Gingerbread House

This was my (kate’s) attempt to make a Gingerbread House with my two 10 year old brothers and my 2 year old niece. They say that they are “easy to assemble” on the box, but they are really a little more difficult to put together…please see picture above. I mean our house looks like it could be in the running for the Extreme Home Make-Over Gingerbread Edition. The funniest thing was that my niece almost took a huge bite right out of the roof before we even got started. Haha.

So if you are bored and want a funny challenge, go pick up a $10 dollar Gingerbread House making kit and and see what fun you can have.

Haven’t slept in 36 plus hours…

-k (& j too)

(i am in New England where it is COLD, but cozy! Have not slept in 36 hours and counting…other than the 2 hours on the plane, but i don’t know if i’d really call that sleep per se…but happy to be with my family and near the ocean again. Nice Gingerbread house Kate! Maybe i will try to make one too and post my pic…who knows??) -j

28 Responses to “Gingerbread House”

  1. 1wildegirl Says:

    Aw, fun with the kidlets! It’s what the holidays are all about…and it sounds like the J&K Home Building Challenge…..”Bus driver, move that bus!” I like that show, not gonna lie. 😉

    36 straight ours without sleep? Are y’all applying to med school?

  2. higzy Says:

    That is totally awesome, the best i can do is make butterfly cakes haha. I’d put that in a display cabinet it awesome!

    Well where i live in Sheffield, UK it has 6inches of snow! I do love snow tho especially when you have ur own snowboard wupeeeeee 🙂

    Enjoy your eatable house xxxxx

  3. Pam Says:

    that’s cute!!!! i’ve never made one before. just one of the few things i’ve been deprived with in my life. that, a Christmas tree, thinking Santa was real.

    …yeah go Hanukkah……? eh, haha. 🙂

  4. Jacinta Says:

    “Extreme Home Make-Over Gingerbread Edition” – that was funny. 🙂 Merry Christmas, Kate.

  5. Erin Says:

    i tried to make one my freshman year in college, it was quite difficult. the icing is very difficult to control. the package is very misleading.

  6. Monica Says:

    Nice Gingerbread house, andKate! I tried making one before. Actually, I think i was about 10 years old, too! It was stressful, because my cousins are all artsy and perfectionists…I am not.

    Jill, you gotta love all the snow, huh? Well, I don’t. But I’m trying to enjoy it, even though I’m still sore from shovelling.

    Sounds like you girls need to go get some sleep! Glad you safely made it home for Christmas. 🙂

  7. Shari Says:

    Great job!!

    Go to bed soon and be ready for the day tomorrow. Not sure why you both were up for some many hours but I hope some fun was involved! NOt just delays at the airport!

    We expecting a lot of snow and bad weather over the next couple of days here in Mn!

    Happy Holidays!

  8. Jaclyn Says:

    I tried making one of those once, lol…it was my freshman year in college and about 2/3 of my floor in my dorm went out and bought those and we all made them together the weekend before finals (we needed a break from studying, lol)…some ended up pretty nice but mine, not so much…it was a mess…great memories though 🙂

    Loved the Extreme Makover Gingerbread Edition comment though, that was funny 😛

    PS – get some sleep! haha…If I’d been up for 36 hours I can’t say I’d be a very nice person 😉

  9. Stephanie Says:

    It looks good Kate! I have seen worse, it definately looks tasty! I think Jill should take the challenge and make one as well!They are definately not easy to make, I can’t keep the sides to stay up! Til tomorrow….

  10. Jennifer Says:

    Kate, So jealous! I’ve been trying to find a gingerbread house kit to do with my 3 year old niece and nephew but can’t find one anywhere in the UK at all, so they’ll have to make do with Baking cakes with festive decorations 🙂

    Jill, It’s ridiculously cold here in England t

  11. Jennifer Says:

    Kate, So jealous! I’ve been trying to find a gingerbread house kit to do with my 3 year old niece and nephew but can’t find one anywhere in the UK at all, so they’ll have to make do with Baking cakes with festive decorations 🙂

    Jill, It’s ridiculously cold here in England too and we have so much snow that we’re really not used to! Best tip to warm up, hot chocolate, double duvet, fleece PJ’s, slipper socks and a hot water bottle, has worked for me all week!

    Now both of you go sleep! You’ll be getting burn out and you don’t need that before Christmas.

  12. Amanda Says:

    Ever since I was a little girl my Uncle Matt has had an annual Gingerbread Making Night. He originally started it for me, my two older cousins, and a few of our neighborhood friends. Well, now that we are all grown, he still carries on the tradition with my younger cousins. I was able to take part in it again this year, but this time around as a “helper” to the little ones. They are too cute to boot. Seriously, the best part of the holidays is hanging out with the kiddies!! Glad y’all are enjoying some quality time with the fam 🙂 That’s what Christmas is all about! Love it. Enjoy the rest of your time home!!

  13. I'm just sayin'... Says:

    I made one of those last year with my then 11Y.O. sister and 5 Y.O. brother and it turned out about as well as yours did lol. It was freakin’ HARD to get the walls to stick together.

  14. gypsygies Says:

    HEY don’t you know you’re supposed to REST on this tour-break??? LOL

    By gods I hope you get some good restfull sleep soon. A lot of it.

    And Kate, “no comment” on the house. *chuckle*

    It’s awesome. Completely and utterly awesome.

  15. Selena Says:

    I’ve never attempted a Gingerbread House, so I can’t speak from personal experience, but with a lot of stuff, the assembly isn’t as easy as the box/instructions make it out to be. Good effort, Kate. I hope you enjoyed making it. I’d be interested to see how Jill’s turns out if she decides to go for it as well.

    It’s nice to know you’re both at home and hanging with the fam. Do try to get some sleep though! Y’all must be exhausted! Sweet dreams. 🙂

  16. Melissa Says:

    I made of those last year! For the first time. By myself though cuz my friend bailed on me. =[ lol

    Mine was a dang work of art. Which was surprising as I can’t even draw stick figures in proportion.

    • Melissa Says:

      heyyyy found it! my gingerbread house from last year!!!

      • Melissa Says:

        >_> ok one last time. i’m done if this doesnt work. (sorry for spam and sorry if this comes out as code.)

        [IMG]http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b202/dorky_kelly_freak/gingerbreadfixed.jpg[/IMG]

  17. Risty Says:

    I like your Gingerbread House. Happy Holidays!

  18. b. ashley Says:

    i made one last year with my mom cuz i had never made one before and i was 22 at the time so i finally made one and it was hard to get the house to stick together but after some challenges we got it and it turned out really cool

  19. cassieleetx Says:

    haha nice house Kate!!! yall did a wonderful job! totally better than i could do lol. beautiful! I do think that a big chunk missing from the roof would have been a nice additive to it though, and then it would definitely be chosen for extreme home makeover-gingerbread house edition. LOL! I hope youre enjoying your time at home and the holiday season! =]

    jill, im glad youre home in the 6oh3 again! sorry about the weather though. thats no fun at all (i mean, unless youre a snow lover) but I hope you enjoy your time there with the family and everyone too! : )

  20. Jennifer Johnson Says:

    Merry Christmas Ladies.. Nice House Kate.. I think the roof may have caved in on the snowman, do you have home owners ins. ? maybe you could just settle out of court snowmen are jolly this time of year…Glad you both made it home safe for the holidays enjoy 🙂 again thanks for the music and smiles this year.. Hugs Jen

  21. anakellya Says:

    awh kate give yourselves SOME credit, i wouldn’t have even made the house so it could stand… there would be a picture of mine next to the word ‘fail’ in the dictionary! so, i’m not gonna even try ahha 🙂
    and jill, hope you’re having fun! near the ocean 🙂 lucky ! and tbh, any name with ‘england’ in it must be awesome 😉 not that i’m at all biased ahaaa.’
    much christmas love 🙂 🙂
    ❤ xo.

  22. Lauren Says:

    Hahah i thought the house looked pretty awesome, Kate!

    Have fun with your families and have a great christmas!

  23. E.L. Says:

    Every year, my cousins and I have a Christmas party separate from our usual family party. Two years ago our theme and activity for the night was a pajama party/gingerbread house making contest. We had 4 teams of 4. My team couldn’t get our walls to stay up, we put too much candy on the roof and it collapsed. Oh and we’re in our late 20s and early 30s. Yours at least looks close the picture on the box. 🙂

    Merry Christmas ladies!

  24. Olwen Says:

    Ooooooh cool house, I’ve never made one before, I love baking with my nieces ad nephews it’s so much fun, when I don’t burn the chocolate that is lol and it’s freeeeeezing here too in Ireland it’s like -8 degrees outside Brrrrrrrr.
    Hope you guys have a wonderful christmas I’m off to finish baking then I’m helping my sister be Santa good times.

  25. Bradley Says:

    I made the same house a few weeks ago but my nephew ate it! Lol

Leave a Reply

