Sometimes it’s cheesy.

Nope, not talking about Gouda, Goat or Cheddar (de-dum-chhhh). Talking about cheesy moments that happen in real life. I recently updated a facebook status with three simple words: “I Love Music.” I know people know this…duh…I’m a musician…newsflash right? Well…I do. And it might be cheesy but I really do love music. Like…a lot. And I know my fellow music lovers are out there and know what I’m talking about.

True story…so you all know we’ve been watching One Tree Hill like maniacs and they have some seriously awesome music on the show (SERIOUSLY)…and I heard this song playing…whipped out my phone…Shazamed it…and discovered this artist:

I’ve been playing the song “Coffee and Cigarettes” on repeat…cause it’s hypnotic and sad and I LOVE the piano part.

Good times. So, I’m having my cheesy music loving moment. I’m so thankful I love music and that I get to make music.

Ok. Cheeesy moment over.

Who’s excited for the super bowl?

-kate (and jill too)

23 Responses to “Sometimes it’s cheesy.”

  1. Lauren 'Elle' Says:

    OTH has the most amazing music! I’ve fallen in love with so many new artists etc because of the show!

    I’m excited for the superbowl…mainly because of the glee episode but i’m still excited 😉

  2. Jaclyn Says:

    That show really does have the BEST music…I’ve made many a visit to http://www.oth-music.com/episodes.html to look up songs I’ve heard on the show 🙂

  3. Kirsty Says:

    I discovered Michelle Featherstone of OTH too! My fave is God Bless The Child! Amazeballs!! :)xx

  4. crystal Says:

    oth music ftw!

    who’s excited for baseball season? meee!

  5. Amanda Says:

    OTH has the best music!!!! Check out Bryan Greenberg aka Jake Jagielski!! Amazing 🙂

  6. Khitam Says:

    The link that jaclyn posted is one of my favorite sites. Every song from every episode! My itunes is exploding with awesome new music that I discovered watching One Tree Hill. It’s all Jenna’s fault for all this OTH madness but you know what? Im NOT even mad

    Love, Peace, Happiness

  7. Stephanie Says:

    OTH really does have the best soundtrack. I too have discovered so much music and so many artists that I now love because of the show. Love, love, love the show, and will be very sad when it ends.

    I second crystal’s excitement for baseball season! 9 days until pitchers and catchers report! Go Cubs!

  8. Fern Says:

    Nope it’s not cheesy…it’s pure passion! I’m glad you get to live your passion for music. I love music too, but I am imprisoned by a job in IT that is killing me! So, I am learnin to play guitar and that’s my escape! Well, that and losing myself in good music like yours and KC’s.

  9. Selena Says:

    Yes, awesome show with a lot of great music! Count me in as a fellow music/OTH lover! 🙂

  10. Allison Says:

    One of the reasons why I LOVE OTH so much is for the music!! Im not sure how far into the show’s seasons you ladies have gotten but later on around season 5 a musican named Kate Voegele and she becomes a main character ( that is all I will say, so I don’t give anyway any spoilers 😉 ) but you should check out her music now! She is AMAZING! I just saw her live last summer and she is truly talented! Just like you ladies!

    So what are you waiting for!?!?!? GO CHECK HER OUT NOW!!

  11. Erin Says:

    I love everything about this blog 🙂 I also love discovering songs on tv shows! Certain shows just have awesome music on them! Sometimes I won’t even really watch a show and I will have it on for some reason and hear a song I love and it makes me like the show! I feel that way with Grey’s Anatomy. I know a lot of people are obsessed but I never really got hooked but I watch it sometimes just to hear the awesome music they play! haha I don’t watch One Tree Hill but maybe I should!

  12. Miriam Says:

    Well, guess I’m a cheesehead too? True story, I actually bought the OTH Vol 1 soundtrack, actual CD. It’s really good. Especially loved Travis, Butch Walker, and Trespassers William. And I actually have been a fan of finding music thanks to TV shows. ‘Cause there’s just so many good band/artists. I second the Grey’s love as well. (The Civil Wars!)

    One of my other faves was The OC (was a bit obsessed, haha). But I found some awesome music thanks to that show: Rooney, Rachel Yamagata, Pinback, Jem, Dandy Warhols, (they even played Imogen!) So here’s a handy guide: http://www.musicfromtheoc.com/

    Happy Cheesy Listening! 😀

  13. Kirsty Says:

    Erin, I’m the same Greys Anatomy plays some of the greatest songs. Thistle And Weeds Mumford And Sons 🙂

  14. ashleyarrison Says:

    Aben and Michelle wrote a beautiful song together – He’ll have to play it for you! She is great!

  15. Pam Says:

    I’ve never watched OTH…. :X

    But I LOVE Shazam! They literally pick up any song…pretty amazing. and yay for discovering new songs! 🙂

    I’m so pumped for the Superbowl but only for the commercials…I don’t really care for either teams.

  16. Erin Says:

    go steelers! i hate the packers. it’s obvious i’m a bear fan.
    i get a bunch of tunes from tv too! grey’s anatomy and private practice mostly. they’re awesome at finding good tunes. it’s how i discovered andrew belle.

  17. Elise Says:

    Hey, k so for two british girls travelling the states, any chance you could explain how the superbowl works? We’re in Boston right now and are gonna head down to a bar on Sunday. All else fails we might cheer for some random team and hope someone corrects us ! Help?! x

  18. Elise Says:

    Oh and music is amazing. We’re not staying in the greatest of hostels and our iPods are keeping us going 🙂 x

  19. cassieleetx Says:

    I love all of the music on the show!!! i discovered so many good artists and songs just from watching it, it’s unreal. Michelle Featherstone is one of them. I’m actually going to use one of her songs as my wedding song (whenever that happens lol)… We Are Man and Wife…. soooo beautiful!! you’ll hear that in the later seasons 🙂 Another great one from her is Stay.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zcHCDbCKfg – we are man and wife

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xEoOg5AKEOQ – stay

    I hope y’all like them!! 🙂 i’ll tweet these links to you too ❤

    PS: checkout their three soundtracks –
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/One_Tree_Hill_discography

    just thought i'd leave you the hassle of searching for them. lol

  20. Samantha Says:

    That’s how I discovered Michelle Featherstone too. LOVE We are Man and Wife. Coffee and Cigarettes is another favorite of mine as well. You belong to me too.

    Anyways, awesome music. I discovered sooo many great artists from that show. Enjoy watching the show. It’s great.

  21. B. Ashley Says:

    OTH has the best music ever..y’all should hope on the bandwagon and get some J&K music on the show before its over..might be too late though but I hope not! you know what else is cheesey…THE PACKERS(hense the cheeseheads) GO PACKERS!!!! oooh and check out the band I work for here in town…BOMSHEL! tweet about them or something if you enjoy them..I know I’ve shared your music with them:) Can’t wait to see y’all again..oh and feel better girl!

  22. myriam Says:

    That singer was featured on Grey’s too. It’s called “Rest of My Life”. Good stuff.

  23. dfan Says:

    OTH Music is always full of EPIC wins!!!!! Just wait ’til you get to the season premiere of season FIVE!!! 😉 I, too, hope to one day use “We are Man and Wife” as my wedding song!!! You should also listen to Jack’s Mannequin! They’re amaze-balls!

Leave a Reply

