37 Years.

37 years is a long time. It also happens to be the amount of time that my parents have been married. 37 years ago today my parents made a promise to each other and have stuck to it. I’ve never been married, and well heck…I haven’t even been alive for 37 years but that is a LOOOONG time…and I wanted to say that I’m so incredibly thankful.

Being married for that long has to come with some serious rough patches here and there but they made it through and I couldn’t be more grateful to them for it. I am well aware of the divorce rate in our country and I know that homes with lots of love can fall apart…so again, I’m really thankful.

In my circle of people, it’s my goal to start celebrating anniversaries more…I mean…that’s a huge commitment…we are usually all about celebrating a birthday but anniversaries are generally looked over. Why is that I wonder? Cause I mean, to have another birthday you just have to focus on not getting dead. Just keep breathing for another year. But to stay married to someone takes work and you have to constantly choose to work at it and to stick with a promise you made to that person.

Anyway… I just wanted to take a second to acknowledge how proud I am of my mom & dad. 37 years. Can’t wait ’til 50….that party is gonna be huge.

xoxo

-k

14 Responses to “37 Years.”

  1. Keri reck Says:

    That’s cute!! And oh, I’m coming to that 50th party!

  2. Jaclyn Says:

    Congrats to your parents!! My grandparents just celebrated their 59th anniversary yesterday. It’s amazing how long love can last…if the work is put into it πŸ™‚

  3. Selena Says:

    Congratulations and Happy Anniversary to Mr. and Mrs. Rapier! My parents have been married almost as long as yours, Kate. In a matter of months, they’ll be celebrating their 36th! πŸ™‚

  4. Melissa Says:

    Wow. Impressive. Congrats to them!

    Also…”focus on not getting dead”? Hahaha that made me laugh.

  5. Erin Says:

    That’s amazing! Congratulations to your parents. Mine have been married for 30, and most of my friend’s parents are divorced, so I feel pretty lucky and thankful as well.

  6. Regine Says:

    Congrats to your parents, Kate, on 37 years as husband and wife, and equally important, as a family! πŸ™‚

    My parents have been married for 26 years. I’m so thankful for that because I also realize the amount of work and love it has taken them to make it this far. Two years ago I was also lucky enough to celebrate my great-uncle and his wife’s 50th anniversary with extended family. It was so amazing to hear of the sacrifices and hardships each of them had made for their family and see them make it that far!

    It’s good to know that there are still people who don’t marriage so lightly and flippantly as we often see it play out.

  7. Amanda Says:

    I love it. Beautifully put, Kate.

    I remember my grandparents 50th anniversary. We had a HUGE party for them, for sure. I mean, duhh… they survived 50 years, plus 12 kids? They definitely deserved a party. Actually, they might have deserved sainthood, especially with some of my uncles. Haha!

    My parents are celebrating 25 years together this year. Something I cannot fathom (yet). I hope I find somebody that I love that much one day. Seeing my parents look at each other the same way (I imagine) they looked at each other 25 years ago? Beautiful. Just beautiful. I’m saying beautiful a lot, but seeing older people in love really makes me so freakin’ happy. The 80 y/o couple at the park? Out to dinner? At church? Warms my heart.

    Anyway, congrats to your parents!! They have a lot to be proud of πŸ™‚ Hope they have a wonderful day!

  8. directorSandy Says:

    Congratulations!!
    Could you say Happy Anniversary to your parents for me. β™₯

  9. Erin Says:

    Wow. 37 years sounds like SUCH a long time! That’s really an accomplishment! Congratulations Mr. and Mrs. Rapier! In a society where wedding vows seem to be taken with a grain of salt and the “starter marriage” is all to common, it’s wonderful to hear about people being married, and still happy & loving each other after over three decades!

    My husband and I will be celebrating 5yrs of marriage in August and we’re very proud of that. Out of all our friends, there’s only one other couple that is still married. My parents (my mom and step-dad) have been married 13yrs and I am so inspired by them. With a divorce rate of well over half in America, it’s so nice to hear about couple that have been married as long as your parents have.

  10. Nettey Says:

    you’re totally right…we don’t give enough props to people who make their marriages/relationships last. my folks celebrated their 35th last october and we had a lovely celebration to honor them. i’ve seen my parents go through the highest of highs and lowest of lows in their marriage, but they still managed to keep it together.

    congrats & happy anniversary to your parents!!!!

  11. Mary b Says:

    Tell them Congratulations!!! And thanks for giving people like me hope that couples can stay together forever!!

  12. Stephanie Says:

    Happy Anniversary to them! I was divorced, got married too young etc. I got remarried last year almost a year March 31! I can say it’s different this time around and it’s hard work no matter how much love there is. We need to treasure every mile stone and be grateful for what and who have!

  13. Boston_Holly Says:

    Congrats to your parents! My parents met when they were 15, have been married for 41 years and they’ve taught me that in order to make a marriage as wonderful as it should be it takes a lot of hard work, a little luck, and tons of patience! πŸ™‚ Sounds like your parents know the secret as well! πŸ™‚

  14. Username Says:

    You’re right. My parents will have their 33rd wedding anniversary on March 25th. Unfortunately my dad died completely unexpectedly on January 28th. So it really has brought to light what an achievement that kind of time together actually is. It’s just a shame he didn’t get to see it!

Leave a Reply

