Little House on the Medicine Woman

Oh the simple life. I just finished a book that was set in the late 1800’s and OMG I kinda wish I could live like that now. I realize they did not say OMG in the 19th century but still….there is something about that sort of simple life that TOTALLY appeals to me. Living off the land. Living in a tiny cabin with a fireplace. Being surrounded by undisturbed nature. Sounds so peaceful.

Ahh…seriously…a time period where men got their muscles from hard work like chopping wood and harvesting wheat…come on!! And a time when women were proud if they had a good set of “birthing hips.” And carrying a little extra weight meant a nice layer of fat that would keep you warm during the winter. That’s what I’m talking about people. Skinny bitches girls wouldn’t make it.

You would rise with the sun and sleep when the sun did too. I love the idea of everyone in a household coming around a fireplace at night. Just hanging together. Singing or storytelling. Simple entertainment. I love the idea of gathering food and eating it that same day. There must have been great satisfaction in that lifestyle.

People wrote letters. Not emails or texts. They took out a quill and ink. It took time and effort to write down your thoughts and feelings. How romantic is that? Don’t even get me started on how cute I think those wax seal things are. You know when they’d light a candle, let wax drip down and then push their seal on it. Not gonna lie, I totally have one with a “K” on it and I get giddy like a school girl each and every time I have opportunity to use it. It looks like this:

Now, I realize that back on the Prairie with Dr. Quinn and friends life was not always the shiny version it is in my head…you know, full of romantic courtship and apple pies. But, there is something timelessly romantic about it to me. Women wore petticoats and bonnets. They read by candle or lantern light. Ahhh. Maybe it’s my alter ego…I live on the road in a fast paced lifestyle so maybe the other half of me wants to hide out in the wilderness with only my loved ones and God’s great big earth. Who knows. Maybe I need a vacation in a cabin. With a fireplace.

Haha. Just to get you in the mood, watch these clips…hahahaaa….they are horribly awesome. I mean come on, travel in a covered wagon? Yes!

-kate-

 

15 Responses to “Little House on the Medicine Woman”

  1. Rebekah Says:

    I found that primitive camping brings me as close as I can get to that 1800s experience. No running water, no bathrooms, you have to chop your own firewood, and all you have is what you hike in. I’m not skinny by any means and I dislike bugs but I LOVE it! It makes you feel empowered and insignificant at the same time and you come away with great respect and admiration for nature and for those who lived it daily…and had to do it all in dresses. If you haven’t tried primitive camping before I highly recommend it.

  2. Selena Says:

    Sometimes this fast-paced modern world makes me long for the simple life too. There is a certain appeal to the era you described, but there were challenges in every decade, and as hectic as things can be now, we have a lot of conveniences that make it easier. I did enjoy playing many a game of “The Oregon Trail” back in the day though!πŸ˜‰

  3. Vincent Says:

    Haha! I love how you can tell what you REALLY meant in your blogs cause the word is crossed out. Exhibit A: The B word in this blog. This makes me wanna play Oregon Trail. It’s always an adventure to see who makes it at the end. You can download the old school version for your computer now tooπŸ™‚

  4. Anietje68 Says:

    In my dreams I am Γ  female version of Grizzly Adams . Living in the woods with my loved ones and animals. So peacefully….Life can be so simple…

  5. emmjay2662 Says:

    I agree Kate. In fact, I wouldn’t marry a guy unless he could write me a damn good letter and would happily jump an offer to take a nice long walk in the outdooors.

  6. jasmine Says:

    You may just have to retire and become Amish. If I could, I totally would!! We had the pleasure of visiting New Holland, PA “Amish Country” last summer. I have never seen anything like it. It was incredible. The food was so delicious, fresh and definitely organic! I loved the main mode of transportation – Horse and Buggy! We went to a working farm and village in Intercourse, Pa. I was like whaaa… Intercourse?? Then i see road signs… With the city names of Blue Ball, Intercourse and then you travel on to Fertility, PA. Ha! OK … My nearly 80 yr. old Grandma just couldn’t take it. She wouldn’t even say the name of the place we were going to “Intercourse”.. I laughed so hard i cried….Please no more i can’t take it! After shopping in the trader’s village and buying authentic amish bonnett’s in Intercourse (i just said intercourse again), we traveled back to New Holland as it was dark you could point out all fo the Mennonite or Amish Households because they all had candles in the windows. No electricity… Wow, what an unusual concept.
    It was truly one of the neatest experiences ever!

    So i would encourage you guys if you ever want an awesome road trip with some of the best food ever and the neatest architecture and just good ol’ 18th Century(i’m guessing, maybe 19th) fun you should take a trip to Lancaster County, PA or New Holland. It is slap a bonnet on my head and call me Amish cause i ain’t leavin’ fun! Really a site to be seen!

    Cheers!

  7. emmjay2662 Says:

    Also, it reminds me- Survivorman Les Stroud = totally hot. Sensitive musician-poet-filmmaker and survival-outdoor-expert. Awesome.

  8. emmjay2662 Says:

    Amish Country road trip- I’m in!!!

  9. H. Nicole Young Says:

    “I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.”

    — Henry David Thoreau (on why he went to live at Walden Pond for two years)

    So, yeah, I don’t think you are alone in feeling that way, Kate, since Thoreau’s “Walden Pond” (sort of covering the same issues) is apparently a hugely popular literary classic.

    I read Walden Pond when I was older than most who read it (usually as required reading in high school or college), and right now I can only remember two things:

    1) Thoreau’s discussion about how clothes does not make the man (woman) . I think this is an example of selective memory on my part in only remembering what I wanted to hear, which turned out to be a welcomed enabler for me in my longstanding habit of just wearing the same clothes (albeit clean clothes) every day until the clothes is practically falling off of me from being so tattered. It was just so nice to finally read, in a classic no less, that this behavior was perfectly acceptable, logical, and best of all (since I unfortunately never make as much effort as I probably should in being environmentally pro-active) very environmentally friendly. I mean, I know the truth — I’m just lazy about buying new clothes and being fashionable — but at least now nobody has to know that because I can just say I am “making great sacrifices to be environmentally friendly” ala Thoreau’s Walden Pond.

    2) Thoreau’s discussion about eating meat. He pointed out how foolish a farmer neighbor sounded when he talked about “needing meat for energy” while the same farmer guided two huge and powerful (and completely vegetarian) oxen in pulling his plow. Although that struck me as being a very logical and convincing argument in favor of vegetarinism, it didn’t convince me enough to actually give up meat. Let’s not get too crazy here, people! I mean, what does Thoreau know about Big Mac Attacks anyway? πŸ™‚

  10. Kevin M. Conley Says:

    news flash! we wrote letters in the 1980’s! you when dinosaurs were around!i meant barney!

  11. Kevin M. Conley Says:

    poor barney couldn’t survive the new millennium and went instinct!

  12. jessies crawlspace Says:

    the minute i started reading this i knew it was kate writing lol

  13. Kiri Says:

    Dear Kate
    You don’t wanna live on the praries it’s too freaking cold here in the winter and snow. But that just takes me back when I use to watch and read the little house on the prarie books.
    Anyway enjoy
    Love kiri

Leave a Reply

