Had to tell you about it! xx

  23. gypsygies Says:

    I think it’s absolutely beautiful that y’all read poetry. Seriously. Beautiful.

  24. E Says:

    OK. So I manage a team of 6 people (up to 15 in a few months!) and this poem is so appropriate and timely. It is going up at my desk as soon as I get to work tomorrow.

    I had a team member walk out on the rest of the team last week in order to attend the company X-mas party while the rest of the team was finishing up helping the team member who walked out. I was incredulous and this poem sums it up so well.

    Thank you Kate. (I’m going to check out the book as well).

  25. Dorthe Says:

    what if the one who usualy lifts needs some to lean on??
    it’s a beautiful poem
    X

  26. Kim RULZ Says:

    Kate seems like the “reader” but I have a smidge of a feeling that Jill may have grown up with a little bit more of a “churchy” background. That being assumed, I was curious if u’ve heard about or read… “The Shack” ????

Leave a Reply

