Christmas Decor!

This fabulous holiday season has already been so much fun! When I (kate) was in Illinois with my family for the Thanksgiving holiday (which was in and of itself AMAZING–so much goooooooood food) I helped my mom & sister put up the family tree! It was so fun seeing ornaments that I’ve been hanging since I was a kid.

We also did a little ornament decorating (my friend Gaby gave me this fun idea)–we decoupaged these tiny little wooden ornaments with old Christmas wrapping paper–we found the wooden trees/stars/angels, etc. at a local craft store super cheap. This is one I did:

My little brother liked docoupaging a little & then putting a TON of glitter on the reindeer…I thought it was a fabulous plan:

To get in the Christmas spirit, we also got a very awesome “Snowman vs. Santa” checkers game…lots of fun:

The night before I left, my mom gave me Β a bunch of left over Christmas decorations that she wasn’t using (YAY–thanks Mom) and all I’ve been doing for three days is decorating my house. It’s SO.MUCH.FUN. The best part thus far was picking up some cinnamon scented pinecones πŸ™‚ Now, every time you walk in it smells all cinnamony & good. It’s fabulous. I feel so blessed.

However, if someone doesn’t stop me soon I might become one of these people…they all started with good intent…haha…and then it turned excessive: Watch & learn.

So, don’t be surprised if you see me wandering the Christmas decorating aisles or holiday craft stores…or just aimlessly driving around neighborhoods after dark looking at the pretty lights–in the most very non-creepy-non-stalker-way possible.

Oh & I forgot…all hot beverages must be consumed from my cheery holiday mug that someone gave me a few years back πŸ™‚

Spread cheer people. Why not?

You know where I’ll be…

-kate-

21 Responses to “Christmas Decor!”

  1. Fiorella Says:

    “or just aimlessly driving around neighborhoods after dark looking at the pretty lights–in the most very non-creepy-non-stalker-way possible.” –

    This just made me smile πŸ˜€ Thanks Kate πŸ˜‰

  2. Nina Says:

    please come and decorate my flat. i sooo suck at this. but on the other hand i really like watching decorations and houses as well πŸ™‚
    it’s cool that those people excist.

    thumbs up to the creeps!

    xoxoxo
    nina

  3. Pam Says:

    I decorated my first Christmas tree last year (I’m Jewish), and putting on all of the ornaments was soooo much fun! maybe I should get a Hanukkah bush…..

    side note: the houses with the 48593498275984235 lights are really pretty, but before doing that to your house, think about the hefty electricity bill. πŸ˜‰

  4. 1wildegirl Says:

    Ha! Hilarious. I think Christmas might be the only time you can drive by houses really slow and stare without having people think you’re too much of a creeper.

    Am I the only one thinking of the Griswald’s Christmas lights now? πŸ™‚

  5. Jaclyn Says:

    There is one house in my neighborhood that goes way too crazy with the lights…not only is their whole house and yard covered with them, but half of them are those blinking lights…I’m just glad I don’t live across the street from them. My mom and I always drive around the other neighborhoods in the area to look at all the lights too.

    My roommate and I just put up our little Christmas tree…we live in an apartment so it’s small, but still very festive πŸ˜€ ..we went with a blue, silver, and white theme this year and I think it turned out pretty well. And of course mother nature has graced us with snow already…I could’ve waited a little longer for that haha

  6. Selena Says:

    I can see you’re feeling the Christmas spirit, Kate! Have fun decorating, but before you go all out like the good intent turned excessive folks, remember that taking down all those lights and such won’t be such merriment as just enjoying the finished product! πŸ˜‰

  7. Fiorella Says:

    i wonder if Jill will be shopping all day hah πŸ™‚ .. anyways .. KATE!!! your bday is coming haha Just saying πŸ˜‰

  8. Lauren Says:

    “The best way to spread christmas cheer is singing loud for all to hear…in the UK” okay, okay so I edited the quote slightly ;).

  9. Anakellya Says:

    Where is your JK mug, Kate? :O
    only kidding, I love your spirit! πŸ˜€

  10. John Ross Says:

    That is one massive mug

  11. H Nicole Young Says:

    I think it’s hilarious that somebody named “Ross” just commented on the size of your “mug”, Kate, because it brings back memories of that annoying psycho-analyst guy on Friends and what he said when they were all sitting around the coffee table at the Central Perk about their large drinking mugs. LOL

    So some of these pictures of over-the-top decorations give me an idea of what would result if Kate got together with Ashley D. and had offspring. As a not-so-big fan of putting up decorations, but a huge fan of seeing other’s decorations, I would bless this union, btw, with all the powers invested in me as Ashley’s designated love guru. πŸ™‚

  12. Fiorella Says:

    you’ve been decorating your house for 3 days… mhh :/ and i havent started yet hah… xD

  13. Amanda Says:

    Haha! I’ve been so stoked for Christmas since slightly before Thanksgiving. Yeah, I’m one of those people…

    My apartment is a winter wonderland. My roommate has gone a little excessive with the decorating, but I wouldn’t have it any other way!! Christmas just makes me super happy πŸ™‚

    Today I was out for a walk, actually, and the fact that it was snowing already put me in a fabulous mood… However, running into a billion Santas chanting “ho ho ho!” was pretty much the icing on the cake.

    http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs758.snc4/65811_464856896178_582561178_6209658_3716785_n.jpg <– The Santas. There was also a Buddy the Elf!

    Basically, Christmas is the best.

  14. Erin Says:

    As much as I dislike cold, I love the holiday season. It was the first major snow in Chicago today and I was lucky enough to get to trudge downtown to take the GRE! Woo! It was very holidayish walking around the city in the snow. I love it. And yes I just made up the word holidayis

  15. HeinV Says:

    Nice Christmas pics – u talking ’bout Gaby from Central, or another Gaby? Her boyfriend (husband now?) JP is quite the guitar guru, and his brother’s drumming’s wild! Well, nice Christmas blog, whether one celebrates it or not, it is still a happy time – even in Harry Potter 7! (although I didn’t like this last one so much – too much unhappiness). Don’t feel bad ’bout driving around aimlessly!! people do it just to get out a bit and think / meditate, and dream about how they want to build their own house one day, cause you’re in your own space in your car and you cn put the music up and even SING loudly w/out people thinking you’re weird (I mean, if you don’t eaxctly hav ur great voices!) But life’s too short for that any case. Merry Christmas!

  16. Dorthe Says:

    Happy SINTERKLAAS!!!!
    if you even know what that is XD
    nice mug!!
    X

  17. Erin Says:

    YAY i love Christmas time too!!! πŸ™‚

  18. Jennifer Says:

    Ah you have no idea how much I love this blog! The decoupage decorations is just the kinda idea I needed. I am planning this years x-mas meeting for my Guide group and I’ve been completely stumped on ideas.
    So far they are having an indoor “snow ball” fight which basically means they make news paper snow balls and have two teams against each other. Making x-mas cards and that’s about it, so decoupage decorations sounds like a simple but effective idea. πŸ™‚

    Hoping it might get me into the Christmas Feeling as I’m not much of a Christmas fan.

  19. HeinV Says:

Leave a Reply

