Once Upon A Gym.

The gym is a funny place. I actually really like working out–it releases some sort of natural zen that helps me feel normal and happy. I enjoy taking out all sorts of emotion at the gym–from rage/anger to euphoria/happiness…it all comes out at the gym from time to time. I genuinely love that tuckered out feeling at the end of a hard workout. It’s good times for this kid.

Something funny I’ve noticed is how many people are checking each other out at the gym…nothing new there right? Right. Well, I’ve never met anyone of the opposite sex at the gym cause when I am sweaty, look like my head might explode from heat, and probably smelling a little funky…I’m not exactly enthused to put myself out there and try to find Mr. Right.

The gym can actually be quite a vulnerable place. People can learn a lot about you on those machines…you have to enter some personal info…some that I don’t really want the person/people next to me to see. Example: you get on a machine…first question…how long do you wanna go on the machine? Ok–this one isn’t so bad…but if people are watching…you might bump up that 15 min on the stairmaster to 20. Just me? Ok…moving on. Then they want you to enter your weight. Oh geez. At this point I’m starting to look around and see if anyone is peeking at my screen. The default number is low so you hit the arrow button up and every time it beeps. Up, up, dang it, why doesn’t it go up in incriments of 5’s. Beep, beep, beep, beep. Oh shoot. Anyway….Then they want your age. And it automatically starts at 20 so again I’m left hitting the up button, beep…beep…beep….beep…the incessant beeping of the last few minutes has caused people to turn, stare…oh man…uncomfortable for sure.

Yeah…the gym is a funny place…and a place where people can learn a lot about you…without you necessarily wanting them to. Whatever. The weirdest thing I ever saw on a gym TV was this:

HAha…yeah…that was funny!! I was working out and looked down & I was like…THAT’S ME!!! Woohoo!

What about you…do you like going to the gym? What’s your deal? Yes, no?

39 Responses to “Once Upon A Gym.”

  1. Danielle Says:

    hahahaha as if they played the Ellen performance. Its like they knew you were coming LOL. Funny story. I’ll go to the gym with you any time Kate πŸ˜‰

  2. Mary b Says:

    My first reaction…. HECK NO!! The gym is just a place where people who are in better shape can look at people like me and be like “why are you in here? Does she even know how to use the machines?” lol its awkward for sure!

    Buuut then I think well if I go with some friends it could be a fun experience!

    A nice quiet brisk nature walk is the extent of my exercise routine! : P

  3. Leah Says:

    The gym is okay as long as you have someone to go with! Haha I’d much rather play actual sports and burn calories that way! πŸ™‚

  4. Fiorella Says:

    Beep beep beep….. Thats why i prefer to work out @ home πŸ˜‰ haha!

  5. tal0424 Says:

    i would totally froze if that would ever happened to me…LOL πŸ™‚

  6. frenchcha Says:

    Really funny blog to read, Kate !!! I can’t go to a gym in my town (for many reasons… it’s expensive and I don’t have enough time). Now, I know what it’s like ! lol So thank youuu ! And you’re not an old lady. Not even 30 !!!

  7. T Says:

    Haha as a gym fanatic I know exactly how you feel Kate. I always feel awkward putting in my weight and feel like someone is most likely watching me do it (even though no one probably is). Like you, I love the feeling you get after working out: euphoria, happiness and a sense of accomplishment. It’s a great way to take out my emotions in a healthy way. Plus, I like to eat all sorts of food and hate to diet. So, I guess you could say I workout to eat! πŸ™‚

  8. Popester Says:

    The only reason I like going to the gym is because they have the medicine balls I love doing sit ups with. I should really invest in one… Ellipticals are really my favorite, though, because they take the pressure off your knees and you can go forwards and backwards.

    Ideally, though, I love my jogs outside taking in the fresh air. However right now, the cicadas are HORRENDOUS and make me want to stay inside where I’m safe and free of them. πŸ™‚

  9. Erin Says:

    haha this was really funny! I just joined Lifetime Fitness about 2 months ago and I am really loving it! It doesn’t help that it looks more like a spa then a gym haha but I am surprised by how much I enjoy going! I don’t really notice people watching me haha i don’t think anyone really cares but if they were i’d totally tell myself ‘at least i’m here trying to be healthy.’

    My absolute favorite thing about the gym are the men who come in and go straight to the weight machines…except instead of just going right into it, they have to survey the machine and pace back and forth in front of it before starting haha its pretty amazing and happens pretty much every time haha ridiculous.

    thanks for this lovely blog. i think im gonna go hit the gym up now! πŸ™‚

  10. Jennifer Says:

    Yep love love love it. Been a dedicated 5 days a week goer for 2 years now. It’s addicting. Like you said it’s just such a great release. Sometimes you just need to run and run and run. That’s probably my favorite. But seriously the best way to take out the frustrations of a bad day is at the gym. The feeling of accomplisent is AWESOME!

  11. Miriam Says:

    HA! I’m with you on enjoying the gym…for the intended purpose of working out. Not exactly there to meet anyone. The worst, imo, are the girls who you can tell that is the only reason they come. I mean, who wears a full face of make up to work out?! And then, you can smell their perfume 5 ellipticals away…like, for real? Or is this only a Southern thing?

    Personally, I zone out with my music, which has lead to many a time when I’ve caught myself doing the Single Ladies dance on the treadmill. Yes, seriously. And y’all might have already joined me at the gym…when I’ve busted out some You Never Know or Don’t You.

    Tho, I might be guilty of checking people out at the gym…and I’m positive I’m not alone in that. So fess up. πŸ˜‰

    • jillandkate Says:

      What are some other great workout songs?

      • Miriam Says:

        First, y’all are replying?! How did I miss that memo? πŸ™‚

        For me, the best workout songs are the ones that make me wanna dance (MOVE!) So many songs, but here’s a starter: Beyonce is usually a good source, especially Get Me Bodied (“A little sweat ain’t never hurt nobody!”) and Ring the Alarm. Lose My Breath, Ciara – Work, Missy Elliot – Lose Control, We Run This. DJ Unk – Walk It Out, Outkast’s B.O.B, BEP – Pump It, SexyBack, Baby Got Back (because I never hear that song and not dance.), Usher’s Yeah.

  12. Elena Says:

    Great Blog and awesome entertainment while working out.

    I miss the gym. When I was in the military without kids, I could live in the gym. I loved watching all the folks check each other out. Fun Times.

  13. MissingTrain Says:

    Thanks for the blog. Really enjoyed reading it, omg the pic πŸ˜€
    I like working out, but I donΒ΄t like the gym because… yeah, so many people, so many situations to make fool of myself.. NOO never πŸ™‚

  14. beth Says:

    All of that is sooooo true…y do the machines have to beep LOL..Omg that’s so cool seeing urself on the gym tv..what a high..I was over at Kristy and Kelleys house from Bomshel and their video came on GAC and I’m like hey ur on tv…it was the coolest feeling..u should check out their music..anyway I gots to hit the gym now ..Ttyl maybe ill see ya on my tv!!

  15. gypsygies Says:

    I love going to the gym.
    Can’t afford the gym membership though πŸ˜₯
    So kinda getting fat n lazy b’c it’s WAY too HOT (& humid) outside in Texas to work out out there.

    !

    But I do love that feeling at the gym when I can feel my muscles working and I start to sweat – it inspires me more. Figuring out those machines is definitely not natural knowledge to me so I’m the one standing skeptical and confused looking at some odd machine. And anymore gyms are getting so PUSHY trying to get you to pay for more More MORE shit – they practically *insist* you have to have a personal trainer, pay for a bunch of special classes, etc. ugh

  16. Marissa Hunsberger Says:

    LOVE the gym!! for the very reasons you said- love the adrenaline and the feeling of getting stronger. If I don’t get to go for a few days I feel tired and slow. At least the machines here in Belgium don’t beep up and down-you can just punch in your number-otherwise that step might take a while for me!

  17. Jaclyn Says:

    That would be trippy…seeing yourself on the tv at the gym haha.

  18. Amanda Says:

    I love the natural high that exercise provides, however the gym and I have a love/hate relationship. We have a full (and amazing) gym in my apartment building, so I don’t have to go too far to get there (just up a couple of floors). It’s nice for the days I’ve been a bum all day and need to do something to feel good about myself. Haha!

    Usually though, I get wicked ADD on the machines. I prefer classes and team oriented workouts… which I used to be shy about, but I figure, are people really judging me? Probably not. If they are, they’re probably people I shouldn’t really waste my time on anyway, right? We’re all there for the same thing, so I don’t mind it anymore. Speaking of, I just signed up for some boxing classes for the summer. My wallet is feeling lighter already, but hopefully my body will follow suit. Haha!

  19. Jennifer Says:

    I LOVE the Gym, I signed up for a membership in January after a friend of mine convinced me to be her Gym buddy, I always thought I wouldn’t like I don’t know why but the idea of working out trying to get rid of my flab in public was really daunting I love it now though.
    Was quite worried about going off to America this summer and slipping out of my Gym routine, turns out my Camp I am going to work at has a brand new Gym just installed *dances* Guess where I am going to be before Breakfast and at the end of the day!
    I do the thing though when I will increase my time or if I’m doing my set workout I will increase my effort levels if people come on the machine next to me.

  20. Selena Says:

    There is a certain satisfaction that comes from earning sore muscles, but I prefer to stay fit outside of the gym. I do the bulk of my exercise at home. I save a lot of money and time that way. Plus, I’m able to avoid the awkwardness you described! To each their own. πŸ™‚

    • jillandkate Says:

      I love this…”a satisfaction that comes from EARNING sore muscles…” Well said!! You gotta work for it!

  21. Stephanie Says:

    In my experiences the gym is filled with perverted old men or juiced up meat heads….I have invested in my own equipment for my house so I don’t have to be tortured in going anymore! πŸ™‚

  22. Jasmine Says:

    Pure AWESOMENESS!

  23. Erin Says:

    I used to work out at the university gym back in the day when i was in college. Super awkward. I understand the beeping. Plus its awful when people are waiting because all the treadmills are taken. You feel like you’re being hunted. Luckily I’m at home now. My mom’s a workout fiend and so we have a treadmill, stairmaster, elliptical, weight machine, and bowflex in our basement. Plus medicine balls and a ton of free weights. Basically, I don’t have to worry about it anymore. The only one who has to endure the smelliness and hot mess that i turn into during/after my workout is my dog. πŸ™‚

  24. Boston_Holly Says:

    Ahhh the gym. A social experiment in the making. I LOVE trying to sneak a peek at what other people are watching on the TV’s. I never understood watching the Food Network while working out…it seems sort of counter-intuitive and kinda torturous. Sometimes I just have to take note of the women in their late 50s early 60s watching the Jersey Shore of the 40-something guy watching reruns of Full House (Cut.It.Out). Very amusing. And then I shamelessly judge them while I try to appear intellectual and put on MSNBC. Oh, and that getting in shape thing is worthwhile too.

  25. E Says:

    I will one up you on the awkward meter. The up and down arrows do not even begin the awkwardness.
    How about when the gym is at your office? 4th floor anyone?

    Several times I have been in the middle of a workout — usually about the 20 minute mark of a run when the big shot executive that I have a meeting with the next morning gets on the treadmill next to me. Conversation? No. That is not appropriate. Just a slight nod of recognition and then back to the gasping for air.
    Or in the spin class when a hot co-worker has the bike BEHIND you!?!?! — AWKWARD.

    But at the end of the day, the endorphins and adrenaline more than compensate for the slight uncomfortableness. Except when they ask me not to sing so loud πŸ™‚

  26. Regina Says:

    my gym’s pretty neat, planet fitness…only $10 a month; you can’t beat that. even if i go once a month, i feel like i’ve gotten my money’s worth, haha. i do enjoy working out, it’s just a matter of finding the motivation to physically bring myself TO the gym…once I’m there it’s work-out mode. it’s definitely a stress reliever and i don’t feel like a complete waste of life if i happened to be a coach potato all day, haha.

    weird thing (but not as weird as seeing myself on a TV screen at the gym)….my gym offers free pizza on the first Friday of every month. I’ve noticed guys lift weights, then walk over to the table and scarf down a couple slices, and continue their workout. does anyone else find it bizarre and unsanitary? wouldn’t free fruit or vegetables make for a healthier choice? and at least have a hand sanitizer pump on the table.

    • jillandkate Says:

      Ahahahaha…”at least have a hand sanitizer pump on the table.” That’s funny–you go to pick up some weights & there is grease marks from the cheese–gross!!

  27. Michelle Says:

    Have to agree… I totally love the gym but unfortunately my busy days only allow 5am workouts … bleurgh! So my ‘gym’ is now on the weekends and involves an intense workout for a whole morning and the bonus is i get to add on layers of clothing (Yay for hiding everything)… and i get to do it all out doors…!
    …..I blame it on a freak attack of working 12 hour days in a boring office…. i went out and bought a dirt bike and ride motocross socially with a bunch of wives and daughters.

  28. Karen Says:

    I can only get myself to the gym if my friends go, which sounds really bad, but I almost need the peer pressure to motivate me to go. Also, when I get home from work I would much rather watch series than work out. πŸ™‚
    I get what you said about entering your weight… Luckily on our machines you get to enter your weight by numbers and not by arrows, but I always feel like someone is watching…
    Otherwise, I actually like going to the gym and the feeling of accomplishment you have afterwards, it’s just the getting to the gym that’s difficult for me. πŸ™‚

  29. Jenny Says:

    haha thats a great story!! i prefer to work out at home. i try to set out time during the day to go down and work out. sometimes my day is too busy and i can’t. i also feel better after too, its a feel good kinda feel. if that makes sense. hope you have a great holiday weekend!!

  30. nataliana3 Says:

    I’ve noticed that a lot of people go to the gym in America! I guess it’s not that common here in Poland.. and I am no exception.. I also do not go to the gym.. what’s more.. I’ve never been there! but you have so many funny stories connected with that place so I guess one day I will go there just to check if you are telling the truth haha

  31. Shari Says:

    I only go to the gym because I have to;) I think about all others watching while entering in that information! But if you want accurate summary you have to enter it all in..boo!

    One thing is forsure you definitely feel better after your work out and exercise makes you have more energy. I hate strength training and that is definitely easier with some one else..My soccer coach in highschool always used to say “No Pain NO gain” So I always try to remember that. Just like I got sore from busting a move the other night and we were joking with that statement…I know loser for getting sore but hey we were having fun and I think I was lacking a little hydration!

    I do like when there is a hottie that works there as it adds even more reason to go;)

    I do get some odd ones that tend to work out next to me quite often. This one guys makes this groaning/whoosh sound(almost like a big burst of o2) sound all the time and it litterally makes me want to scream. I am assumming he cant help it, so I try to be understanding;)

    Love you blog!

Leave a Reply

