Twas The Night Before Christmas…

Actually…this should be titled “Tis The Night Before Christmas…” but, it is what it is.

So this will be short because well, it’s Christmas Eve and there’s a lot more to be excited about than a j&k blog…haha! But…we recently saw this bumper sticker in Nashville and had to take a picture because we didn’t know if it was serious or a joke. (In case you can’t read it, it says “Iโค My Grandog.”)

We discussed it for a while and figured it must be a joke. We laughed.

And then alas…..today I was in Target and I heard a lady tell the clerk that her “GRANDOG” was coming to town for Christmas so she needed to buy treats. For. Real. So this is a thing??? This is a thing. And so our question is answered.

No comment.

Merry Christmas Eve everyone!! To you and yours! And your Grandogs if you have any!

-j&k-

8 Responses to “Twas The Night Before Christmas…”

  1. Mary B Says:

    Crazy that y’all blogged about dogs bc…. *drum roll* I got a puppy for christmas!! A little yorkie! ( still debating the name lol) but yes I’m 22 years old and my parents bought me a puppy (I’m spoiled, but at least I admit it lol)

    Love thirty one days of blogging!

    Merry CHRISTmas!!

  2. Tj_pinkgurl Says:

    Merry Christmas to you!!! Hope you guys have an awesome time with friends and family!

    TJ xoxox

  3. Tricia Says:

    I totally thought my mom made that up! That’s what she calls Digger. Haha

  4. gypsygies Says:

    Aw…so it’s more love in the world.๐Ÿ™‚
    Funny to have a title for it, but I bet it’s a son or daughter who has, for any reason, chosen not to have kids and has a dog they love deeply instead.

    Pretty funny bumper sticker all in all.

    Merry Christmas Jill, Merry Christmas Kate, Merry Christmas to all of your families and friends, and Merry Christmas (or Happy Holidays) to all other fans here celebrating. *hugs*

  5. Jaclyn Says:

    Grandog? I mean I get that dogs are a part of the family (I love mine to death) but there’s a line that should not be crossed lol.

    Now….back to baking…my mom put me in charge of desserts this year. It’s way more work than I was anticipating.

  6. Selena Says:

    Well, these J&K blogs are sort of like opening a little written gift everyday this month! Hmm…I guess some people are really hardcore about making their pets part of the family, huh?! I think gypsygies comment has a good theory on the “Grandog”

    Have a very Merry Christmas, Jill and Kate!๐Ÿ™‚

  7. H. Nicole Young Says:

    LOL. Hey, well, dogs are people, too.

    Whether that’s a joke or not probably depends on the person driving the car, who is probably wondering who the two weirdos behind her are, tailgating and taking pictures of her bumper. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve seen all across the spectrum on this one. As mentioned above, it’s usually a couple who decide for whatever reason not to have kids, and they get a dog instead, so their parents refer to the dog as their “grandog.” But I’ve also seen it used to describe a son or daughter’s dog even if the son or daughter is not married — like just an easier, funnier way to say “my kid’s dog” (kind of like saying “baby daddy” instead of “my children’s father from whom I am divorced” — geez, even I have taken to saying baby daddy on a regular basis these days for that one without even skipping a beat or cracking a smile about it). So yeah, I think grandog can definitely be said in convenience or in pretty good humor, especially if the person saying it already has grandkids from other children and just has that type of personality, but man, can’t help but sense a touch of bitterness mixed in with the humor for some of these parents who are either jealous and tired of hearing about grandkids from their friends or are really putting the heat on a son or daughter for the grandkids! LOL And life goes on…

    And watch what ur saying about having better things to do than a j&k blog. Bite ur tongue! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Merry Almost Christmas (apparently by only a few minutes where you are, if I can get this off immediately!)

  8. Monica Says:

    Ha! I didn’t know people really said that. I jokingly referred to my dog’s puppies as my grandpuppies, but that term didn’t last too long.

    Merry merry Christmas๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

