Reindeer Cars

Okay people. I (Jill) grew up in New Hampshire…as you may know. Now, I live in the South and am learning new things everyday about how different parts of this wonderful country are. I love things about the South. I don’t love things about the South. Same goes for the North, the West, the Midwest…you get the idea.

This year, I am learning something brand new and I’m trying to decide how I feel about it. Here’s what I am learning:

People in Tennessee LOVE to turn their cars into reindeer this time of the year. I mean, they LOVE it. I have never seen so many cars decorated with antlers and red noses in my whole life.Β Is this a new thing? Or a southern thing that I missed the memo on? If you don’t know what I’m talking about, here are a few examples:

Cute or hideous? I don’t know. You be the judge. But I’ve been thinking about these things a lot because, well…they’re EVERYWHERE in Nashville. I even almost blogged about them a few days ago. So this morning, I was at a stoplight and saw something in the road in front of my car. What was it you ask?

ALAS:

Need a closer look? Okay, I zoomed in:

One lone antler! Stranded in the middle of the road! This was my sign that I needed to blog about reindeer cars today. So what do you think? Yay or Nay on the reindeer cars? You won’t be seeing my car pretending to be Rudolph, but maybe I will see yours and I will wave…because you know what? You are showing some holiday spirit and there ain’t nothin’ wrong with that.

Until tomorrow,

Jill (and Kate)

39 Responses to “Reindeer Cars”

  1. Jessica Says:

    hahahaha i saw SO many cars in nashville with reindeer horns! can’t say i’ve seen any of those up here in NY, lol

  2. ashley elayne Says:

    Oh man. I live in Georgia and I see these EVERYWHERE too. It’s always the minivans hahaha. My dad tried to do it to my Jeep and I told him I’d beat him haha. It’s such a mom thing. Little kids love it. But it is a little much… haha.

  3. Ayde Says:

    I think it’s an “acquired taste.” The more you see ’em, the more you tolerate ’em until you’re just like “Meh? What else is new?”

  4. Vincent Says:

    Hmmm. I dunno Jill, I think you’ve gone bananas. I was in Nashville and saw NO cars with antlers. None. That being said, it definitely sounds like something Nashville would do. It’s a very unique city to say the least. Safe travels and Merry Christmas πŸ™‚

  5. Melissa Says:

    Ya know…Nashville is where I see the majority of these reindeer cars. No where else in TN. I think a few people started it and then more people saw these cars decorated like this and then set out to do the same. The fad seems to be spreading like wildfire down here! I wouldn’t do it to my car, but it’s alright. Kinda funny if you ask me.

  6. Kimberlenn Says:

    Haha, well…I’m from Knoxville and I’ve seen them ALL my life. I’ve also had the privilege of seeing not only reindeer, but Santas, AND wreaths. I just always assumed it was normal, but I guess it’s not haha.

  7. Selena Says:

    Well, I’m from the southeast, and while I was already familiar with the concept of reindeer cars (or at least the use of antler accessories), I can’t claim to have seen many vehicles sporting these decorations.

    I’m pretty neutral on the matter. It’s just a bit of festive fun, but my car won’t be masquerading as Rudolph either, but I just might find it amusing on someone else’s, especially after this blog.

  8. crystal Says:

    you crack me up jill! i did see a lot of reindeer cars when i was in nashville. they have em here in illinois too, but not to that extent lol that’s hilarious that someone lost an antler though! i’d pass on making my car rudolph, but whatever makes people happy….we can still get a laugh outta it.

    • crystal Says:

      ….it would be pretty funny to put some on my dad’s car though…just to see what he does when he’s leaving for work. omg. he might kill me hahaha

  9. LauraBusta Says:

    One of those Minis dressed as a reindeer cut me off on the George Washington Bridge last week. I did not find it cute, nor charming. In fact it sucked all Christmas Spirit out of me for that moment and I greeted the driver with a special hand wave that involved only one finger…

    Those same people also put eyelashes on their Mini Coopers like this for the rest of the year: http://carlashes.com/

    That being said, my xmas spirit is back. I still don’t like decorated cars… But to each their own. Happy Holidays!

  10. Mary b Says:

    I’ve been dieing to get antlers for my car!!! But didn’t know where to get them!!

    I say CUTE and YEA!!!

    A Night for Hope!!

  11. Erin Says:

    I’m gonna have to go and say nay for the reindeer cars. If i’m being honest I think it is completed retarded haha and while we’re at it, no wreaths either thanksss

  12. Callie Says:

    Yay! They’re so cute! Although I’ve never personally encountered one!

  13. rhonda Says:

    i’m 100% southern and my feelings about car decorating are the same as my feelings about animals wearing clothes ——NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. Nina Says:

    well i’d say YAY to the antlers and NAY to the nose… wont put them on mine but i love seeing that on others too though πŸ˜€

  15. Danno Says:

    I saw those everywhere this weekend in Nashville! I don’t like ’em, but whatever floats their boat n’ stuff.

  16. Pam Says:

    really funny that you mention this because I saw a reindeer car for the first time this morning as I was driving to school! I think it’s cute but I would never do it.

  17. Danielle Says:

    I live in Canada and I can’t say I’ve ever seen one of these! But thank you lol I’m going to try and start a new trend next year…you know bringing the south to the great white north. So i say YAY

  18. Alison Says:

    They’re pretty much everywhere in Australia. I amnot a fan of them at all but that’s just my taste

  19. Holly Says:

    They’re all over NC too! I’m convinced it must be a southern thing. However, my car will never be decorated to look like Rudolph. I passed a car the other day with a miniature Christmas tree lit up on the front and one with a teddy bear. I vote we leave the decorations to houses/trees only..no cars.

  20. Stephanie Says:

    It has to be a south thing or TN thing I’ve never seen this!

  21. H. Nicole Young Says:

    We know you want to (well, okay, prolly closer to me alone wanting you to do it), so come on, Jill, do it, do it, do it! Especially if nobody in New Hampshire is doing it. LOL.

    Pretty sure that’s the real message from finding that lone antler lying helpless in the road, btw — that you should give that antler a home and find the rest of its family and put them on your car, too. Yup.

    I saw one of these for the first time while dropping the kids off at school last Friday morning (in San Francisco). Cracked me up. Loved it, but then it was the first time I saw it, too. It was not quite as good as the full-sized skelton I saw dressed up in SF Giants garb and riding shotgun (with a seatbelt on) in some guy’s car just before Halloween, but I still admire anybody with spirit enough to do whatever they want to their cars. I’m WAYYYYYYY too lazy (and kinda broke) to do something like this myself, but the kids know they can pretty much do whatever they want with my car if they can somehow procure the supplies on their own and leave me out of doing any of the work, so my car might be reindeered yet — and knowing my kids, it might even be some time during Easter week. You never know. πŸ™‚

  22. Shari Says:

    Must be more of a southern thing…

    I am not sure if I would be driving around them on my car but to each their own. They are definitely in the Christmas spirit;)

  23. Monica Says:

    I don’t think I’d like to see all of Santa’s reindeer on the street, but a little reindeer once in a while is cute. I saw one for the first time a few days ago and then I saw the reindeer kit at a store today. So…the verdict? It’s nice if not over done.

  24. Erin Says:

    i see them around chicago too. not as frequently because with all the snow and such, they don’t last too long. i think it’s cute. i’d never do it. but if you’re feelin it, go for it.

  25. cassieleetx Says:

    haha wow. i didnt know they put red noses on their grills! lol must be a nashville thing buuut in west Texas, I’ve seen cars with the antlers! haha idk how i feel about them yet… but i do admit i love the nose idea ha rudolf the red nosed car say what? lol

  26. SarahLee23 Says:

    Definitely has to be a “southern” thing – for as long as I can remember, people put Christmas wreaths on the grills of their cars here in Texas. LOL I don’t know how I feel about antlers on cars – that’s really “Dynasty” and “Dallas”-ish. LOL!! Like a longhorns on the front of a Cadillac! LOL!

  27. Abby Says:

    I read this as I was driving from southern ky to my moms house in ohio, and very much agreed with you, not sure if it’s annoying or cute. Then today as I’m riding with my mom to go Christmas shopping, listening to the songs on the 17th cd (no joke) I think “I should read mom Jill’s reindeer car blog…” Then a reindeer car turned a corner in front of us! I then took that opportunity to share the blog with my mom. She votes that they are cute, and had never seen one up north.

  28. Amy Says:

    So sad to report that the antler on the car trend HAS reached New England. Have seen more than a few in New Hampshire and Mass this year.

  29. I'm just sayin'... Says:

    First off, this blog is hilarious.

    Second, Reindeer cars?? Nay. u_u
    I live in San Francisco and have never seen a reindeer car. A simple festive wreath on the grill… Yes, but not a car masquerading as a reindeer. That’s just wrong! Like a dog dressed in human clothes. WE KNOW YOU’RE A DOG, YOU’RE NOT FOOLING ANYONE!
    If I were a reindeer I’d contact my union rep. u_u

  30. Amanda Says:

    I’m gonna say Reindeer Cars are a total win

  31. Danielle Says:

    Reindeer cars are NOT okay. They just look absolutely ridiculous – I mean, how can a car possibly look like Rudolph? I suppose that I do sometimes think cars look like they have eyes and a teeth (headlights and grill) but They will never look like a reindeer. NEVER. πŸ™‚

  32. Bianca Says:

    They are all over Sydney too..I think the world has gone reindeer CRAZY!

  33. Rebecca Says:

    haha. I love the idea of a reindeer car. I may have to do it next year. I think this might take off in every corner of the globe. Now a Santa Clause car would be hilarious.

  34. Lynda Says:

    omg, i saw one in auckland, new zealand the other day. looked out the back of our car and totally saw one. first time i had seen one here, and of course i had to see it after you guys mentioned it

  35. Roz Says:

    god bless you for this jill. 2 minutes worth of reading, 90 minutes (& counting) worth of laughs.

  36. Roz Says:

    ps – i am from new hampshire too… and missed y’all* at the river run back in 05-ish because I had a prior engagement with walking my dog.

    just thought i’d let ya know. i do love my j&k but i love my dog too.

    *also from new orleans, hence the LEGIT use of y’all, haha.

  37. hislovenduresforever Says:

    I think they are cute and my toddler LOVES them! We saw a car in a parking lot with the antlers and then ever since, she’s been asking to see more whenever we are out driving! I saw 4 more the following day, but she didn’t see them in time. So we turned to the internet so she could see some. Thank you so much for the pictures!

  38. Athena Says:

    Haha, my mom did that to her car last year and I was like “?” at first but I think it’s cute. Something about the reindeer car makes me giggle. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

