Sunday Stuff…

It’s Sunday afternoon and I am sitting here listening to The Weepies as I simultaneously listen to the rain and thunder outside my window.

The Weepies have this way of making me happy and sad all at the same time and for some reason I always want to listen to them when I’m feeling a little melancholy. They help me balance out my emotions.

It’s not that there’s anything wrong, but do you ever have a day (or couple days) when you just feel like you suck at life? It’s the simplest thing that can make you feel stupid. I made a stupid musical error yesterday and it really set me off. At the end of the day, it was so not a big deal that I should have just been like “oops” and moved past it, but I HATE being wrong…come on…who really likes being wrong?

A friend of mine said to me yesterday: “Humble pie tastes like crap!” (that was slightly censored, but you get the idea.) And it really does…ugh…I hate looking and feeling stupid!

I have the tendency to be a little hard on myself and fortunately I have some good people around to remind me to chill out a little. However, sometimes there’s no one around to remind you to take it easy on yourself.

So, this is ME telling YOU to give yourself a break in case no one else is doing that for you right now. We all screw up—in big and small ways—and at some point you have to suck it up and get on with life.

So, admit you’re wrong, tell yourself it’s okay, and get on with your day. I’m going to. And while you’re at it, turn on “Citywide Rodeo” by The Weepies. Put it on repeat like I do if you want to. Everything’s okay.

-jill

26 Responses to “Sunday Stuff…”

  1. randy Says:

    JUst worked 17 hours,had a whole week feeling like
    that.Reading this provided some relief.Thanks alot.Raining here also.Driving home I was jammin to J&k .I love the eastcoast bound cd.Anyway youll are too cool.Thanks fo.r the great music.Going to find
    some Weepies. Take care

  2. Boston_Holly Says:

    “The Weepies have this way of making me happy and sad all at the same time.” So TRUE Jill! They are great…”Living in Twilight” is one of my favorite songs. Most importantly, give yourself a break and break yourself off a piece of that Kit-Kat bar. You’re only human (unless there is something you aren’t telling us). 😉

  3. D. Says:

    Even though we all make mistakes, it´s always harder when we are our biggest critics. And Jill, give yourself a break, because no mistake can change the fact that you are AMAZING! Take care.

  4. Amanda Arch Says:

    I’m often way too hard on myself too. Especially with my photography, but also with looking stupid, or doing something stupid. It is the worst!
    Thanks for the pick-me-up Jill!

  5. Jamie Says:

    Thanks Jill. That was a nice blog. See ya in a few weeks ladies!! Whoop whoop!

  6. Mary b Says:

    Oh Jill you sweetheart you… Thank you. Sometimes I do feel like I suck at life because I’m not where I want to be and feel like I never will be!! But yea I gotta suck it up and chill!! It’ll happen when and how God wants it to… he knows best ; ) As far as being wrong I hate it!!! Like despise being wrong… I don’t like feeling stupid! But yea sometimes it happens. Thanx again for the blog. Hope your night gets better!!

    Can’t wait to see y’all July 1st!!!

  7. wakeyourspirit Says:

    Oh yes – I have this happen to me often. I beat myself up over little things that many people don’t often even notice. When I do mention it, they look at me like “WTF are you talking about??”. LOL

    So, I offer a song back to you, beautiful Jill – “The Middle” by Jimmy Eat World. That song has gotten me through those icky times.

    “It just takes some time
    little girl you’re in the middle of the ride
    everything, everything will be just fine
    everything, everything will be alright”

    Hugs,
    Sarah

  8. Erin Says:

    thank you. i’ve been feeling like that a lot lately.
    i started studying for the GRE which basically will or will not allow me to get into grad school. i was going through the vocab section and nothing makes you feel dumber than a list of words you didn’t even know existed. example…ersatz. i mean really? that looks like a typo; like somebody just closed their eyes and randomly pushed buttons. and for anybody reading this it means a substitute or imitation. fun fact of the day.

  9. Selena Says:

    “The Weepies have this way of making me happy and sad all at the same time and for some reason”

    ^ Ah, don’t you just love when songs are beautifully bittersweet? I’m not well-versed in The Weepies music, but I like World Spins Madly On.

    “do you ever have a day (or couple days) when you just feel like you suck at life?”

    ^ The past few days have been quite nice, but oh yes, I’ve definitely had many where I experienced the sentiment of sucking at life. Sometimes I don’t know whether I should be that hard on myself or just cut myself some slack, so I get where you’re coming from. It’s not always easy to move past mistakes, but there’s little to no benefit with carrying them around either. Live and learn. Well, at any rate, how about we all just give ourselves and others a break! 🙂

    Well, anyway, thanks for the blog. I think lots of people could relate to this one. Take care, Jill (and you too, Kate)!

  10. Kim RULZ! Says:

    Chemo must really be keeping me under a rock because I have no idea who The Weepies are? Turns out.. youtube will obviously be my next stop.

    It’s been raining here for a few days and that tends to put me in a likewise melancholy mood. So I’ll return the favor by telling you that everything is going to be A-Ok. It’s the imperfections in you that make you such an amazing person. And it’s even kinda cute that you’re so hard on yourself. On the outside looking in, one tends to assume that you’re perfect because you are so blessed and so talented. And it’s easy to forget that mistakes and slip ups are made. We usually only see your best foot forward, so it’s nice see you being vunerable and talking about a situation and how it made you feel.

    I can connect more with entries like this because it’s real to me. 😉 So thank you for giving me something to think about tonight. I was celebrating the Celtic’s win a little much! haha

    Your typical circle of friends are always a banked on system of support.. don’t forget that you have hearts across the world that are here for you and wanting and wishing the best for you as well! 😉

    Kim

  11. HumblePieFan Says:

    Illegitimi non carborundum (don’t let the bastards wear you down).

    If you are not making mistakes and being wrong and making a fool of yourself, you are prolly not doing anything very interesting. So come on, Jill, get out there and look stupid!

    (Not sure that was the support you were looking for, but I try — and just following my own advice, now that I think about it). 🙂

  12. 1wildegirl Says:

    Jill, I think I’m taking your advice and adding this: “So come on, Jill, get out there and look stupid!” ‘Cause that was beyond awesome. I’m really gonna try looking stupid today. Tho, usually it happens on its own! 😉

    Crap happens, no one is perfect, etc. But yes, the friend with the humble pie quote has it right. It tastes like crap ’cause no one like crow-flavored pie. Gimme pumpkin, apple, pecan, anything but crow.

  13. Monica Says:

    It’s always the simple and small things that make me feel stupid. I don’t really have regrets, but after the small mistakes I get annoyed with myself. Not so much after the bigger mistakes. It’s weird.

    I liked those last two paragraphs though.
    They were nice.

    P.S. Let’s hope the Celtics can kick butt tomorrow.

  14. Elise (Blake-1984) Says:

    Simply…thanks x

  15. Jaclyn Says:

    I had a day like that yesterday….I couldn’t find the step-stool even though it was right in front of me, then I was having so much trouble putting in the recessed lighting inserts because of the springs (we’re remodeling our kitchen) and my hands are the only ones small enough to do it, I dropped a bucket of soapy water on the floor, nearly dropped a box of dishes, and I completely missed a shelf in one of the cabinets I was cleaning…it was at an odd level and I didn’t see it…my dad made fun of me for not knowing it was there and that just set me off because I was already feeling horrible about myself for the other stupid things. I can laugh now, but it wasn’t very funny then, lol.

  16. Pam Says:

    i usually give myself a break for screwing up. but with finals in a few days, i need to haul booty and try to learn/get everything right!

    ….on that note, why am i the computer? 😦 haha

  17. Myriam Says:

    Aww, I like this blog. Good stuff.

    P.S. I like when you guys mention songs. It’s always a fun way to find new music. 🙂

  18. jacinta Says:

    Jill, you’re awesome. That’s all.

  19. Elle Says:

    You’re too awesome for words, Jill. ❤

  20. Danielle Says:

    This might be hard to believe Kate, but you have changed my life. Well…… you’re changing my life. One blog at a time.
    I love reading them. You make me feel better about myself. God knows I need to lately.
    Thanks

  21. Danielle Says:

    …… Further to my comment from yesterday. I meant JILL & Kate. Apologies Jill.

  22. Becki :) Says:

    Jill, I think you are way too hard on yourself. Discipline is good to a certain extent, but you are human and it is human to make mistakes. As corny as this sounds, I do believe everything happens for a reason. Don’t look at it as a mistake, look as it as a crappy experience (just kidding . . . . trying to make you laugh). Sweetie, you are “da bomb,” “the cream of the crop,” “the Fruit of the Loom (hee! hee! which do you want to be the grapes or the apple?).” In our (your fans) book, you can do no wrong girl, so just keep plugging along, everything will be cool. Take good care. 🙂

  23. cassie Says:

    Sorry to hear about your day (and i apologize for the delayed response)… but a super smart and very talented person gave super amazing advice to people who’ve ever had a moment that just turned their entire day upside down… so I want to share that with you..

    “So, this is ME telling YOU to give yourself a break in case no one else is doing that for you right now. We all screw up—in big and small ways—and at some point you have to suck it up and get on with life.

    So, admit you’re wrong, tell yourself it’s okay, and get on with your day. I’m going to. And while you’re at it, turn on “Citywide Rodeo” by The Weepies. Put it on repeat like I do if you want to. Everything’s okay.”

    Sometimes hearing your own words being said back to you helps even better than other words of encouragement. It’s not always easy for people to take the same advice that they give, so this is just one way of making that happen 🙂 Don’t be so hard on yourself girl, there’s much worse that can happen. Sweep the little stuff right under the rug 🙂

  24. Emzy Says:

    Jill you rock and yeh we all have crappy days 🙂
    I tend to put some Patty Griffin or Chely Wright on, normally makes me feel better 😉
    I think youre mega cool (as is kate) and youre an amazing musician, dont be hard on yourself, we all mess up now and again 🙂
    Keep smiling x

  25. Becki :) Says:

    Hey Jill! 🙂 Hope you are having a great day!

  26. shelby Says:

    ….the weepies make me feel the exact same way! ahaha funny you mention it…or funny that im catching up on the blog…cuz i was just thinking about that! :]

Leave a Reply

