Goodnessssss.

I am exhausted. Like…wowza…tired. I spent the week in Chicago hanging with my little brothers and dad while my mom visited my sister overseas. And let me tell you–I am NOT a mother, I do not have my own children but man, I LOVE my little brothers. They are 10 and so funny but man…they are sometimes a handful…and I am exhausted! I played pseudo mom–I made lunches, did carpool, was “cool big sister” at times and grouchy “evil big sister” at others…and bottom line is I am WIPED OUT.

So this is my official ROUND OF APPLAUSE to any and every mother, father, aunt, uncle, friend, sibling, grandparent or godparent that has ever raised a child or children.

Sit down and have a glass of wine on me.

I’m applauding you from my couch.

Below is a picture of me and my two brothers after they WON their football game!!! Woooohoo!!!! Yes, I made a homemade “TEAM RAPIER” shirt for my dad and me…how freakin’ handsome are my brothers? Β Sheesh. I love them….a lot.

Hugs & a wee bit of exhaustion πŸ™‚

-kate

27 Responses to “Goodnessssss.”

  1. Pam Says:

    omg stop it, that picture is TOO cute! and nice Starbucks. πŸ˜‰

  2. Mary B Says:

    Awww they are to cute! Tell them congrats on their win!! Woot Woot!!! Thanks for blogging!!

    P.s. I see starbucks kept you goin through the hussel and bussel of parent hood lol!

  3. Jennifer J Says:

    I have 2 Godsons I love them more than air… They are only 17 months and 4 months old. I know what you mean by wipped out I have no idea how my mom rasied 4 of us… really …. Your brothers look like they are ready for the NFL already πŸ™‚

  4. Danielle Says:

    Love how you capitalised ‘NOT a mother’. Y’know that really cleared up the confusion… LOL!

    But your brothers are CUTE!! And you totally look like the proud big sister in that pic! ❀ adorableness.

    And well done to your bro's on winning the game πŸ˜‰

  5. erin Says:

    CUUUTE picture.
    I work at a pediatric therapy clinic and everyday i get to see how far parents will go and how hard they will push to help their kids. its incredible. plus i watch a 15 month old all day long. it’s exhausting. he just runs…everywhere and gets into everything and is constantly threatening his own life by putting small objects in his mouth and trying to climb and jump off things. i love the little guy but at the end of the day i’m so glad i don’t have to take him home with me.
    congrats to the boys for winning!

  6. SarahLee23 Says:

    Love that pic, Kate! And your brothers are cutie pies!!!!!

    I won’t go into all the details here (besides, this isn’t about me, it’s about YOU two! LOL!!) but I pretty much had to raise my little sister on my own. There’s a 14 year age gap between us, so that helped. But you’re right – you get POOPED super fast! LOL!! I did have fun being the class “sister” who went on field trips and helped hold class parties. Crazy that she’s now a jr in HS!! Where does the time go! Enjoy the moments with your siblings because time FLIES by!!!

    Hugs,
    Sarah

  7. karina Says:

    I feel your exhaustion I don’t have kids but I live and have help raise my 2 nieces and its definitely tough but so worth it when they show u luv… your brothers are super cute… take care

  8. Erin Says:

    Ah they are so freaking cute! πŸ™‚ Kids are so much fun but definitely exhausting…After dealing with 21 First Graders all day, the only thing I want to do when I get home is take a nap! haha Hope you get lots of rest! πŸ™‚

  9. Shari Says:

    I think you did just fine with your brothers. They are adorable:) Love the shirt! I should do that for my nephews & nieces. However, I dont think they would think i was to cool for doing it:) Maybe the little ones but not the 12 and 14yr old. But I dooo love those Kids!

    Kuddos to all the mother and fathers!

  10. Riana Says:

    Awww so cute…I have to agree with u tho although u didnt mention it in ur post but d pic says it all…Starbucks makes d day

  11. Selena Says:

    Aww…(pseudo) Mama Kate! πŸ˜‰ I am NOT a mother either, but yeah, kids can be fun and a handful too! It sounds like you held your own though, and the boys probably enjoyed having their big sister around. Congrats to them on the win! Team Rapier rocks! πŸ™‚ Best wishes for plenty of rest and relaxation!

  12. crystal Says:

    such a cute picture!
    sounds like team rapier rocked this week!

  13. Khitam Says:

    My sister has five kids. They all came from Jerusalem and spent the summer with us. They left today and man oh man…I am exhausted. I dont know how my sister handles her kids ages 12, 10, 7, 2, 1…Just being around them is tiring..

  14. Jaclyn Says:

    Awww, cute.

    And totally agreed on the mother/father/etc thing…I don’t know how they do it. I used to babysit an 8 year old boy and a 4 year old girl and man, do they keep you busy. And that was only for a few hours at a time, I can’t imagine doing it 24/7. So kudos to all parents.

  15. Myriam Says:

    Ahhhh, THEY ARE SO CUTE!!

    And I’m with you- I have no idea how parents do it, but yay for them.

  16. Lauren 'Elle' Says:

    I work with 4/5 year olds at a school and every night I come home and am usually ready for bed by about 8PM. So indeed bravo to those who look after children 24/7!

  17. AuntieFan Says:

    Let me tell all you non parents a little secret (from somebody who is both an aunt and a mommy) — it’s actually easier when they are your own. Sounds funny, but it’s true. And it cracks me up when I hear (mostly non parents) say, “Oh, it’s so much easier being an aunt than a mom because you can give them back when you are done playing with them,” but I’m telling you — no joke — it’s easier when they are your own. I think it has to do with this idea that, at least in my case, I seem to have much higher standards when I am taking care of somebody else’s kids. Like I would much rather my own kid get that boo boo than somebody else’s kid who is in my care. Yes, being a mom is a lot of work, but taking care of other people’s kids is full on EXHAUSTING, especially when you don’t do it too often and don’t know each other’s idiosyncrasies or haven’t established some kind of routine, etc.

    So back atcha there, Kate, and all those people posting comments here about taking care of kids that aren’t theirs — *you* are the one who deserves that glass of wine. Kudos to you. πŸ™‚

  18. Anakellya Says:

    aww you are fabbbb. πŸ™‚
    and heyy heyy, i see a frappucino in your hand! πŸ˜‰ good lady.
    also congrats to your brothers for WINNING!!! (:

  19. Emzy Says:

    OMG kate im so with you on how much hard work kids are lol I have 2 brothers one 15 and one 12 and the younger one exhausts me. I just wanna take his batteries out at times and you know what…… They dont have any… who knew?! πŸ˜‰
    It just shows me how im so not ready for kids anytime soon, i like to hand them back LMAO

  20. HeinV Says:

    Aww! Cute! Why dont u like being a mommy? Bet you one day u’ll *love* it lol :> Just got to outsource all the hard work to the dad and grandparents! Simple!

  21. morganax Says:

    cute pic…and THANKS for seeing what moms/etc have to go through…completely different life! You think that is tiring, try being a mom of a kid with a disability! WHEWWW! So again a BIG thanks to you Kate for the praise!!

  22. Britt Says:

    Hey Kate!!! How awesome!!
    I’m going to be an au pair in the uk! So I’ll cause your applauding for me 2!!! Love your brothers! And go team rapier!!!

    Much love,

    Britt

  23. 1wildegirl Says:

    This made me laugh. Adding my applause and praise to all the moms out there. The Rapier Bro’s are beyond adorable! Congrats on their WIN!

    PS. Love the disclaimer. I had no idea people thought you had kids. Like, how big are your suitcases? πŸ˜€

  24. Boston_Holly Says:

    You are a good big sis, Kate. I bet your brothers loved having you around to play “Mom” for the week. And yes, it’s exhausting…but totally worth it. πŸ™‚

  25. Jennifer Says:

    Omgosh! Totally know what you mean! I looked after my friends cousins quite a few times while their parents were away and even with me and my friend looking after them we were shattered at the end of the week/two weeks.
    Those kids had INSANE timetables though their school was a 40 minute drive away and the kids had evening activities 4 out of 5 nights but some nights had separate activities in places miles away from each other! Each activity had different requirements/uniforms/kit each night Totally insane, that and we were both working while looking after the kids we died just a little.

    Just makes me realise how much I would never handle being a mum, I’m too selfish I like me time!
    My niece also recently moved in with us and as much as I love her she’s turning 13 soon and oh lord is she hard work!

  26. heinv Says:

    http://tracking.technodesignip.com/?action=count&projectid=642&contentid=6533&referrer=-&urlaction=r

Leave a Reply

