First Snow!

I woke up this morning and looked out my window to see the first snow of the season (in Nashville) falling from the sky! I got to see the first snow in New Hampshire last week so it is quite the snow-filled season for me thus far. Okay, so none of it accumulated, but still…

I am reminded of a scene from one of my favorite TV shows (Gilmore Girls…as you probably know)…so I’m going to share the video with you. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. If you’ve never watched this show, DO IT! Start at the beginning and you can thank me later. Here ya go. Lorelai smells the first snow of the season. Ah. We are so much alike. 😉

Back to my hot chocolate with mini marshmallows now. Seriously.

-j

20 Responses to “First Snow!”

  1. Fiorella Says:

    Finally the post is here haha. And jill you wrote it :O well enjoy your delicious hot chocolate… While im here laying in bed because i got a cold(in summer) weird right ?! Its summer in Peru and im sick xD

  2. Christina Says:

    YES THAT SCENE. lorelai + luke + snow = PERFECTION. i love how she tries to break up with snow later hahaha

    lucky you got snow…still waiting where i am 😦

  3. SarahLee23 Says:

    I remember living up north and being able to “smell” the first snow, too. Or maybe it was that gray color of the clouds that told me it was going to snow like crazy. LOL Either way, I hope you’re staying nice and warm! Always love to read your posts, too, Jill! Oh, and it looks like I need to start from Ep. 1 on the Gilmore Girls. LOL 😉

    Hugs,
    Sarah

  4. Fiona Says:

    I love Gilmore Girls and watch it in reruns all the time! This is one of my favorite scenes! Thank you for posting it and reminding me of snow! BTY the CD is AWESONE, I play it all the time in my car!
    xoxo
    fiona

  5. Selena Says:

    I think the first snow of the season here was the day after Thanksgiving. There’s been a few times since then, including today, but it didn’t amount to much. That Lorelai’s sure got a strong sense of smell, doesn’t she?! Well, enjoy the snow while sipping hot chocolate in your cozy home! 🙂

  6. Pam Says:

    please don’t shun me but i tried watching GG a few times and just couldn’t get into it. but i promise in the near future, i’ll try again. 🙂

    and feel free to pass that hot chocolate and snow over.

  7. Jaclyn Says:

    We had our first snow on Dec. 1st, which is pretty late for west Michigan, haha…considering it has snowed on Halloween before.

    And hot chocolate sounds really good, I might just go make some. It’ll ease the pain of 30 degrees and the 8-12 inches of snow we’re supposed to get in the next 12 hours.

  8. Amanda Says:

    My roommate and I have been watching Gilmore Girls nonstop since Thanksgiving. Productivity? Psssh overrated. TV on DVD may be one of the greatest inventions to grace this century. Also, yay snow! It finally snowed in Chicago a couple of days ago 🙂 Now to experience an east coast snow this season… Maybe for Christmas?

  9. Mary b Says:

    I saw it too, except at 12 midnight i’n good ole ky!! I work thrd shift so i was the first to see the first snow!!! lol AND i LOVE Gilmore girls!! My fave is suki she cracks me up!! My favorite episode is the thanksgiving one!! It’s hilarious!! And i swear I’m naming my first child lorelai!! Lol

  10. risty Says:

    Gilmore Girls was one of the best shows of all time! I love it and miss it on TV but have all 7 seasons on DVD. I have too many favorite episodes. One of my favorite was when the girls went to NY to see the Bangles, and Lorelai had to search all the apartments for the missing Madelaine and Louise. Such classics.

  11. H Nicole Young Says:

    I live in California, but I have had the good fortune of seeing snow coming down enough times to know I love it. Just looking up and watching it come down almost puts me in a hypnotic trance, like watching fish or watching make-up being applied (hey, I recently saw Taylor Swift mention in an interview that she loved watching make up being applied in these make-up videos, too, so I know I’m not that weird — or I know at least one other person in the world is as weird as I am, so okay).

    I was in Lake Tahoe once with my parents and my kids (just drove there for the day to play in the snow) and the biggest flakes imaginable (like half dollar size and bigger) started drifting down slowly, no wind. I just have such a wonderful memory burn from looking up at that sight with an occasional snowflake hitting me in the eye. And another memory burn — this time with the smell thing, so I think I get what Lorelai is talking about here, in hindsight — when I fell asleep in a hotel room in Lexington, Kentucky (I was interviewing for a job at U of K), and when I woke up, the first snow of the season was falling outside my window. I had a great view of the park below, green-turning-white, from the 7th or 8th floor. I remember the smell very distinctly now, though, and I think it was what Lorelai is talking about. How sweet! Thanks for posting this, Jill. Always fun to take a trip down memory lane with JillandKate. LOL

  12. H Nicole Young Says:

    Oh, man, as for the hot chocolate… damn, Jill. Hate to do this to you, but it’s a necessary evil for me, especially this time of year when it seems like I am completely surrounded by chocpires and vampolates…

    Back, I say, back away from me with that cup of hot chocolate, you vampolate! http://plixi.com/p/58382880 #notamoleculeofchocolate

  13. Marleen Says:

    Gilmore Girls.. I miss that show, loved every episode 😀 But hey, luckily we have re-runs and DVDs 😉 This scene is a classic.. thanks for sharing it! It’s been snowing here in The Netherlands too lately. Snow = magic.

  14. Nina Says:

    i love snow, it’s my favorite thing about the year band also when the leaves turn into that beautiful red/brow in autumn… thank god we have lots of snow this year!

    SNOW-FIVE!

    xo
    nina

    • Nina Says:

      ok i dont know why there’s a BAND in that sentence. ok just ignore that… maybe bc i wrote favorite… favorite band… whatever, i’ll stop now x)

  15. Boston_Holly Says:

    Snow TOTALLY smells. You just get that feeling, that whiff of snow, and then the flakes fall. i don’t like shoveling it, I don’t like commuting in it, but I really love the smell of it. I also think it’s funny that it snowed in Nashville before it snowed in Boston. Weird.

  16. Erin Says:

    I love gilmore girls. it makes my life. i am so sad that it ended. i was devastated.

  17. Callie Says:

    As you can probably tell from my email address (which I think you can see since this is your blog, even though it’s hidden from the general public), I LOVE Gilmore Girls. It has been my favorite show since I was 11 (I’m 17 now). And I live you even more now for posting that clip. I love Luke’s reaction in that scene & I love what he puts up with for the woman he loves 🙂 Haha, so yeah. I just wanted to comment on this to let you know that I am equally fond of this show you mention (although I doubt I’ll ever be able to “smell snow” before it comes, considering it doesn’t snow where I live). 🙂

  18. Emzy Says:

    We had tons of snow here last week but its going now, im sure more will be on the way 🙂
    Would love to see snow in Nashville, that would be amazing, dont think ill be getting any when im there in June tho LOL
    I love that gilmore scene, Lorelai has to be one of my fave characters ever in a tv show, love lauren graham 🙂 xxx

  19. Emma Says:

    I LOVE Gilmore Girls! It’s my favourite programme too! 😀

Leave a Reply

