31 Days of Blogging Begins.

This will commence our annual 31 days of blogging in December. Watch out.

 

So, here we are sitting in our dressing room in Wallingford, Connecticut. First show of the “Balls Tour” tonight! The Jingle Balls tour, that is. The Fray will be playing tonight and at a few of the other shows…we’re psyched about that. Totally dig their music.

 

Anyway, to kick off our 31 days of blogging, we thought it’d be fun to reflect back on Thanksgiving and share our favorite recipes from that day. Unfortunately, this year, neither of us were able to get home to our families because we were on X-Factor in LA the night before. So we took a red-eye back to Nashville and arrived early on Thanksgiving morning. We have awesome friends in Nashville that invited us to celebrate with them. Thankful for great friends! Missed our families though.😦

When we arrived, we headed straight to the kitchen to get to work! Here are two of the items we made. They are some of our favorites.

 

Jill:

 

My recipe has no name…at least not in my family. We just call it “Mom’s chocolate dessert thing.” Fancy. If you don’t like chocolate, stop reading now because you will not like what’s about to come. (Also, what’s wrong with you?? I don’t get people who don’t like chocolate! Just kidding, I still like you.)

 

So here’s what it is.

 

A layer of brownie pieces. (I prefer Ghirardelli Triple Chocolate brownies…slightly undercooked so they are gooey and not cakey.)

A layer of chocolate pudding.

A layer of whipped topping.

A layer of crumbled heath bar.

Repeat.

Repeat.

Repeat.

As many layers as necessary.

Caution: Food coma to follow.

 

Kate:

 

One of my favorite dishes at Thanksgiving is a Sweet Potato dish. Again, it doesn’t really have a name, but my cousin may have invented it so let’s name it “Kate’s Cousin’s Awesome Sweet Potato Thing.” Clever, right?

What’s great about this food is that you take a vegetable…and cover it in lots of sugary buttery goodness! Voila: a vegetable that tastes like candy!

I boil the sweet potatoes and cut them into pieces. Melt butter, add brown sugar and spread that over the pieces. Then put walnuts and mini marshmallows (helllllo!) on top…bake…and you have an amazing tasting sweet potato dish. Yum!

 

What’s your favorite holiday recipe?

 

j&k

17 Responses to “31 Days of Blogging Begins.”

  1. Mary Says:

    Lovin the chocolate come Jill!!

    My favorite recipe is a new favorite for me this year, broccoli cheese casserole! I love Cheddar’s and decided to try and make it myself it came out ok but hey it was my first shot at it lol. The important thing was the broccoli came out awesome I just needed to add some spices : )

  2. Vincent Says:

    The pie, the pie, I do it all for the pie. I love pumpkin pie and usually my family bakes one just for me and me alone to eatπŸ™‚

  3. Britt Says:

    I actually celebrated my first thanksgiving ever this year cause we don’t celebrate that in the Netherlands. I was with my girlfriend in Mississippi and gotta tell ya.. I loved it! Thanksgiving is awesome and I think they should celebrate it all over the world. The food is amazing too! I really liked the desert my girlfriends sister in law made. She called it ‘truffel’ or something like that, it was DELICIOUS! I had some sweet patatoes and that was freaking good food! haha! Can’t wait to celebrate it again next year!

    Love you girls!

    XoXo Britt

  4. Kristin H. (@Sundancer24) Says:

    I freaking love chocolate!!!πŸ™‚ That recipe looks good. I shall try it!
    and Sweet potatoes are yummy.. with butter and brown sugar. gosh, so good!❀
    Can't wait for more entries, Sorry you missed the holiday with family. I'm glad you have awesome friends!

  5. Miriam Says:

    Kate, I made that for Thanksgiving too. Here in GA we call it sweet potato casserole. It’s amazing. And this reminded me I have leftover marshmallows! (Must fix this. Off to make hot cocoa!)

    Jill’s dessert sounds fantastic and deadly. Must try.

  6. Whitney Says:

    A few years ago I finally tried the “famous” (food network recipe) Smoked Sausage, butternut squash and wild rice soup. Now, I’m not much for squash in any other form, but this is absurdly good! Apparently it takes forever to make though.

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/smoked-sausage-butternut-squash-and-wild-rice-soup-recipe/index.html

    Also, Cranberries, I can’t get enough!

  7. Selena Says:

    Aw…sorry you two didn’t get to spend Thanksgiving with your families, but I’m glad you had each other and some friends to celebrate with!

    I’m one of those seemingly rare people who isn’t chocolate crazy. For me, it’s alright in small doses, preferably balanced out with something else. But, Jill, if you hung out with me, and there was chocolate around, more for you, right?!πŸ˜‰

    Kate, my mom actually made that dish! It’s a sweet potato casserole, but the mini marshmallows were missing, because she apparently didn’t have any. It’s definitely a sugary treat…possibly too sweet tasting for me, but again, alright in small doses.

    Thanks for sharing your recipes. I enjoyed the names! Haha!

    And, also thanks for embarking on another 31 Days of Blogging!

  8. Lynda Benzie Says:

    So looking forward to the next 31 days. Have checked the blog constantly all day, waiting for the entry for today.
    Dont celebrate Thanksgiving here in New Zealand, but hear about it alot, as i have heaps of american friends. Thinking i might have to try Jill’s dessert, cause it sounds absolutely amazing.

  9. Jaclyn Says:

    Not to toot my own horn or anything, but I make some KILLER shortbread. It’s my great grandma’s recipe, straight from Scotland haha. I only make it around Christmas because it’s horrible for youπŸ˜›

    Oh, and also, 5 cup salad. It has marshmallows and mandarin oranges and coconut in it. I don’t know what else because my grandma said if she told me I’d probably not want to eat it anymore haha.

  10. ElenaFR Says:

    Fun Blog. I love to make apple dump cake. Take two cans of organic apple pie filling in a pan. Cover with a yellow cake mix. Pour a stick of melted butter over all the cake mix. Sprinkle with sugar and bake for 35 minutes at 350. Super easy and super yummy with homemade vanilla ice cream.

  11. Lauren M. Says:

    My favorite holiday dish would have to be deviled eggs. It’s easy and fun to make. I’ve always like eating just the center part of the egg, but now I’ll actually eat the whole egg.

    Even though you guys didn’t get to spend time with family during Thanksgiving, i’m glad you got to spend it with friends who were gracious to take you in:)

  12. H. Nicole Young Says:

    White trash represent!

    You can always count on me to bring the white trash dish to any event, that is, if I can get myself invited or even if I just crash the darn thing the way I do with @Followtheblonde’s Thanksgiving every year (hey, it’s not really Thanksgiving unless you have at least one person there whom the host/hostess regrets “setting an extra space for in case somebody shows up”).

    The one I did this year is the White Trash Ambrosia Salad
    (cost: $11; time spent making it: 2 minutes; scoring a “10” on the white trash cost/time per serving preparation scale: priceless)

    — 2 CostCo-sized cans of fruit cocktail
    — Thing of whipped cream
    — Bag of mini-marshmellows

    Open and drain cans of fruit cocktail.
    Mix everything.
    Refrigerate (if you have one).

    The great thing is if you want to go high class, all you do is add shredded coconut and/or walnuts and voila — time to hire a sous chef. πŸ™‚

  13. jessies crawlspace Says:

    im taking on a challenge to blog 31 days myselfπŸ™‚

    http://jessiescrawlspace.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/blog-marathon-31days/

    and sweet potato rules my world~
    and chocolate coma should be the name of that dish!

  14. Marissa Hunsberger Says:

    haha-in our family we call that dessert “death by chocolate”:)

  15. Susan Webster Griffen Says:

    I am always about the “rolls” on Thanksgiving (I’m a bread freak). My Nana used to always burn The Rolls, so it’s like my most treasured Thanksgiving memory, The Rolls. I also love brussels sprouts cooked in chicken broth then tossed in Dijon mustard and honey. But don’t think I’m a health freak or anything, I love chocolate most of all. M&M’s, hello! And now there are so many flavors!!!

  16. Sandra Tunis Penney Says:

    My favorite holiday dessert besides Lemon Meringue Pie or Pumpkin Pie, is Sex in a Pan. Have you ever tried it? OMG!!! The name says it all.
    I hope you’ll give it a try.
    RECIPE:
    Ingredients

    1/2 cup butter, melted
    1 cup chopped pecans
    1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
    1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
    1 cup icing (confectioners) sugar
    4 cups frozen whipped topping, thawed
    1 (3.9 ounce) package instant chocolate pudding mix
    1 (3.4 ounce) package instant vanilla pudding mix
    3 cups milk
    1 (1 ounce) square unsweetened chocolate, melted

    Directions

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
    To Make Crust: In a medium bowl, mix together butter, pecans and graham cracker crumbs. Pat into a 9×13 inch baking pan. Bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes or until lightly browned; allow to cool completely.
    In a medium bowl, beat together cream cheese and icing sugar until smooth. Fold in 1 cup of the whipped topping. Spoon mixture into graham cracker crust.
    Prepare chocolate and vanilla puddings with milk as per package directions. Allow pudding to set before pouring in layers on top of the cream cheese layer. Spread remaining 3 cups of whipped topping over pudding layer; swirl melted chocolate throughout whipped topping.
    Cover and refrigerate for about an hour. For leftover pie, keep frozen in a tightly covered container. When ready to eat, just cut off a piece and allow to thaw; keep rest frozen.

Leave a Reply

