Pilates = Life Lessons?

So a few weeks ago I started taking pilates classes with some friends. For those of you who have no earthly idea what I’m talking about…I don’t either πŸ™‚ Haha. It’s a form of strengthening your muscles, starting with your core muscles…a different way to tone and help your body. If you want to know more, click here. Ok, so anywho…

I think Pilates reminded me of a life lesson that is super important. Here’s how. In my sessions, my super awesome but still makes me work really hard trainer, Erin, stands near me and is constantly reminding me to do these little things: put my shoulders down, suck in my stomach, lower my back, straighten my hips, straighten my arms, breathe, etc. If I weren’t constantly reminded throughout my 60 minute session, I would go about my little business and not even realize I was missing anything and I wouldn’t get as an effective session in. But I’m gonna be honest–Pilates has this tricky way of fooling you–cause sometimes you are doing something and you’re like “they think this is working out? this is awesome! it’s easy! i’m just laying on one of these fun little machines!”

But alas, all of a sudden you are reminded to do the SMALLEST action possible and all of a sudden it’s SO hard. Then you are like, “what the crap–this Pilates thing is ridiculously hard…who does this? and on machines that look like this? what?”

So here I am three weeks later and when my trainer corrects me to do that small, seemingly insignificant action, it’s not as hard and I feel stronger! WOOHOO! It’s the small things people, the small things πŸ™‚ And so that’s how Pilates reminded me that it’s the small things in life that will eventually make the biggest difference. Taking 5 minutes before work to listen to your favorite “pump you up” song or picking up a piece of trash that isn’t yours or drinking an extra glass of water in a day, or calling someone that you don’t particularly enjoy conversing with but you know could really use a chat (even if they are a chatty cathy!) or going to bed that half an hour earlier to get a bit more shut eye…

Whatever you do, do not think that only large grand gestures count. It’s all of the small ones that add up to making the big, influential ones. I’ll even use singing as an example: if I never took time to sing in the weeks/months before a show and just got up to perform an hour long set it probably wouldn’t be that great. Why? (I know you are shocked that I just don’t naturally exude pure excellence…HA ha ha!) Because I didn’t spend the little moments leading up to the big moments.

So, why did I write this epically long blog? I’m not sure. Just know that tomorrow morning in my class I may be doing this:

HA! YEAH RIGHT! I can’t do that πŸ™‚ Β I’ll be more like this awesome lady (also I’ll be in the same outfit + hair-do):

Alright, night night blog land.

-kate

18 Responses to “Pilates = Life Lessons?”

  1. Khitam Says:

    Those machines look like torture devices used in the olden days…

  2. tricia Says:

    can I borrow that outfit?? πŸ˜‰

  3. erin2484 Says:

    Oh my god hahaha peeeeeeing can you pleaaase wear that outfit and your hair like that and take a pic? it might make my life haha that was really funny haha im still laughing πŸ™‚

  4. gypsygies Says:

    Yeah wow…I swear those machines look like medieval torture devices. Who the hell was watching some History channel schtick on torture, saw the machines and was like “Cool! I can exercise with those!” Anyway…

    I have always said “smell the flowers”. Seriously. 5 Seconds to pause and actually, yes, smell flowers you’re passing by. It’s amazing. You’ll never be in so much a hurry that those few seconds flower-enjoyment would be too much.

    I’m so amazed that y’all are only HOME for a blip of time, really, and you instantly jump right into a whole bunch of stuff. You don’t, like, sit and veg and just BE HOME. Instead you’re cleaning, traveling, signing up for all sorts of classes…doing Doing DOING. Infinite energy. Kelly never pauses to just BE either, it seems. wow.

  5. Anakellya Says:

    uhm… can you please keep posting these uberly influential blogs?! thanks! πŸ™‚
    xoxo.

  6. SmallThingsFan Says:

    Taking 5 minutes before work.. picking up a piece of trash… drinking an extra glass of water… calling someone that you don’t particularly enjoy…

    –or–

    making even just one person crack a smile with, say, deep philosophical Pilates discussions…

    πŸ™‚

  7. jennifer Says:

    Love these blogs on wonder haha it’s true though small things equal just as much.

  8. Mary b Says:

    Once again I’m having a terrible day and you my friend put me in a better mood thank you!

    Enjoy your pilates tomorrow… And don’t hurt yourself lol

    Woohoo can’t wait till July 1st!!!

  9. jennifer Says:

    Love these blogs of wonder haha it’s true though small things equal just as much towards the big.

  10. Danielle Says:

    haha that one machine looks like a sex chair

  11. crystal Says:

    same outfit&hair?!! awesome.
    great blog kate! it’s all about the small things!

  12. CL Says:

    Having a strong core saved my frackin life.

    About 7 months ago, I had one of those “holy crap” moments in life. You know the ones– you go into the doctor’s office with “bad carpal tunnel” and learn you have “bad spinal cord tumors” and will eventually become paralyzed from the neck down. To make a long story short, I had the surgery to stabilize my neck, and started to learn how to walk (again). I’m a fat girl, and I was worried about my weight impacting my recovery– especially since I am now living life in a wheelchair, full time. The one thing that helped? 23 years of Yoga and Tai Chi. The years of discipline, “living in the moment,” and awareness of my body? Learning how to breath, to isolate and build my core? Those lessons continue to make my life FUN.

    Yep, it’s the small things in life that can save those big moments of crapola.
    πŸ˜‰

  13. Melissa Says:

    Just putting on a smile & a good attitude help. They’re infectious for sure. That’s helpful & you don’t even have to do anything.

  14. Selena Says:

    I suppose if you think about it, you can find life lessons in all sorts of stuff. And, you’re right…sometimes it’s the small things that can lead to or make the big impact, for better or for worse. Good thing to keep in mind, whether dealing with things, ourselves, or others!

  15. Erin Says:

    well because without the outfit and the hairdo, she would just look ridiculous.
    clearly.

  16. Pam Says:

    oh Kate…haha πŸ˜›

    ever try Zumba? my Spanish teacher is OBSESSED with it and has gotten us to do it in class a few times. it’s so much fun and you break a sweat in the first few minutes!

  17. Monica Says:

    You could totally rock that hairstyle. DO IT.

Leave a Reply

