Drinking This Christmas.

So, we’ve already addressed the enjoyment of the season and part of the fun is getting together at those smashing holiday parties…BUT…please, please, please do not drink and drive this holiday season. What we mean is…it’s never good to drink and drive, but it seems especially around this time of year people are party hopping, bar crashing and possibly having one or two egg nogs too many…so…don’t let that be you. Be safe. Because you are someone’s daughter or mother or sister or friend and you matter…and so do the people that you might hurt…

So….have a few extra bucks for a cab or call a friend and ask for a ride….even if someone called and I hated them…I would still go pick them up…and I know many people think the same way.

Life is precious & driving after drinking can take it away.

That’s all. Be safe. Have fun. And find some mistletoe! (Wink, wink, nudge, nudge!!!!)

-j&k-

15 Responses to “Drinking This Christmas.”

  1. Danielle Says:

    Wise words girls, very wise and true words.

    As for mistletoe?? HA. I’ll be lucky. That has about as much chance of happening as pigs flying LOL! I hope you girls find some tho πŸ˜‰ Maybe some lovey dovey songs will come out of it πŸ˜‰ wink wink nudge nudge right back πŸ˜›

  2. crystal Says:

    are there places to drink in nashville? πŸ˜‰

  3. cassieleetx Says:

    so sweet! i couldn’t have said it any better ladies! And, even if you’re the one on the road to pick up drunk friends/family, beware of those driving around you!! They may have a drunk driver behind the wheel even though you are not. This is all the scariest parts of the holiday seasons… but don’t let the scary parts overrule the happy thoughts πŸ™‚

    Wink wink nudge nudge back atchya for the mistletoe lol Let’s all hope we stumble upon one — it will be a first for me!! πŸ™‚

  4. SarahLee23 Says:

    Super great message!!! Yes, PLEASE don’t drink and drive, people!!! πŸ™‚

  5. Erin Says:

    Love this so much. I am proud to say I have never and will never drink and drive. There are so many options nowadays I just don’t get it, why someone would choose to do it. Plus it’s a completely selfish thing to do. Okay, i’m done πŸ™‚

    I’m off to find some mistletoe haha siiike i wish πŸ™‚ Good luck on that as well!

  6. Fiorella Says:

    Well im not a party girl but you’re right πŸ˜‰ new year is coming and we will say people like to party as if there were no tomorrow, hope you’re not one of those ;). Anyway, KATEEE YOUR BIRTHDAY IS COMING !!! Am i more excited than you ? Ok i will calm down πŸ˜€ cant wait for tomorrow’s blog. Goodnite

  7. John Ross Says:

    Your heads-up is appreciated. I will try to be the dedicated party-pooper, er – I mean driver.

  8. Jaclyn Says:

    Totally, 100% agree on not drinking and driving…I would NEVER do that. On Halloween I ended up sleeping on someone’s recliner and in my costume…in someone’s apartment, I’m not 100% sure who lived there exactly hahaha, no one stayed sober…it was a fun party πŸ˜›

    And ohhhhh mistletoe…that made for a really awkward moment back in my dorm days, but I won’t go there πŸ˜‰

  9. Fiorella Says:

    “That’s all. Be safe. Have fun. And find some mistletoe! (Wink, wink, nudge, nudge!!!!) ” — did santa send your present (hot guy) before Xmas ? *nudge* πŸ˜‰

  10. Erin Says:

    only if there’s an attractive single guy with a witty and sarcastic sense of humor that not everyone gets to match my own, who cooks and cleans, gives excellent back rubs, plays guitar, has some kind of accent where no matter what he says you can’t help but smile, and has that scruffy yet incredibly sexy look and a confident yet not overpowering vibe to him. only then will i stand under the mistletoe.
    of course ryan reynolds will work too…

  11. Selena Says:

    Ah, it’s like a J&K PSA! Good message, girls! It’s definitely better to be safe than sorry! If only everyone would just heed such a simple warning!

  12. HeinV Says:

    Thanks for the good advice – I actually sold my motorbike yesterday, and put the money into my new little Toyota Yaris car, which is musch safer. I’ve fallen off that bike twice (3 times now that I think of it), and it hurts like hell. My sister’s boyfriend was killed in a motorbike accident last week. Thanks for the good advice ladies: you must also take care! πŸ™‚

  13. H Nicole Young Says:

    Always a good reminder that can’t be stressed enough. That line about “call a friend even if you think they’ll hate you for it — they will come” is such an important message, too, and so true. Kind of reminds me of Pink’s song Sober — “don’t wanna be that call at 4 o’clock in the morning,” though I think the meaning might be different now that I am re-reading the lyrics in full context. Okay, well, I always thought Pink was referring to having to call somebody at 4am to come pick her up, so that’s my story for the purpose of this comment, and I’m sticking with it! LOL

    I would like to add some advice on trying to get plenty of sleep, especially before long hauls to visit friends and relatives for the holidays (or to attend distant concerts in Nashville :)) as sleepy driving prolly accounts for just as many, if not far more, accidents as drunk driving, especially in the winter when bad weather makes people pay more for sleepy mistakes on the road. Also be aware that we are approaching the Winter Solstice (Dec. 21/22, depending on year), so it gets dark out there pretty early for the next couple of months [and just don’t even get me started on Daylight Savings BS and why the clock is changed in the Fall to make the mornings lighter and the evenings darker when it’s the evenings where we need the most light for driving home when we are more tired, not to mention that changing the clocks is a bad practice anyway and always results in more accidents every time this happens, but I digress… (I can only juggle about five major battles at a time, so that’ll do with the Daylight Savings rant for now, LOL)].

    No rants about the mistletoe. Give it a chance, though. I’m sure with time I will stumble upon some big mistletoe scam going down somewhere that I can rant about. That is, until somebody hangs one over my head and kisses me to shut me up. That actually might work for me. Hmm. LOL.

  14. Fitzy Says:

    Please listen to the wise and wonderful J&K as my job as a Paramedic is hard enough as it is without the added heartbreak and work that drunk drivers cause. Be safe on both sides of the Atlantic! x

  15. myriam Says:

    Awesome reminder. πŸ™‚ I was hit by a drunk driver a couple years ago and he totaled my Jetta. Not cool. Other people have it worse though and don’t survive which is horrible. Don’t go screw up other peoples lives by making a bad decision.

    And all the sober drivers should be careful too- check rearview mirrors and such for the irresponsible drivers.

Leave a Reply

