Go Broke* or Go Home.

First, if you don’t know what Broke* is, it’s this ridiculously awesome documentary about the music industry. Trust us, you are going to want to see this flick–but more importantly–you, the music lover that you are, want to get in now and join the Broke* movement and become an actual part of this amazing project. We need your help..so tell your neighbor, tell your parents, tell the person reading this over your shoulder…haha….tell anyone.

First: Go to the Broke* website and watch the trailer.

Second: If you haven’t ordered your Broke* t-shirt then go order one RIGHT NOW!!! Let me tell you, these shirts are really great conversation starters. Every time I wear mine people ask me about or make funny “one-liners” to talk to me about my shirt. It’s good times. You’ll want to wear one and test the waters.

Jill and I both wear our Broke* t-shirts proudly and so should YOU ๐Ÿ™‚

How many times could we say Broke* in a blog? Broke*, Broke*, Broke*.

You get the idea.

Hugs from two Broke* girls.

j&k

12 Responses to “Go Broke* or Go Home.”

  1. Melissa Says:

    I’m wearing my Broke* shirt today. My family makes fun of me and tells me that it’s right. I’m broke ha. Rude.

  2. Mary B Says:

    I get paid next Thursday!! I’ll definetly get one!!! I’ve been meaning to but keep forgetting!!! I know im a loser bc I havent gotten it yet!! But I’m Making a note on my phone to remind me!! Lol cause I can’t remember anything!!

    P.s. I need another A.A. J&k R.L. And S.M show lol that was so amazing!!

  3. cnfuhrer Says:

    i just ordered my Broke* shirt. Thanks for making us aware of this. I can’t wait to see the documentary now.
    You ladies are great. Can’t wait for song of the 17th ๐Ÿ™‚
    Have a great night!
    -cnfuhrer

  4. Sarah Says:

    Yup, I have the Broke* shirt and pre-ordered the DVD! I can’t WAIT to see it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hugs,
    Sarah

  5. erin Says:

    if i could find a job or some spare money i would totally buy a shirt… but i am literally broke.

    • jacinta Says:

      hey erin, are you on facebook? my page is facebook.com/gretelfan
      i’ll hook you up with a broke tee, if you want….

  6. BrokeForeverFan Says:

    I want to hear more from that Catherine Moore, Ph.D. woman (Director, Music Business Graduate Program, NYU) It really intrigued me when she said in the trailer that you can make a living as a professional musician if you have 1000 true fans. For starters, I’d like to know how she defines “true” fans, but that aside, this question has always interested me. Like, every time I see a talented artist doing their thing, doing what they love — and especially when it is clear that they love what they do (and I’m talking any artist, not just musicians), I always hope they can make a living at what they do without having to work other jobs, and I wonder what it would take for them to make a full time living at what they do. Sounds like this documentary might give a lot of info on this, at least for musicians.

    Okay, thanks for the heads up on this. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Selena Says:

    Interesting concept. Good luck to Will Gray and the rest of the Broke* gang! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Roz Says:

    LoudQUIETloud = another kickass documentary of recent memory.

    It’s about the band Pixies; their music, their fans, their rise, fall and subsequent reunion. Moreover, it’s about the creative and personal tensions brewing beneath it all. And there’s lots of music.

    I love the behind the scenes stuff so much. So yep, thanks for the tip J&K, I will mos def be checking this one out.

  9. Roz Says:

    Also, about the principle of making a living…with 1000 true fans. I have seen it applied with intriguing success in areas outside of music. One example, my community’s acupuncurist who is awesome at what he does and a genius, kind, awesome person.

    Anyway, he practices a community acupuncture style and it’s awesome and it costs like a tenth of what you’d pay at a clinic, but yep, the business model has been successful.

    So props to anyone pursuing doing what they love in the world, working hard to be great at it and make it work. It can be done.

  10. Roz Says:

    On a side note, I still have to get around to seeing the Anvil documentary. People have raved about it…

    Has anyone here seen it? What did you think?

  11. Vincent Says:

    I can assure you, you ladies, Kelly and Ashley will never go broke. I buy your CDs in stores and don’t download em off the internet. (I wrote this comment without watching the preview so hopefully that’s what Broke* is about)

Leave a Reply

