Bitchin’ Biscuits.

Since reading the book “The Help” I’ve been craving biscuits. I totally blame the book. All their talk of southern food…it’s not fair…I’m a very easily influenced person. The last time I made biscuits I think I was in junior high…so, since my craving for biscuits was in fact SO STRONG I decided to give it a whirl. They did not turn out as fluffy as one might like, but I actually liked them a little crisper. Here is my photo journal of the biscuit making event of 2011:

Flour. The foundation.

I searched high and low on the internets for an easy biscuit recipe. Haha. Right on the bag people!

Buttermilk. Key ingredient.

Mixing bowl.

Working hard.

No fancy biscuit shape cutter thing…used a glass.

Laying them out.

Pretty excited at this point.

A wee bit over cooked…oopsie.

Because I’m adventurous I made some with turkey sausage in the middle of some…

And with the leftover dough I made some random cinnamon and sugar biscuit strips (my mom does this with her leftover dough…she taught me well.) I really think we’re onto something. Biscuit Sticks. I think they could be huge. Cinnamon and sugar + biscuit = YES.

Okay…I wonder how many times I’ve blogged about food? Hmm…probably a lot. I love food.

xoxo

-kate

13 Responses to “Bitchin’ Biscuits.”

  1. Selena Says:

    “The Help” sure gave you inspiration in the kitchen, huh? That’s a nice documentation of the biscuit making event, and the cinnamon and sugar biscuit strips was a creative idea! Well, I’m sure the made from scratch version requires more effort, but on the plus side, it means avoiding opening up one of those popping cans of dough that scare you! πŸ™‚

  2. jasper Says:

    Oh shit! Those really look good, I should probably go get some lunch.

  3. jasmo16 Says:

    Oh I love biscuits! My Nanna was the best biscuit maker ever!!! We would visit and I remember the 5 A.M. banging and clanging of pans as she prepared her usual bacon eggs and biscuits (from scratch,jam too) for breakfast. I sure miss my Nanna and her biscuits. Thanks for the post Kate it made me smile BIG remembering her!

  4. Pam Says:

    Those are bitchin. I was eyeing the fried chicken in the movie. So I think you should make that next and document it. Yup πŸ™‚

  5. I'm just sayin'.... Says:

    “Cinnamon and sugar biscuit strips”…Churros?

  6. Lauren M. Says:

    I love buscuits! Sometimes I put jelly in them or just what you did and put turkey sausages in them. It’s really good!:)

  7. Abby Says:

    Looks tastey! Can’t beat Loveless Cafe biscuits, though! Yummy!

  8. gypsygies Says:

    hot damn that’s what I’ve been craving – biscuits. thank you.

  9. Bonnie W. Says:

    hah, you did good. yes, with jam. yummy. BTW can’t wait for the KC tour and /or Already Famous 3…. Love you gals!

  10. Elena Says:

    Love me some biscuits. Learned how to make them in home economics. Yours look good!

  11. carol Says:

    Thanks so much you have really made my day. Just love ya so much.

  12. Erin Says:

    Now I’m hungry. Too bad I live with health nuts.

Leave a Reply

