The Rubber-Band Affect

Sometimes life moves at an insane pace. Turbo warp speed if you will. You shuffle, push through…try to take it all in. You snap pictures, take in the smells, the sights, the hugs…all in hopes that the memories you make don’t start to fade.

It’s like I’ve been running with a rubber-band around my waist…and I just stopped and the past few weeks have slammed into me. At certain points throughout the day, I’ll tear up for no particular reason. Just emotion bubbling over.

I’ve probably had one of the busiest past six weeks of my life. So, after 24 hours back in Nashville I feel like I stopped (sort of…well not really…I’m not on a plane or in a hotel…you get what I mean…). The hustle and bustle that was behind me in the latter weeks has caught up. More like slammed into me. I’m realizing how many emails I’ve overlooked, how many friends I need to call or text back…I’m realizing how tired I am. How much sleep I’ve missed. How I’ve been on 4 continents in 7 days. How it is possible to leave pieces of your heart in different places. How I’ve laughed so hard my abs kill. How I’ve seen beauty. How I’ve seen heartache. How I’ve been in absolute awe of God’s creation.

At the end of it all…how incredibly blessed I am. I wish there was another word for blessed…it’s more like super-duper-unbelieveably-lucky-knock-my-socks-off-fortunate. That’s more like it.

I’m trying not to forget moments. Trying not to forget the fun. Trying not to forget the growth.

xoxo

-kate

19 Responses to “The Rubber-Band Affect”

  1. Mary B Says:

    I love y’all so much! Thank you for sharing your awesome talents with us and for always keeping us in the loop! Y’all are truly amazing! Y’all deserve to be super-duper-unbelievably-knock-your-socks-off-fortunate! There are very few people like y’all on earth let alone in the music biz. Thank y’all for simply being yall : )

  2. Tiffany black Says:

    My favorite feeling in the world is the feeling that my cup runneth over…. Just overflowing with love… For no reason other than love

  3. jennifer Says:

    I do this so much ok with out the mass amount of travel but in the last few weeks I have worked backstage at a concert at wembley, met a bunch of big UK stars and worked with them, went to a concert of a favourite singer with a younger friend and helped her with a break up, took a group of brownies, guides and seniors section on a trip to blackpool and gone on rollercoasters in the pouring rain, laughed until I was breathless been shocked by them all and beat a guiniess world record, took a night walk in a nature reserve with all those girls last night, started a new job, found out my niece may be coming to live with us and my parents legally adopting her and only when I read your blog did I Stop and take a breath. This is after 4 girls have left my house from a fun night of them root tout leadership award work and throwing home made slime across my kitchen. Crazy so thanks for making me just stop and take it all in.

  4. jennifer Says:

    Rout root? Damn spell check that should have been young leadership qualification

  5. jasmo16 Says:

    It’s great that you realize all these things and see the positives.So many only see one side, and usually it’s the negative. Good on you!!!

    Ps- why would you need another word for blessed??? That is exactly what you are…Incredibly Blessed!!

  6. Esther Says:

    this is why I love your blog, you are so honest.

    take your time.

    sending you a big hug

  7. Stephanie Says:

    Life passes us by so fast, it feels like there are not enough hours in a day sometimes! Cherish everything you experience and enjoy the loved ones in your lives….I feel blessed to share in Jill and Kate music always! πŸ™‚

  8. Selena Says:

    Wow! Just regular life can be overwhelming, but your world is much more fast-paced than most. It must be a lot to take in, and when you work and play as hard as you do, I guess that ol’ rubber band snaps back pretty fast, so it’s understandable for you to feel that way. At any rate, maybe you can strike a comfortable balance soon. Take care, Kate (and Jill)!

  9. gypsygies Says:

    THANK YOU Kate for spending some of your “come down” time & energy to talk to us here πŸ™‚
    I understand the effect and you are so unfreaking believably blessed – and deserving!

  10. Catherine Says:

    Love this! Definitely something I need to keep in mind!

  11. Me Says:

    I definitely relate to this post. Its a flash infront of you’re eyes and before u know it weeks have passed you by. Its best to take in the moments, breathe & feel the energies around you – that moment of pure amazement before u continue your journey. Rest up x

  12. Erin Says:

    I worry about forgetting the memories too Kate. Especially since my grandpa died last month. I am just trying to remember everything that means anything to me right now. I had the realization that someday it’ll all be gone…and when that happens I want to be able to create an endless list of how much I loved every second of it. Take care of yourself πŸ™‚

  13. Jaclyn Says:

    I haven’t been on 4 continents in 7 days….or ever for that matter haha, but I definitely am going through that warped turbo-speed life right now. I graduate college in two months. TWO MONTHS. I don’t even know where the time has gone but all of a sudden I’m halfway through my last semester and I’m not gonna lie, freaking out just a litttttle bit. Every time I stop to think about it I get majorly stressed out. Everything that I’ve known for the past few years (and really, my entire life since I started school when I was 5) is coming to an end, but at the same time there’s so much more ahead of me. I think I needed a reminder to just stop and look around and appreciate what I’m doing and who I’m with in this very moment and remember all of the good things instead of just freaking out about what I’m going to be doing two months from now.

  14. Margaret Says:

    you are the tenderest. you’re doing a great job. one day at a time, one sweet fresh breath of air at a time. i remember reading somewhere something about the feeling of trying to catch a torrent from the other side in a mental thimble- reminds me of the feeling you described. but it very difficult to catch it and hold it- its best just to swim in it. happy backstroke. i love you! margaret

  15. Erin Says:

    Loved this. I think everybody feels like this at certain points in their life. I heard this song the other day and it made me cry but it was a good cry. It made me take a step back and think about the things that really matter. I know this is a few days late haha but maybe it will help you too πŸ™‚

  16. cassieleetx Says:

    Kate, you always write such inspiring and heart-felt posts… and I just want you to know how much i absolutely L O V E to read them!! It makes me think… about the good, the bad, the happy, the sad… and how every moment I have ever faced, no matter what it brought at that point in time, has brought me to the place I am right now, right here, and how each moment has effected me in some way and turned me into the person I am today. I love it when you just write what you are thinking, without caring about what any of us would think as you are writing. Honesty is amazing, and it brings out the true light within that person. And you always find a way to place your words of wisdom inside your posts, whether you realize you are including them or not. It’s wonderful. You just made my day today by this post (and I know you posted it a few days ago, but I’ve been a little behind with the internet world since I don’t have it at my house haha… so I’m just seeing it today).

    I hope you read this and I hope it puts a smile on your face because that’s exactly what you just did for me.

    THANK YOU KATE ❀ much love sent your way from me xoxo

  17. Monica Says:

    Effect* I’m surprised Jill hasn’t corrected the title yet! hehe.
    In all seriousness though, something about this blog was precious. I don’t know. I just really enjoyed it. I definitely get the feeling. It’s crazy when life gets super busy! What I’ve found to be really important is to take advantage of those moments of downtime (even if it’s a day, an hour or just five minutes) where it feels like the pause button has just been pressed. Use the time to breathe, reflect, have selfish “me” time, God time, something that will revive you and keep you going. Hold onto all those great moments and never forget all the blessings! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

