Encore

Sometimes we do funny things. Like, play a show and then go to the sidewalk and play another song just because we didn’t play a certain song that someone really wanted to hear. Recently we did this. Someone who was gracious enough to capture our little venture on the streets of NYC posted the video somewhere and it made us smile so we thought we’d post it here (thanks btw to whoever filmed this & put it up on Youtube. Aces.).

There are a few funny things you need to note while watching: 1) the sound of loose change being thrown at us and hitting the ground 2) the nice lights that just go completely off over our heads about halfway through 3) the laughter that is trying to be contained by both of us as drunk on-lookers stumble about yelling asking if they’ve missed “something amazing.”

So. Watch. Laugh. Listen.

-j&k coming soon to a street near you-

18 Responses to “Encore”

  1. Jamie Says:

    I am so classy in this video.

  2. Amanda Says:

    I’ve had quite a bit of wine tonight, so words are hard (as in I didn’t really read this blog). HOWEVER, I have seen this YT video and it’s beautiful. True story. I’m jelly I didn’t get to witness this. But seriously though, you’re like real life street performers. Badasssss. Okay. Anyway! Cheers!

  3. Lauren M. Says:

    Love that video:) That was very nice of you both to sing a song for the fans outside. Not a lot of musicians will do that. I loved it when Kate said “Live from the streets of New York, it’s Jill and Kate!” That was cute!

  4. Fiorella Says:

    I saw this video a few weeks ago. Its so funny 😉

  5. Monica Says:

    I was just watching this the other day. I loved hearing the change being thrown, I cracked up.

    I saw some girl performing and selling her albums in Faneuil Hall a few weeks ago… That’s something you guys should totally do whenever you’re next in town! 🙂

  6. Kristine Balmes Says:

    i want kate’s necklace.. lol

  7. Lynda Benzie Says:

    this is awesome, would have been so cool to be there. are you guys doing another StageIt show anytime soon. Its the only way i get to see you guys perform live at the moment

  8. Erin Says:

    Awesome sauce! This is pure awesome sauce! I cracked up at the change hitting the ground.

  9. Selena Says:

    Fun(ny times, indeed! 🙂 Nice going girls…just living in the moment, singing on the street in NYC! Looks like y’all brought out your inner Phoebe Buffay! Haha!

  10. Alison Says:

    I saw this a couple of weeks ago, I’m so not happy i didn’t stay until closing!

    I loved the sound of change being thrown!

  11. Liz Says:

    This might be my favorite blog post ever! 🙂 That night meant so much to me! Thank you again 🙂

  12. Miriam Says:

    Love. This. This right here is one of the many reasons y’all rock. How nice to randomly play. The lucky drunkards did not miss the something amazing after all!

    So, “-j&k coming soon to a street near you-” I’ve got a few of names to help y’all along: Peachtree (Road, Street, Circle…we love Peaches in GA! 😉 ) N. McDonough St (Eddie’s Attic!), or even 12th Ave N…one guess where that is? Ha.

  13. Erin Says:

    kudos to whoever filmed this! this is quite entertaining. there’s so much going on 🙂

  14. rachelle Says:

    you’re very welcome! i’m glad i’m able to do something for you guys. you can thank my twin for throwing the change! =) it was a great night in the city, very entertaining! hope you can come back soon!

  15. Jenny Says:

    aw i loved that!!! that was awesome!! i really love how great you are to your fans!! i love you!! that is all. 🙂 i wish i can come see you soon!!

  16. E Says:

    I missed this encore because I had to get home and sleep before work the next day! But you ladies put on a very cool show that night. It was worth the delay. Your music – melody, lyrics, harmony are fantastic and will always keep me coming back for more.

Leave a Reply

