POP!

In honor of POP SONG coming out next week…

Why do we love the word “POP“..? Let us tell you the many reasons why…

1. POPcorn: There is no better food to eat during a movie. It goes perfectly with M&M’s. Nothing beats popping it on the stove old-fashioned style. You can make it into balls, make caramel popcorn, microwave popcorn…you get the idea…

2. POPsicles: The perfect summer treat. There is a popsicle shop in Nashville called Las Paletas that makes all of these obscure flavored popsicles like wasabi, avocado, and plain ones too…like chocolate-mint which is Jill’s favorite. There’s nothing like a sticky, sugary, ice-cold popsicle in the heat of the summer. (And if you live in Nashville, check out Las Paletas on 12th Ave South!)

3. Kellog’s Corn POPs: The cereal. Gotta have my Pops. Come on.

4. Dirty POP: Who doesn’t love some old school NSYNC??

5. POP rocks: Actually, I (Jill) cannot stand the way Pop Rocks feel in my mouth…it makes me want to scream and spit them out all over whoever convinced me to try them. However, you gotta admit, they are pretty darn cool. When I was in Junior High, we would walk next door to Cumberland Farms when school got out and sometimes I would buy them just to be cool. Peer pressure gets the best of us all at times.

6. POPples: Didn’t we all LOVE Popples as kids? I had a white one with a blue stomach. Remember how you could turn them inside out and then suddenly they were balls? Ingenious!! There were big ones, little ones, all different colored ones…where did all the cool toys go? Now it’s all Wii-this and XBox-that. Popples were where it was at.

7. POP goes the weasel: A classic. That’s the way the money goes….POP goes the weasel. Gotta love this song.

8. POPper Stopper: It cuts out the thump of the “p” or “b” sound that comes out while you’re recording. May sound uninteresting to some, but has saved us many times.

9. POP-up video: Coolest show VH1 ever had. The jingle was great too…I wish this was an audio-licious blog, because I would totally sing it for you. How would we ever know that the Spice Girls came up with their own alter ego names without Pop-Up video?

10. Mary POPpins: I’m not gonna lie. I tried watching this movie a few years ago and couldn’t even make it through the first 20 minutes. I guess it’s one of those movies that was cool when you were a kid and then when you try it later on, the magic is not quite as…magical….BUT…a spoonful of sugar will ALWAYS make the medicine go down no matter how old I am.

These are all the reasons that we love the word POP. Soon there will be a #11…and it will be this:

Have a POP-filled day. 🙂

-j&k-

19 Responses to “POP!”

  1. Mary b Says:

    LOVE!!

    Can’t wait!

    Whoop!!

  2. Blythe Hall Says:

    Pop Rocks are amazing! they’re not called that in England haha but I know what you mean 🙂

  3. Fiorella Says:

    Haha fun blog. And jill, im with you about Pop rocks haha 🙂

  4. Selena Says:

    Wow, after reading this blog, it’s no wonder that word is so POPular with y’all! 😉

    Oh, and I thought of another I think you’ll enjoy: POP Tarts! 🙂

  5. ChasingStorms Says:

    OMG! are you bashing MARY POPPINS??? i might gonna have to sit on you if i ever gonna see ya! NOT COOL! haha

    but pop – first thing in my head – Pop Rocks! AMAZING! like the feeling A LOT ahaha!

    i appreciate you two (and Pop-Song)! that’s all. nothing else 😀

    xoxo
    -nina

  6. Jaclyn Says:

    NSYNC FTMFW…I still listen to them…regularly…hahaha…in 5th grade I even had a folder with all their faces on it and I drew a heart around JT’s face with sharpie (which never stayed on because it was one of those glossy folders)…those were the good ole days.

    Also, Pop Rocks…I’m with you Jill…I never liked them…who would like a candy that felt like it was attacking the inside of your mouth?

    • Melissa Says:

      Right?! Same here! Which…is funny now for those that know me ha.

      Popples were awesome! I loved them when I was a kid!

  7. Miriam Says:

    Jill! You have got to blog more often! Totally made me nostalgic for all the old things. Now it’s all Wii-this and XBox-that. Word. Sad!

    More Pops: Pringles. Once you POP, you can’t stop! POPcap Games, saved me from boredom plenty of times. And of course, My lipgloss, it’s POPping. :mrgreen:

  8. gypsygies Says:

    You forgot POP itself…which is what anyone not from the south would ask for at a restaurant. Mt Dew? = Pop. Pepsi = Pop. Yes yes shortened from “soda pop” (shortened from bicarbonate of soda…?) and all you weird southerners (ahem) took the other half instead. Soda. Like a silent ongoing North/South war still, really. “Oh Yeah?!? You want POP?!? Well we’re confiscating the OTHER half then and it’s SODA! No sharing”. A bad divorce agreement.

    Now I’m rambling. lol So long as you don’t flat call everything a “Coke” like some places here in Texas. We Pepsi/Dew drinkers HATE that.

  9. Jessica Says:

    sick and tired of hearing all these people talk about, “what’s the deal with this POP life, and when is it going to fade out?”

    love 🙂 brought me back to my twelve year old self as I pined over these young men!

  10. Pam Says:

    Wow no one will read this, but I’ll enjoy typing this regardless 🙂

    1. I literally ate 3 bowls of popcorn today. #notmad (yes I had to use a hashtag, who doesn’t these days??) I love those popcorn balls that are sold around Halloween. Almost better than candy……almost.

    2. My favorite popsicles are the red, white, and blue firecracker ones. SO GOOD.

    3. I think the part about Corn Pops that I enjoy the most is the foil-ish bag. (Is that weird? Probably). but I bought a box a few weeks ago and it now comes in the regular plastic bag…sadness 😦

    4. Really…who doesn’t like NSYNC?! I mean, what’s the deal with this Pop life and when’s it gonna fade out? Seriously…

    5. I like Pop Rocks, but I prefer Rice Crispies. Gotta love the snap, crackle, and pop!

    6. POP UP VIDEO IS ONE OF THE BEST SHOWS EVER. I still catch it sometimes on VH1 Classic. “oooooooohhh….POP UP VIDEO.” Such a great theme song.

    8. I saw Mary Poppins on Broadway last year. I wasn’t too into it, but it was cool to have the actors flying across the entire theater.

    • Pam Says:

      clearly I can count. 6….8…..yup.

      • gypsygies Says:

        I read it. =)

        And I’m sad to hear that Corn Pops doesn’t come in the foil anymore. I haven’t bought any for awhile but yeah – loved that. Bummer!

        I find myself suddenly craving popcorn…

  11. Danielle Says:

    I miss Pop Up Video SO MUCH!! Ahhh best show ever. And I used to be able to do that ridiculous dance those NSCYNC boys did in their POP video. Popcorn is the best, and Las Paletas is thebomb.com. bahaha

  12. Whitney Says:

    Mmm, pop rocks, I haven’t had those in ages!
    My sister had a popple, she’s only 5 years older than me so I took hers temporarily until ninja turtles stole my heart. 🙂

    DEFINITELY miss Pop up Video. Great music AND educational.

    I liked Dirty Pop, but now all i can think of is the Will & Grace episode where Jack did the exact dance. 🙂 Ah good times…

    What about Tootsie POP? “Mr. Owl how many licks does it take to get to the tootsie roll center of a tootsie pop?”

  13. MJ Says:

    You had me until #4 – Dirty Pop, NYC, but #8 – POP- Jill’s recording studio pic brought me back.

    Seriously, no love for Mary Poppins? There’s layers in there, man. Restoring family harmony where once there was discord and strife? Plus cute tunes, dancing chimney sweeps, flying nannies, and sidewalk chalk love? YES, PLEASE!!!! There is still lots of magic for me in Mary Poppins. I’m just sayin’.

  14. Erin Says:

    agreed. i totally forgot about popples. haha awesome.

  15. Elaine Says:

    Corn Pops & The Popples!!! Love it!!

Leave a Reply

