Song on July 17, 2011 “Burn It Down”

BURN IT DOWN

Got a place

And I settled in

Found a man

Who was everything

Everything I wanted

Everything I wanted

Everything I

Caught that liar in his tracks

And I said some things I can never take back

Wouldn’t if I could

Wouldn’t if I could

I wouldn’t if I could

One more ride around this town

I think I’m gonna burn it down

One more night inside this town

I think I’m gonna burn it down

Burn it down

Burn it down

Thought I finally found some friends

Til I felt the knife break through the skin

I wondered if I could

Ever forgive

Oh I wondered

If I could

High and dry in the middle of the night

Nothing to show in the middle of my life

I’d die if I could

Die if I could

Die if I could

One more ride around this town

I think I’m gonna burn it down

One more night inside this town

I think I’m gonna burn it down

Burn it down

Burn it down

I’ll drive away and I’ll never look back

I’ll drive away and I’ll never look back

I’ll drive away and I’ll never look back

One more ride around this town

I think I’m gonna burn it down

One more night inside this town

I think I’m gonna burn it down

Burn it down

Burn it down

One more cry inside this town

I think I’m gonna burn it down

One more lie inside this town

I think I’m gonna burn it down

Burn it down

Burn it down

(c) jillandkate, 2011.

20 Responses to “Song on July 17, 2011 “Burn It Down””

  1. Tina Says:

    Once again such a beautiful song. I love it when songs gradually build up and explode like that. Great job ladies! 🙂

  2. elainesnowden Says:

    Gorgeous track ladies. I definitely hope to hear it on a future record 😀

  3. Liz Says:

    Simply amazing! 🙂

  4. Pam Says:

    Such a great song! I deff vote for an explanation next Sunday. It’s way too relatable right now, not gonna lie.

    Feel better Kate! I almost broke my nose on one of those last year. 😦

  5. Selena Says:

    Ooh, intense! I also dig the song’s gradual build up and explosion that’s been previously commented on. So good! 🙂

    “Well, I was on an inflatable obstacle course as everyone is once in their life.” — Haha, nice! Sorry about the ankle injury though. 😦 Get well soon, Kate!

  6. Tina Says:

    Oh and I forgot to say I hope your ankle is back to normal soon, Kate!

  7. Erin Says:

    i dig it. hope your ankle gets better kate!

  8. Miriam Says:

    Lovely singing, ladies!

    Kate, hope your ankle feels better asap. At least it was a fun injury.

    Jill, wow, those were some awesome notes. Also, seriously, want to be my trainer?

  9. Lisa Says:

    Dammit ladies … once again, you’ve made me tear up with such a freakin’ emotional song. This one is defintiely relatable at the moment. I loved the vocals on this — like others said, how it builds up and then just BAM! full force. Awesomeness.

    Kate — Hope your ankle feels better soon! At least it was worth it, right?

    Jill — Just saw y’all open for Graham in IL, but dayum you look fantastic! What’s the secret?

  10. Lauren M. Says:

    I loved it! It’s definitely a keeper:)

    Kate, I could definitely tell you were hurting. You looked like you were a little out of it. I’m so sorry you hurt your ankle. I hope you feel better real soon!

    I’m sure Jill is taking real good care of you:)

  11. Monica Says:

    Praying for a speedy recovery, Kate! That sounds like something that would probably happen to me. Jill, I know everyone’s been commenting on it…but for real, congrats girly! Inspires me 🙂

    And holy crap. I dig the emotion. I keep replaying the end. It’s just so good. Yea, I add this to the list of songs for Story Tellers stageit 🙂

  12. Kim Says:

    I kept writing July 17th today at work and it made me smile every time! Awesome song once again!

  13. cassieleetx Says:

    love love love the emotion and intensity of it =] ahh great song! great lyrics! great look! everything!!!

    Kate- I’m sorry your ankle is hurt =( I hope it gets better soon!! : )

  14. randy Says:

    Awesome as always!!Hope your ankle gets better soon!!

  15. mytwobrowneggs Says:

    Love this song… Love your voices love these lyrics… Ripped a page from life….

  16. Amanda Says:

    Beautiful as always ladies 🙂 At one point Jill gave me chills. Just. Yeah. Awesome!

    Also feel better, Kate! Having a injured foot is the worse!!

  17. elentari86 Says:

    That’s great. One of my favourites so far. Nice job, ladies!

  18. jess Says:

    awesome! love it girls! 🙂
    and jill, wow did you loose some weight? you look sooooo skinny!! 🙂

  19. Bree Davis (@BreeDavis) Says:

    I LOVE this song. I’m so sad yall decided to take so many of your “Songs on the 17th” songs off youtube. I would LOVE if yall would consider a Songs on the 17th Vol. 2. (And this track is a MUST. This song got me through an amazingly difficult time in my life.) I can’t thank yall enough for putting your music out there. As a songwriter myself, your music has been a huge inspiration for me. God Bless!

Leave a Reply

