Songwriting.

Songwriting is the best thing ever. It’s hard work…even when songs come easily…you still have to work hard at them. But man…when you get going and you get something you like and other people like….it’s the best feeling in the world. It’s like a drug. We’ve been writing a lot as we’re getting ready to record this week…

If you don’t know these songs, stop what you’re doing and go listen to them right now:

-“Stay” by Lisa Loeb

-“Stolen Car” by Patty Griffin *written by Bruce Springsteen

-“Waiting Around to Die” by Townes Van Zandt

It’s January 5th people…who’s still working at their goals? Hope so. If not, that’s cool too. It’s only day five πŸ™‚ Haha.

More answers to more questions in the very near future.

Miss you like a fat kid misses cake.

-j&k-

29 Responses to “Songwriting.”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Oh those songs are amazing! I love them. Excited about getting new stuff from you guys too! =]

    don’t forget the coffee mugs πŸ˜‰

  2. Monica Says:

    LOVE “Stay”…the other two I’ll have to check out when I’m not sleepy. Haha πŸ™‚

    eeep I’m getting anxious for new music!! Have fun when you hit the studio!

  3. lnds27 Says:

    …but a fat kid never misses cake. ‘Cause he’s eating it.

    Can’t wait for the new tunes. Keep on lovin’ your job, because we love what you do.

    -L

  4. Khitam Says:

    pumped for the new music from you two! I will check out those songs ASAP. Goals what goals! haha…rang in the new year in Chicago and i officially LOVE that city : )

    stay classy,
    Khitam

  5. G Says:

    Ok girls, so I don’t usually comment on your blog, but I read it quite frequently. I can’t wait for the new music and for new answers!!!

    I’m definitely going to check out those recommendations. πŸ˜‰

    (I think I’m one of the few guys who comment haha)

  6. Jamie Says:

    Woohoo for recording!! I acted on my goal to learn electric guitar this year. Put a down payment on a sexy, sparkly pink guitar. I’m in love with it. There’s a place that gives lesson right near my apartment. Gonna be rad! Ok that made me excited to read the blog. But now it is bedtime. Miss y’all back. Like Ellen says it. Rightbackackcha!!

  7. Mary B Says:

    No matter how many times I hear it I love that yall are getting ready to record…. Woohoo!!!! Can’t wait for the new jams lol!! And yes songwriting rules…. You get an idea and roll with It and it’s like running a race…. the adrenalines rushing and the hearts pumping and when you reach the finish line…. SUCCESS!!!! Even if it’s a first draft getting it on paper is a “whew” moment And alot of times when I’m done it’s like there…. And you want to scream to the world… Look what I wrote… Like or leave it!!!! Thanks for a great blog…. As usual… And Dory put it best ” just keep swimming” or in yalls case “just keep singing, just keeping singing, just keep singing singing singing.!!!” And yes I am 20 and just quoted Finding Nemo… Lol

  8. Jennifer Says:

    I only know stay so I will be checking the other two later on, would do it now but I just woke up, it’s 5.30am and I probably won’t remember I listened to them later haha.

    I kinda sorta a little bit achieved one of my goals but it was completely by accident haha.

  9. Jaclyn Says:

    Well…I know 1 out of 3 of those (Stay).

    And goals? What goals? lol…just kidding…I’m still on vacation though, so I’m not starting on my goals until next week πŸ˜›

    I’ve heard the whole fat kid misses cake saying before, but I mean, when does he actually miss cake? Just when he’s not eating it? Because otherwise I’m pretty sure, given his track record, that he has access to cake, lol…unless this fat kid is going on a diet. Then I guess he would be missing it….(don’t mind me, I’m tired, lol)

    Anyway, good luck recording! I am looking forward to new music πŸ™‚

  10. Erin Says:

    YAY for recording. I write songs too. I know the feeling. It’s a high when you get something and it just comes to you. I’m having a hard time now because my friend asked me to write a song about her current situation. It’s difficult.
    I know the first 2 songs. Stay is an anytime song. I’ll give the last one a listen.
    Well I miss the daily blogging like shaq misses free throws. joking…nobody get offended.

  11. Erin Says:

    Is it Stolen Car by Bruce Springsteen or does she also have a song called Stolen Car? I saw her last year and she covered Bruce’s Stolen Car at the show. LOVE IT. love her. love him. love love love.

    Thanks for the recommendations!

  12. Jacinta Says:

    Looking forward to the new music.

  13. Selena Says:

    Sounds like y’all are on a roll with the songwriting. Good to hear! πŸ™‚
    Looking forward to more Q&A!

  14. Amanda Arch Says:

    Stay by Lisa Loeb has been one of my favourite songs since I was a youngen. When I think back to when I was 10-11… I distinctly remember hanging out in my room singing the words to that song at the top of my lungs. Now everytime I hear it, I still have to sing it at the top of my lungs. It’s quite awkward in public but it is unavoidable! It doesn’t matter how long I go wihout hearing it, I always remember the words. You know how there are some songs that you can never forget the lyrics and then some that just aren’t worth remembering? Well The lyrics to Stay has stuck with me for a very long time! If it wasn’t 1:15 am and I wasn’t afraid to wake my husband and roomate, I would go listen right now. Tomorrow it is πŸ™‚

  15. Kim RULZ Says:

    Totally with you on “Stay” because it’s one of my all time favorite songs!!! But the other 2 songs I’m not really feelin’.. don’t know why, maybe my feelers are broken!

    And as for your fat kid misses…….thing. My ex Cris, who still happens to be one of my closest friends, and I will randomly shoot each other txts with the whole “I miss you like… ” phrases to each other.

    So why would I not end this with..

    I miss you like a hitch hiker without a thumb!!

    haha just the first one that came to mind! πŸ˜‰

    Peace out!

  16. Nina Says:

    oh wow i can’t wait for the new songs. i’m excited already πŸ™‚
    oh gosh you just reminded me to pick my goal up again ahaha πŸ˜€
    i shouldn’t have given up that easy!

    the 17th seems so far away but i hope we get to her one of that new songs!!!!!!

    xox
    nina

  17. anakellya Says:

    aww haha , liked the last part ‘miss you like a fat kid misses cake’ bless :L lol,

    i love songwriting. i don’t tend to share my songs with anyone though. but it still makes me feel happy, feel like i’ve let a weight off my shoulders, ya know?

    and i’ve heard the first song, love the second singer, but haven’t heard of the last song or artist, so i shall go check them out πŸ™‚

    and i made no goals, except to be optimistic all year.. not really working! haha,

    much love
    X

  18. Lynne Says:

    So excited for new music!!! Also, Stay by Lisa Loeb is my favorite song of all time i love it!!!!

  19. riaNa Says:

    Lisa Loeb’s songs are fantastico! I stuck with Stay for quite sum time cuz it’s an amazing song and the lyrics are awesome. simple and deep, dat’s wot finest music is all about. Stolen Car? that’s everyone shud listen to! -”Waiting Around to Die”, now that’s sumthing I shud go n give it a try. Thank you, guys! ur ohsoawesome!

    keEpoNroCkiN’

  20. Pam Says:

    is sucks that i’m the least poetic person. i have never been able to write a song as much as i want to. it honestly takes A LOT of skill, even if most people don’t think so. that’s one talent you both have…and i’m really jealous.

    btw- i love Stay by LL! and haha to the cake comment. πŸ™‚

  21. Steph Says:

    “Waiting around to Die” is epic! I had to reread it a few times just to make sure it was the same song. lol as for the goals…Um…lets try and start them again on 2011, yeah? lol Can’t wait for the new music!

  22. Amanda Says:

    “So I turn the radio on I turn the radio up and this women was singing my song…” Love this song! reminds me of growing up =)

  23. Bradley Says:

    I held up a sign at the show in Corpus that said “I love you like a fat kid loves cake” haha πŸ™‚

  24. sharpmusic Says:

    Those songs you listed are great songs. I always remember times in my life when I hear them. I am a songwriter too. I find the same rush that you do when you get something you like….it IS like a drug. What happens to me then is that I start worrying I won’t write anything as good again. LOL Mental, I know. – Chad http://sharpmusic.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

