Be.

Good morning. We are in Florida right now on tour and we are trying to fully take advantage of the sun and the beach especially since we have been up in the northeast for the past few weeks.

This morning, Kate, Cory and I got up early to go out on to the beach and watch the sunrise. It was one of those great moments in life when something is so simple and yet so mind-blowing at the same time. We watched the bright pink/orange sun push its way up over the ocean and break through the clouds like it was nothing…but it’s not nothing! It’s incredible and sometimes I forget how beautiful and amazing this world is.

Sometimes I forget to stop and just “be.” I forget to go outside and breathe in the air and soak in the sunshine. I get busy or maybe just lazy sometimes, but I forget how therapeutic it can be to stop and enjoy the small moments in life. Be alone with my thoughts. Talk with God. Listen to the ocean. Watch the birds. Stare at the clouds. Be. Today was a nice reminder.

-jill-

19 Responses to “Be.”

  1. Erin Says:

    Love those little moments in life that make you take a step back and realize how amazing this world really is. Watching the sun rise and set on the beach is my favorite thing to do in the summertime. This post made me think of this song…i love it and I love this blogπŸ™‚

  2. Marissa Hunsberger Says:

    thanks for the reminder!

  3. ElenaFR Says:

    Gorgeous!

  4. Selena Says:

    Sounds peaceful. I’m glad that even amongst a fun, but fast-paced touring time, you’ve found moments to just be.πŸ™‚

  5. Bonnie Says:

    Wow, really nice….Sunsets in AZ. are awesome also..ENJOY

  6. randy Says:

    Awesome!!

  7. Kevin M. Conley Says:

    hey, it was i 60 in Manchester! though i didn’t enjoy! i was in bed all day!

  8. H. Nicole Young Says:

    Nice pic! Nice message, too — just be. Reminds me of “just breathe” from Faith Hill’s song by the same title.

    Was the sunrise really that red? Good thing you’re getting out of town before the storm hits — red in the morning, sailor’s warning; red at night, sailor’s delight. Must be something to it since I think even Jesus referred to it as “an old sailor’s saying.”

    Glad you are having a great tour.πŸ™‚

  9. Fern Says:

    “The sun will rise”πŸ™‚ and it will knock your socks off every time!

    Btw – your harmonies on the Smoakstack version of above track – so good! :))

  10. Bridget Ann Berran Says:

    Just “be”….great advice in a small word , beautiful picture….

  11. Marleen Says:

    Be.❀

  12. Lisa Botzenmayer Says:

    Sometimes life gets crazy and we get tied up in all the madness. I take pictures quite often of the things that make me happy and at ease. Then I make a collage so it’s an instant reminder. Maybe that’s something you girls should make for the tour bus.

  13. Kim Rulz Says:

    Jill.. I adore you because there is a little more depth when you write.

    You should write more.. just sayin’
    πŸ˜‰

  14. Regine Says:

    Jill, I completely agree with you that sometimes we need to just BE. Be still in silence and with our thoughts, and letting ourselves take in the moment we are in rather than worrying about the before or after. I think that sometimes we fill our time with “noise” (choosing to be busy with appointments, errands and meetings, distractions – i.e. facebook, twitter, constantly having music in the background, etc.), because to surrender to just “being” and the quietness can be uncomfortable and unsettling, but really, it’s sometimes what we really need to reset ourselves and re-prioritize.

    Great post Jill. You need to blog more often!

  15. Jennifer Says:

    I got the chance to have one of these moments this summer. I went to walk around the lake at the camp I was working at in NH and I stopped at about 3 different spots. One being top point of the lake where there is a bridge I sat there for a good two hours watching frogs, dragon flies and just watching the lake, so amazing. I also went to one of the docks and did the same and fell asleep on the dock. So relaxed and I just had time to think and appreciate things.
    I think when I take my Guides camping this summer I may get up early and just watch the sunrise as I’ve never seen it on our camp siteπŸ™‚

  16. jessies crawlspace Says:

    in the words of KC “be still, let it go”

  17. nicole Says:

    gotta love new england!:) saw you both at foxwoods amazing job love you both!:)

  18. Jessica Potter (@Jessie_Potter) Says:

    Thank you for reminding me to stop and just ‘be’, to enjoy this amazing world God has created for us to enjoy! Blessings xx

Leave a Reply

