Operation Friendship Bracelets!

Hello everybody!

If you follow us on Twitter you’ve probably seen our tweets about making friendship bracelets this past weekend! Our friend Meghan had an awesome idea to make friendship bracelets and take them to the kids at the Houses of Hope. A few of us are taking a trip to Africa pretty soon to go hang out with the kids again and we thought that we could make some for the kids, but also teach them a fun craft!

So, if you want to make a bracelet or two and send them to us before August 2, 2010, we will take them with us and give them to the kids!

All you need to do is head over to your local craft store and buy a bunch of this thread: (it’s not too pricy either–a BIG package for under $4):

Then, either find a friend to teach you or go & watch this handy how-to video….

You can experiment with all different patterns etc….this is one Jill is currently working on:

It is kind of time consuming…but we have also felt it’s kind of therapeutic πŸ™‚ We’ve turned FRIENDS on in the background and tied away!

The end result is a bunch of these:

So, if you feel so inclined to make one of these bad boys–send us your bracelet to this address:

ALD c/o HOH

P.O. Box 176

Wheaton, IL 60187

Feel free to include a letter if you’d like…we promise to take all of them with us and share them with the kids.

Lots of love and friendship bracelets…

j&k…and meghan!

22 Responses to “Operation Friendship Bracelets!”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Wow, dang that’s really awesome. Looks like I’m gonna have to learn how to make these things. Such a great idea and for such a good cause.

  2. crystal Says:

    yay! something to do at work this week! :]
    i’m glad you guys are going back over there! those little kids are so cute!

  3. Danielle Says:

    Dudeeeeeeeeeee I wanna make some! I’ve never made them but I wanna try. If you girls think of anything else we can make to send so you can take with you let us know. πŸ™‚

    You girls are just so incredibly sweet. I love that you’re going out to see the kids again. Love it!

    ❀

  4. Audrey Says:

    I’m gonna try to make someone. I’m a camp counselor so I could try to ask to children to make some bracelet and send it.
    I adire your job.

  5. Lauren Says:

    Awesome! You guys are so sweet to do that for the kiddies, will definitely have a go at making some and sending them your way! I work in a school so I’ll see about getting some of the older children to contribute and making some too!

  6. Jaclyn Says:

    If I can remember how to make these, I so will.

  7. Selena Says:

    Aww…that’s a nice project and so sweet of y’all to visit the kids again. I hope they’ll enjoy their crafts! πŸ™‚

  8. erin Says:

    so cool. what an awesome idea. my cousin makes those bracelets every summer. maybe ill have her teach me how and ill send one your way!

  9. Shari Says:

    Great idea and a fun craft for those kids. Back in the day I used to make these all the time for my friends ect….We all wore them as braclets or ankle braclets….

    You are all soooo lucky to go back to Africa and even more so to be involved in such a great place with the house of hope. I am very envious!!

  10. OFB-Fan Says:

    Okay, I promise to make at least one. I tend to be a bit absent minded so it might not be as pretty or as fancy (i.e., evenly striped) as the ones the pros are doing (geez, I want one of those for myself — like the blue one for sure, LOL), but I will be thinking good thoughts as I am doing it, and I think the good thoughts prolly transfer to whoever wears it, I hope. Like I’m thinking the one who chooses mine might have a lot of sympathy and feel sorry for this poor, pathetic bracelet, and good for them because they will get all the nice thoughts I am going to be loading mine up with. πŸ™‚

    PS — a word of advice to J&K (and Meghan) — just act all innocent and look the other way when the House of Hope caregivers start scratching their heads and saying, “I just don’t get it. All the kids are suddenly running around singing this weird song called “Smelly Cat.” LOL

  11. Myriam Says:

    Aww, that’s so sweet of you guys! I love how you guys are into helping others out. And totally jealous you guys are going back again. I have to wait until next summer, but I’m super excited.

  12. Rosalind Says:

    Awesome idea~ sadly I’m not that crafty. Are there any other things we could send, like books or music?? Can you guys get a list of the kids’ names and some of their interests if we want to write a letter?

    Thanks for doing awesome things for the cutie kiddos and for including your fans. ( :

  13. Rosalind Says:

    Ooh, I like Audrey’s idea about having the kids at her camp participate. Great idea!

  14. Lauren in South Africa Says:

    I’m nine and I live in South Africa and i have a book that shows you how to make friendship bracelets. I want to invite some friends over and have a bracelet making party. Is there some place in S Africa we can send them to, because if you are bringing them to Africa, we should rather just keep them here? πŸ™‚ Also because they may not reach you in the mail (and in time). Maybe we can send them to the House of Hope you visited in JHB? (or you can come past my house and collect them hahaha πŸ™‚ Bring KellyC!

  15. Turquoise Necklaces – The Gift Of Friendship And The Symbol Of Life | Friendship Gifts Says:

    […] Operation Friendship Bracelets! Β« JillandKate's Blog […]

  16. bethannhayphotography Says:

    This is such a cute idea ladies! If I manage to make a decent few, I will be sure to send them along =)

  17. Amanda Says:

    That sounds like fun!!! I used to make those when I was younger!! I think I’ll make a few and send them to you girls to take :)!!!

  18. amandaarch Says:

    I am officially going to spend my days off making bracelets for this! I used to LOVE doing it when I was a tween, something about the repetition of it always relaxed me. Such a great idea!

  19. directorSandy Says:

    I’m not good at making bracelets, but I do know how to knit. do you think the kids would like or could use a few cotton knit caps?
    Love,
    Sandy

    director050@yahoo.com

  20. Safely find a date for tonight with no risk Says:

    I love ur website

  21. ashleigh Says:

    I’ve never made friendship bracelets before now and I’ve made about 10 or so with different and complicated patterms πŸ™‚ I hope the kids like them! You’ve done such a good thing! πŸ™‚ can we continue to make them after August 2nd and just send it to the HOH directly? Love you guys! X

  22. plenty fish uk Says:

    plenty fish uk…

    […]Operation Friendship Bracelets! « JillandKate's Blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

