Meet My Sister.

Well, there are many things I’ve written about on my blog…but one of the things that I generally do not talk much about is my family or personal life. You know, try and keep some things for yourself and not for general public consumption…laa dee da…

But right now I’m going to break my own little rule and talk about my sweet, beautiful, older sister Amy. For the last nine months she has been in a small European country working with children…and I miss her. Even though modern technology has made it SO easy to chat with her frequently–I miss her.

Now, my sister is no average bear. She’s got the most compassionate heart, a gorgeous smile and the family given sense of humor to laugh harder at your own jokes than anyone else in the room. Among her many accomplishments throughout life I would say the biggest is conquering a brain tumor and cancer at age thirteen. Not only did she do that, she did is looking FABULOUS bald…I mean…come on…who can do that? 🙂

Amy and I enjoy quoting really unquotable movies and watching the same movies over and over again. We’ve also been known to play a heck of a lot of Scrabble–which she wins most of the time–but I’m getting better and have even beaten her a few times 🙂 Amy also has this way of remembering the most random things–i.e. she can tell you friends addresses or phone numbers from childhood! It’s so crazy.

Anyway–I can’t say enough good things about her. She is an inspiration and I am so proud of her. Amy if you read this…I love you and can’t wait for you to get back to the good ‘ole USA and eat good Mexican food together 🙂

-kate

25 Responses to “Meet My Sister.”

  1. Lauren 'Elle' Says:

    That’s lovely, Kate! I would be lost if i didn’t have my big sister ❤

  2. Mary B Says:

    The movie thing is totally me and my sister!! When no one has no clue what movie I’m quoting or in general when people have no idea what I’m talking about Julie my big sis always does!! I love her!

    Thanks for sharing!! : )

    Love yalls blogs!!

  3. riana Says:

    awww u guys are like twins! adorable

  4. Pam Says:

    aw sisterly love 🙂 she sounds awesome and you’re very lucky to have her! and beating brain cancer is an amazing thing to do!

  5. gypsygies Says:

    GOOD Mexican food? So you’ll be visiting TEXAS then, eh? You surely can’t get good Mexican food There! Why that’s like hot sauce made in…in (oh gods commercials have taken over my brain!!!).

    I’m stunned and amazed that *both* you and your sister were able to cope with and overcome Amy’s brain tumor at that age. It cannot have been an easy thing for a little sister to deal with, either, esp as young as you would have been. I salute you both. I’m sure Amy wasn’t able to read most of that, of course, because her eyes would’ve watered up early on. :’) As did all of ours.

    And I thank you BOTH for sharing your beautiful compassionate hearts with the world. Every seed grows.

  6. Amelia Says:

    Aww that’s so sweet! She seems quite amazing, and she’s so compassionate. Yay for awesome siblings! 🙂

  7. SarahLee23 Says:

    Being the oldest out of 5 of my sisters, I can tell you that there’s nothing more amazing than watching your little sisters grow. The love of between siblings can never be broken, and I can really see the love between you two! What a very special bond you all have!

    Hugs,
    Sarah

  8. Selena Says:

    Aww…what a nice entry. Amy sounds like a sweet and inspiring person. Y’all are both lucky to have each other as a sister! 🙂

  9. crystal Says:

    aww 🙂 what a great blog! you’re both very inspiring!

  10. 1wildegirl Says:

    As an only child, all I can say is: “Awww!” This totally made me want a sister. Not going to happen, mind you, but still: yay for sisters! Here’s hoping she’s back soon and safe travels.

    Also, how’s Jill’s voice? Hope it’s healed! And not just ’cause I miss the SOT17th. 😀

  11. erin Says:

    awww. i have 2 brothers and i dont have a sister. this made me want one.
    sounds like ya’ll have an amazing relationship. adorable.

  12. Boston_Holly Says:

    This is so sweet! Your sister sounds like one very cool and inspirational lady!

  13. directorSandy Says:

    I loved reading that. Thanks Kate.
    Your eyes and your smiles..identical
    Two beautiful girls!

  14. mytwobrowneggs Says:

    that is sooo sweet! yay to your sister for battling cancer and kicking it’s ass! you guys look a LOT alike…in the 1st pic you look like twins

  15. Rozzz Says:

    OMG, I LOVE QUOTING UNQUOTABLE MOVIES!!!! #Iwant2gotothere !!!

    Amy rocks and is obviously awesome.

    Kind of jealous for a sister like that, but glad for Kate! PS pics = #SoCute

  16. bones49 Says:

    pretty amazing story. thanks for sharing

  17. jessica Says:

    loved this blog post.

  18. I'm just sayin'... Says:

    Holy Hannah Montana, you guys look so much alike it’s a little scary. It’s almost like you’re related or something…almost. 😉

    Your sister sound awesome! And like one hell of a strong woman. Hope you guys get to see each other in person soon! 😀

  19. cha Says:

    ohhh beautiful blog ! 🙂 i love to read personal stuff, sounds weird but it’s true. it’s always interesting as you guys are awesome ! 🙂 and please kate, i’d love to hear you speak german ! just for fun ! do you sound like elliot reid (sarah chalke) in scrubs (if you watch the show)?

  20. Bianca Says:

    This makes me miss my older sister. You guys seriously look so much alike. Love the pictures! Thank god for amazing sisters!

  21. Jaclyn Says:

    Awww, that’s really sweet. I wish I had an older sibling…or a sister…but instead I AM the big sister, lol, stuck with my younger brother (whom I love, but we are pretty much polar opposites)

    But yes, I agree with everyone else, you look really alike! Especially the smile.

  22. SisterFan Says:

    Pretty obvious that in addition to a great sister, you seem to have some kick arse parents, too, Kate. Seems like Gawd could not have chosen a better feller than your dad to head up the House of Hope projects in South Africa. Always good to get confirmation that She is not asleep on the job. 🙂

  23. Liz Says:

    Kate, this was such a beautiful blog entry. Your love you have with your sister defiantly came out in your writing and photos. She is beautiful both inside and out, and so are you. I wish her a safe return to the USA 🙂

    And I do have to agree, you guys look exactly alike 🙂

  24. E Says:

    That was a very nice thing you just did for your sister. You are both fortunate people.

  25. Kristi Says:

    I was blessed to meet your sister while visiting that European country in August. I stayed in the same house with her for 9 days. She is an awesome gal. She introduced me to your music – I love it. She is proud of you.

Leave a Reply

