Steam Room Saga

Kate here…

So, I had an interesting/quite entertaining experience a while ago…and I thought I’d share it with all of you.

Right before Christmas, I went to a local spa in Nashville because my friend had gotten me a gift certificate for my birthday. I thought it would be a perfect way to relax after all of the Christmas shopping madness and a good way to prepare for the holiday festivities. I arrived early and the lady who showed me the women’s locker room facilities said, “We have a steam room right through these doors…since you’re early, that would be a great way to relax before your massage.” I thought it was a great idea–you know–loosen up before a nice massage.

So, I head into the steam room (wearing only a towel mind you) and it’s empty when I arrive. It’s not very big, but I settle onto the bench, lean back and start to enjoy the steam. Fast forward about three minutes, the door swings open and there HE is. Yes, that’s right, a MAN. And for the record–a very young, attractive man–who is also wearing only a towel. We make eye contact and I momentarily freak because I’m pretty sure I had gotten a little too comfortable and that my towel was not covering..well…you know. Anyhow. He takes one step in, and says awkwardly, “I’ve never been in a co-ed steam room.” I am surely blushing at this point–whether from the steam or sheer embarassment I am not sure–and I say something awkward and silly like “Uh..heh..Yeah.”

So there I am. Our knees only about 3 feet apart…just sitting there. Relaxation out the window. My mind was racing. Do I get up and leave right away? No, I can’t do that. It would totally look like I was leaving because he had come in. I wanted to look like I was totally with the times and not feeling uncomfortable that I was half naked sitting across from a stranger. Maybe this was the new thing. All I kept thinking was “Jeez lady, on the tour you managed to tell me all about the new lockers that had been installed and yet failed to mention that it’s a CO-ED steam room? Awesome.” So I close my eyes and try and block him out. With my eyes closed I then start thinking about telling my friends this story. And I start to laugh. My friends were going to find this hysterically entertaining. Yup, I try and hide my smile but the thought of re-telling my experience to my friends just made me laugh.

I try and regain my composure. I sit there for a little longer and realize I could gracefully get up and leave without it being painfully obvious that I was leaving because of him. We say a few words to each other as I leave, again something awkward, and I jet back to the changing area.

So, there you have it. That’s my story. Next time you enter a steam room, make sure it’s not co-ed…cause let’s just face it…it’s uncomfortable.

And, if by chance you are reading this and you are the fine specimen of man that was in the steam room with me…two words…call me. We clearly have already crossed the uncomfortable-get-to-know-you-stage. Haha.

Love,

kate

63 Responses to “Steam Room Saga”

  1. Monica Says:

    Haha! ohmygosh love it! this totally made me laugh.

  2. Pam Says:

    HAHA omg that was great. good thing he was hot or else i’d be creeped out. πŸ™‚

  3. Allison Says:

    hahaha, that made me laugh!

  4. anakellya Says:

    HAHA KATE THIS JUST MADE MY DAY.
    you’re so funny!
    cute story, hope you bump into him again someday! but not in another awkward situation, lmao.
    xx

  5. Amanda Says:

    Hahaha dying. Thank you for that. Hahaha.

  6. lauren Says:

    Lmao!!

  7. Vincent Says:

    Haha wow. Definitley a weird situation. Have you ever thought of just making a book with all your tour stories? I bet it would be a best seller.

  8. Tina Says:

    I am dying from laughter right now. Somebody help me!

  9. Laddie Says:

    Well, at least it wasn’t Michael Bolton!

  10. Mel Says:

    Haha, this was quite funny to read. I’ll make sure to not go in to coed steam rooms, haha.

  11. carolfritz Says:

    Kate, that was the best thing I’ve read in weeks! hahaha πŸ™‚
    Personally, I think it’s adorable, and I hope you run into this “fine specimen of man” again! I am SO the person who thinks of something at the absolute wrong time (like how your friends would find the situation hysterical!) and can’t keep my composure!
    Actually, there’s a Facebook group for that. lmao. (Like “there’s an app for that”? haha)
    Anyway, fabulous story. πŸ™‚ What’s up with you and Kelly having awkward run-ins with men while wearing towels/robes? LOL

  12. Laura B Says:

    You should have gotten his digits! But, then again what would you have written them on?

  13. danielle1414 Says:

    OMG thats the funniest story! Is it bad that i hope something very uncomfortable yet damn hilarious happens again?! Oh man that is too awesome hahahahaha

  14. Hillary Says:

    I thought your story was going to end differently and that you had misunderstood the lady and gone into the mens steam room! Very funny kate!!

  15. Jaclyn Says:

    hahahahaha…that is a great story…I’ve never been to a spa (gasp!) or gotten a massage…reminds me of this one time, my freshman year in college when I was living in a co-ed dorm…the fire alarm went off (because college freshmen can be idiots and put a frozen pizza in the oven WITH the cardboard), well, one of the guys was in the shower at the time and ran outside with just a towel on…it was funny…but probably way more awkward for him than it was for us πŸ˜›

  16. Emzy Says:

    Ok that actually made me LMAO.
    Kate i swear u, jill and Kelly should have your own comedy show, ur so funny.
    Well i hope the fine specimen of man is reading the blog, i mean come on, anyone who doesnt read the blog clearly isnt very cool haha.
    Anyways hope you guys are having fun in dublin, cant wait to see u sunday πŸ˜€ xx

  17. Tina Says:

    Haha omg I had to read it again. I would have reacted just the same way, lmao. Thanks so much for sharing!

  18. Alex Says:

    That’s a win! If was him, it would have been embarassingly obvious I could not relax. haha!

  19. Kaitlyn Says:

    haha, that’s halerious good thing he was hot(:

  20. Melissa Says:

    This is just awfully funny. Haha. So awkward. Lord. But at least you can laugh about it and share it with other people. That’s a great party story πŸ˜‰ LOL

  21. Linda Says:

    lmao!! Now that was entertaining πŸ˜€

  22. Mary B Says:

    And once again Jill and kates blog cracks me up !!! How is it that such interesting things happen to yall lol!!! Needless to say I probably would have handle it differently and just said to the guy “well I’m gonna go before this gets more awkward but if you want since we’ve already seen this much of eachother I feel it is only right to at least go on one date…” and hoping there’s a mirror in the steam room ( I’ve never been in one so I dunno ) trace my number out.. But that’s just what I would have done lol

  23. India Says:

    That’s some story…seems like you had one hell of a time

  24. Kelly Says:

    That’s high-larious! You sure you weren’t just in the wrong steamroom?! ROFL!

  25. carissa Says:

    LOL McSteamy!

  26. crystal Says:

    that was the greatest blog i’ve ever read! soo funny!
    hahahaha “two words…call me.”
    great story kate..he’s probably searchin for you right this minute! πŸ™‚

  27. Stephanie Says:

    Wow! He could be your soulmate! Should of went for it!

  28. Jennifer J Says:

    Best Laugh I have had all day.. My co workers are wondering why I am laughing hysterically alone in my cube ….thanks needed that…..

  29. gypsygies Says:

    Ok thank you for sharing with us Kate, that is hilarious.

  30. Jennifer Says:

    That’s funny hope he read this and calls you hahaha

  31. Jdell Says:

    kate – this story is hilarious! and the way you write it, makes it even better. i would have done the same exact thing… would have wanted to run out the door but would have stayed just so it didnt look like i was running haha. J&K blogs are some of the best reads =)

    hope you guys are having fun!

  32. jessica Says:

    OMG LMFAOOOO!!!! that is TOOO FUNNY! that reminds me i was in a sauna one time and my friend was on the bench across ( we both had bathing suits on) anyways i go to lay down but then as i put my head back i realized my head was on some guy’s lap and clearly did not see him beside me before. anyways as my head was in his lap i quickly got up and freaked out from the awkwardness (he was only wearing a towel) i didn’t know whether to laugh or cry at that moment but it was pure embarrassment.

  33. elainesnowden Says:

    LOL, I’ve only ever been in co-ed steam rooms. Never any fine specimens though, just old, tubby men 😦

  34. BostonHolly Says:

    Awkward!!! . I have to say, at least he was good looking. I love those things that happen and all you can do is laugh about what your friends will say when you re-tell the story…my most recent incident involved a 4 hour plane trip and a guy in his mid-50s (sitting next to his wife mind you) who felt the need to read Playboy cover to cover during the flight. All I could do was stare straight ahead and laugh to myself about telling my friends that someone would actually do that on an airplane!!!

  35. cduggan13 Says:

    freaken hysterical. one of your best blogs (if not the best blog) yet! thanks for sharing not only with your friends, but with us as well. πŸ™‚

  36. Selena Says:

    So, I guess it wasn’t the relaxing steam you had in mind. What an awkward situation! Makes for an entertaining story though! Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

  37. kevin Says:

    thats why i wear shorts!

  38. Shari Says:

    Great story! I can see why you started laughing at the htough of telling your friends.

    Bummer he didnt slip you his number!

  39. Skye Says:

    That is an awesome story and so well told!

  40. Myriam Says:

    Hahaha this just made me laugh. Too funny.

  41. Roger Says:

    Kate…I would call you but I don’t have your number!!! πŸ˜‰ that guy was a lucky mofo. Grrrr!

  42. humored Says:

    haha…sounds like an intro to a cheesy novel love scene “the next moment our towels landed in random places on the sweaty floors. our moist bodies collided”

  43. kevin Says:

    take any photos of self ,you would like to share?

  44. Erin Says:

    kate, you are awesome.

  45. Kristina Says:

    Are you sure you it was a co-ed steam room?….perhaps it was part of the GIFT certificate? HA Most Ozzy guys are just paranoid lumberjacks, so here in Australia, any good looking guy found in a day spa is usually not interested in your number or anything you have to offer under your towel.

  46. Patrice Says:

    this is absolutely hilarious..i love when people start stories off with “so there i was” haha. and on top of passing the “awkward-get-to-know-you stage” if you ever do meet up, you can start the convo off with “remember that time you saw me half naked in a steam room”..ice-breaker i’d say..

  47. Riana Says:

    Omg! Kate, that’s freakin awkward and hilarious! M pretty sure guys will ask for a co-ed steam room every now n then…lol

  48. Jennifer Says:

    When I was looking after my friends cousins with her for a week we had access to the Steam room, pool and Gym that was in the hotel my friends Uncle owned and the steam room there was Co-ed and we only once had another guy come in when we were both in there. Once had a very cute guy in the pool with us once.
    Didn’t find it that awkward but I think that was probably cause we all knew it was co-ed

    Personally I think if the guy was cute you so should jumped on him haha…..I kid I kid.

  49. Amanda Says:

    ahhhh hahaha Thanks for making me laugh at work today and thanks for sharing!

  50. Christina Says:

    this is my favorite blog in the history of blogs. i can’t stop laughing ahahaha

  51. Jacinta Says:

    Hahaha!! That’s was awesome, Kate! Best blog yet. Totally busted out laughing at, “maybe this is the new thing”.

    You’re hilarious. And thanks for the tip. I’m off to find a co-ed steam room to meet my prince charming. πŸ˜‰

  52. Erin Says:

    Holy crap that was freaking amazing hahahaha I had to stop reading at points because I could picture every second of it and couldn’t stop laughing ahhh loved it hahaha thanks for sharing that wonderful story

  53. Jess Says:

    Only you Kate. That’s priceless.

  54. Khitam Says:

    hahaha well this is hilarious. I kept waiting for you to say “And I noticed I was in the MENS steam room” but it never came haha. WAIT so that means there are CO ED steam rooms. Must.move.to.Nashville.

  55. alison Says:

    LMAO…….Awkward!!!!

  56. Turk Says:

    Haha πŸ™‚

  57. Clara Says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

  58. Louise Says:

    Hahahaha, this blog made my morning! That was funny

  59. Karina Says:

    okay, this story just made my morning!

  60. Marleen Says:

    Oh wow.. awesome blog!!

  61. MellyMel Says:

    Kate, why the heck did you not get his digits!!???!

  62. Jen Says:

    Hilarious! That just made my ‘Lonely’ Valentines Day! haha xxx

Leave a Reply

