December 13th Randomness

18 Responses to “December 13th Randomness”

  1. Kristin H. (@Sundancer24) Says:

    haha! I love this! At first I thought you were literally just making the verses as you sang, until you mention turning the page, Kate! hahaha!

    I thought the song was lovely.
    You guys are matching it pink, nice!πŸ™‚

    Can’t wait for tomorrow!

    -Kristin

  2. Miriam Says:

    Well, that might be the prettiest rant I’ve ever hears.❀

  3. Rebekah Says:

    Not that my opinion matters, but that was great! It was captivating. I couldn’t hear the words the 1st time, not because it wasn’t audible, but I was hypnotized by the melody. I could feel the emotion behind whatever inspired that. I gave it a 2nd listen and the lyrics aren’t too shabby either. (Side note: It made me think about my mom and her recent decision to separate from my dad after 29 years of marriage and I could feel both peace and sadness in listening to those lyrics.) Keep up the good workπŸ™‚

  4. Boston_Holly Says:

    I wish my rants came out like that! Usually it’s disjointed babbling interspersed with questionable language. πŸ™‚

  5. JoAnn Says:

    Can’t wait for that song to be recorded!! =) Loved it!

  6. Jaclyn Says:

    My rants don’t come out that pretty haha….really though, that was a really great song for just coming up with it on the spot.

  7. Marisa Says:

    LOVE the song!!! But what up with the matching blouses?!πŸ™‚

  8. Lauren M. Says:

    I loved it! Great song and Kate you sounded awesome!

  9. H. Nicole Young Says:

    Dollars to donuts says you are going to wake-up tomorrow morning and say, “That’s awesome — woo hoo!” At least I hope you do because I think it is awesome-woo-hoo *tonight*, without having to sleep on it. Then again, I may be a tad wee bit biased because you seem to have struck a chord with me on the lyrics (very pretty melody, too, btw). I especially like “freedom within the doubt.” Yeah, what she says. I’ll take a few cases of that — freedom within the doubt. Not sure what you meant by that, but I myself have been known to go to great lengths to remove any doubt I have had about something. I hate doubt. I loved the movie “Doubt” because I hate doubt, and here is an entire movie about it, and about how Meryl Streep hated doubt, too, only I would have been about 1000 times worse than Meryl at trying to get at the truth — like interviewing the priest and watching his every move and breathe to see if he is lying and if so, how badly, and interviewing the teenager and doing the same, and interviewing every person both the priest and the teenager have known since childhood, watching their every move and breathe, and interviewing every person that knew every person they’ve both known since childhood and gathering evidence at the scene and going back to my FBI lab like Bones and figuring it all out from a speck of mud I found in the cracked glasses of a flea on a bear (why am I suddenly thinking camp songs now?) LOL.

    Anyway, bottom line is I hate doubt, right? But the world is full of doubt and everything isn’t going to have a black or white answer, especially in relationships, so what the heck is one to do except learn to live with it somehow — by finding (yup, you guessed it) “freedom within the doubt.” Like, if you can’t beat it, join it. Embrace it. Remove as much doubt as you can, and learn to live with the rest — or not. Anyway, that’s what caught my attention the most, prolly because it put into words some strong feelings that prolly needed to be put into words for me. Music may calm this beast, but there is nothing like a spot-on label for a confusing feeling to prevent this beast from needing calming in the first place. Wonderful. Thanks. πŸ™‚

    Other lyrics that caught my attention right away, first pass…

    I have drawn the line
    I wish you can find
    A way over it
    And be home again

    If you’re ever free
    Please come back to me
    (worse and worse)

    OMG — THIS TURNED OUT TO BE SUCH A SAD SONG!!! I can’t believe I didn’t see that coming. I rarely go out of my way to hear a sad song and actually try to avoid them like the plague, so this rapid downward spiral into sad hell right at the end caught me by surprise. LOL Well, too late. I like it now. *sigh* πŸ™‚

    • H. Nicole Young Says:

      Whoops, that’s every breath, not every breathe. Gawd, I hate when I do that!

      Well, while I’m here, thought I’d add that while I was downloading the song earlier (sometimes it goes in spurts, as it did today) I was only half-paying attention while working in another window, and I did a double take when I thought I heard Kate singing, “You can f*&% me” at the beginning. Just saying… still not clear what she is saying… “You can fog me?” Later Kate sings, “You can follow me”, but not sure at the beginning. I was actually laughing my head off when a bit later during that first download Kate sings, “You’ll go… fffar away” because for a split second I thought she might swear again. πŸ™‚

  10. jenbug1988 Says:

    I don’t think this was bad at all, so I hope you girls realise how amazing it is in the morning. This song actually hit me and a massive situation I am going through like a rock it’s a totally different situation to what I think the song is based on but the lyrics still relate non the less. Result of which is despite trying to stop myself, I ended up sat here sobbing in tears.
    I think being able to make a song that can have that effect is kinda what music is a little about.
    In all honesty I haven’t cried about the situation, which I think was killing me and that song has just been like a bit of free therapy I guess.
    I also think, just like your blog, I might be more awake later today (it’s 7am and I just woke up) and think oh that’s interesting why did I rant that all out on their blog?

    In short I think this song came at a point where I needed it, so if absolutely nothing else (which I know won’t be the case as you girls have so many fans) it helped me out a little unexpected this morning. so thanks.

  11. Selena Says:

    Way to keep it real! That was nicely done, especially for being impromptu! Maybe you’d like to vlog an actual session where you come up with the lyrics on the spot sometime too? By the way, what’s the song title?

  12. jasper Says:

    No offense Kate, but I had no idea you had such a beautiful voice with such subtle emotion. Loved it.

  13. Kim Says:

    I love day 13 of randomnessπŸ™‚

  14. Erin Says:

    You guys are seriously so ridiculously talented! And you make me laugh all the time!πŸ™‚ Two thumbs up!

  15. Mary B Says:

    Oh….my….gosh….

    Freaking amazing…. Y’all are freaking amazing!

  16. Pam Says:

    This is beautiful. I highly suggest more impromptu performances again in case you guys were iffy about it.

  17. E Says:

    Just caught up on the blog and was mesmerized by Kate’s voice. I feel like many times Jill is singing “lead” on the songs and Kate is harmonizing. So it was a really nice to hear Kate the whole way though. You sang this so nicely. The slight rasp in your voice, whether intentional or not gave the whisper a little more edge and hurt. Keep up the great collaborations ladies and I can’t wait to see you on stage in a month!

Leave a Reply

