Badda-Bing–Badda-Boom…

What is your most played song on iTunes? Who’s idea was it to combine your names and make it jillandkate? -Myriam

Jill’s most played song is “Can I Still Come Over?” by Gretel. Kate’s most played song is “Poison & Wine” by The Civil Wars. We can’t really remember who came up with putting our names together…we were trying to come up with something and we just kinda settled on jillandkate. We wanted something simple–easy for people to remember.

Kate, since you were born in Germany: do you speak German? What’s your favorite thing to do online? What’s the funniest or strangest rumor you have heard about yourself? Do you have any weird talents? -Sarah

Yes, I speak a tiny, little bit of German. I actually understand a bit more than I speak–which is awesome when people are talking about me in German and they think I can’t understand them–it always freaks people out when I respond to them. Haha. Online…hmmm…Kate keeps up with the news…wherever it may be…hahaha…she is always announcing the latest headlines to whoever will listen! Also she frequents Facebook and her email. Jill is a game player. Yahtzee, Text Twist, Bookworm…among other games. Also she reads her local hometown newspaper everyday just to see what’s going on in New Hampshire.  Strange rumors we’ve heard about ourselves? We try not to listen to rumors cause who likes hearing strange things about yourself that aren’t true? Weird talents. Jill can do this thing called “Doi-Doi-ing.” You won’t believe it until you see it–we will vlog it sometime soon. Kate is super double jointed. It’s pretty funny. Not sure that’s a talent but yeah.

Where do you write most of your music? Does it just come to you or do you have to work on it? What normally triggers you to write a song (like an emotion, a thought, a memory, a person, etc.)? What was the last thing you bought & from where? -Jaclyn

Since we are hardly ever in one place for long, we write anywhere and everywhere. Yes, we have to work on it! Songwriting can be MISERABLY DIFFICULT at times. Sometimes you have to write a large amount of crap to get one good song. One pretty successful songwriter once gave us this advice, “Don’t be afraid to suck.”  Songs come in all different ways..sometimes they come out in 5 seconds, other times you write something and have to come back to it months (even years) later. Normally when one of us goes through something that will stir up emotions/feelings, that’s what inspires us to write. It’s sad that hard times can produce lots of songs. Ha! I guess that’s one of the plagues of being an artist. The last thing Kate bought was movie theater tickets & popcorn. Went and saw  “It’s Complicated.” And yes, it’s complicated. The last thing Jill bought was groceries at Kroger…boring!

More later! Thanks for the questions…and if you have any more…remember tomorrow’s the last day to get them in!

Go drink some coffee, tea, hot chocolate or whatever will keep you warm. It’s cold out there people 🙂

Hugs.

-j&k-

26 Responses to “Badda-Bing–Badda-Boom…”

  1. danielle1414 Says:

    Ah i love these Q&A’s! I feel like i’m in Jill and Kate school. If only schools taught lessons like this…

  2. Steph Says:

    Lol I’m on the same page as jill. Bought Groceries. Glad you ladies are responding to the fans so quickly! Woohoo!

  3. Linda Says:

    Woah at all the blogging. I love it! Thanks for the answers to some qustions girls, very interesting hearing about the process of songwriting.

    Keep the blogs coming, you might not think so, but they’re always fun to read 🙂

  4. Sarah Says:

    thx for answering my questions, ladies 😀

    45 days, 45 days, 45 days until brussels. wooot woot

    auf wiedersehen 😀

  5. Marleen Says:

    Love all these blogs!! Can’t wait to see you 2 live again with Kelly & band, Amsterdam February 25th 😀

  6. Amanda Says:

    Hahaha I just cracked up at the doi-doi-ing thing. My friend Jamie can do it and she was like, “Anyone can do it!” I remember her trying to teach me, but mine wasn’t nearly as funny as when she does it. Some people just have the gift! Hahaha.

  7. Melissa Says:

    It’s like Dec again lol. It’s really cool to hear your takes on songwriting. I feel your pain about all the crappy stuff before you get anything even worth continuing with! Haha

  8. Pam Says:

    Jill: last year, i was ADDICTED to Text Twist and would play whenever i had the chance.

    Kate: i’m double jointed too! it’s kind of gross because it’s for most of my fingers, my baby toe, and my elbows. kinda freaky.

  9. 1wildegirl Says:

    Yaay for “audience” questions. I loooved It’s Complicated. Which, really, love is…usually. But anyway. Meryl Streep and Alec Baldwin together were priceless.

    Songwriting: Thanks for sharing your experience. It’s definitely a cool treat to read how y’all make the magic happen. Speaking of, recording soon! How EXCITING is that?! 🙂

  10. Jaclyn Says:

    If the “doi-doi-ing” thing is what I think it is, I’m pretty sure I can do it too, haha…one of my friends showed me how to do it in 5th grade. I think in some cases being double jointed can be a talent. My uncle is, and one time when we were all on vacation together in North Carolina, I watched him put sunblock on his own back without missing any spots. It was weird, but kind of cool at the same time (considering I was 8 years old, lol).

    And yay! Thanks for answering my questions 🙂 …but groceries, really? lol…I’m just kidding…the last thing I bought was a glue stick so that’s not much fun either. I love hearing about how people go through their writing process though…I don’t quite have the patience for it, haha

  11. Selena Says:

    I’m glad y’all decided to do Q&As. It’s so much fun learning J&K trivia! 🙂
    Very interesting! Thanks for another round.

  12. Jennifer Says:

    I have no idea what the “Doi-Doi-ing.” thing is so it’s baffling me a little bit, I think a Vlog is deffinately in order for that one haha.

    Thanks for answering more questions, they’re always a good (and interesting) read!

  13. carolfritz Says:

    yay for German! 🙂
    If it’s what I’m thinking of, “doi-doi-ing” is hilarious!
    Btw, I also read my hometown newspaper online everyday when I’m at college! I feel obligated to. haha.

  14. Erin Says:

    It’s freezing. I have no idea what to even expect from doi-doi-ing. Jill, I love text twist. Poison Wine is brilliant. Love the blogs ladies.

  15. anakellya Says:

    omg it’s more than freezing! it won’t quit snowing here.. I LOVEEEE IT! haven’t been to school since the beginning of december! haha how awesome 🙂
    and lovingggg your answers 😀
    hope you’re taking your own advice and are warm and stocking up on the starbucks’ ! 🙂

    X

  16. Jacinta Says:

    I love that song by Gretel..it’s my 2nd favorite (Salt is my first). Don’t know why, but I thought I’d share that with you…
    And…”Don’t be afraid to suck” – my new life motto. Thanks for answering more questions. They’re fun to read. 🙂

  17. Monica Says:

    If the doi-doi-ing thing is what I think it is, then I can’t do it… buuut I can do this guwee-guwee thing…Yep. Not easy to explain through text.

    I’m thinking I’m def gonna have some hot cocoa now. I haven’t had any all season. I must change that.

  18. Amanda Says:

    I love the Q&A sessions!

  19. Louise ( in Manchester, England ) Says:

    i love the Q&A sessions 😀
    4 weeks and 4 days till i see you girls and kelly in manchester. not like i’m counting or anything 😀

  20. BostonHolly Says:

    Jill, I just bought groceries too…gotta eat! And I have no idea what doi-doi-ing is…I’m anxiously awaiting the vlog explaining that one. So much blogging…yay!

  21. Sourg Says:

    lol i bet kate went to see it’s complicated with @kelly_clarkson

  22. Tom Lee Says:

    Hmm, never thought it could be like this…. very strange

  23. Jenny Says:

    Just bought all Gretels music I could some over, jsut wanted to thank you for writting about it in your blogg otherwise I would have missed out so big thanks! 🙂

    ps. you’re amazing too off course and I can’t wait to hear some new songs 🙂

  24. Myriam Says:

    Thanks for answering my question =)! And just for the record, I always love the music Jill mentions in the blogs.

  25. Elaine Says:

    Nothing embarrassing about having Hanson on your iPod Jill, they’re ridiculously good (still going) and just have the misfortune of being known for THAT track LOL. They’re great singers too and, for those of us in the know, they were the Jonas Bro’s 10 years ahead of the Jonas’s (and better :P).

Leave a Reply

