Snowy Hikes, General Hooker and Some Guns

When we were up in New England I (kate) got up to a couple out-of-the-norm-while-you-are-on-tour things which were SUPER fun. I had a friend visiting so we made the best of doing some fun things up in New England. Here are some picture highlights🙂

It was a mere 3 degrees outside but the sun was shining & it was beautiful!

Drove up the coast of Maine & stopped at this cute little secluded beach.

Found a path & hiked all along the cliffs. And yes…that’s ice in the picture so in certain places I seriously did not want to have a clumsy moment & end up in the water. I took it slow🙂

That’s me in the distance.


Cute little lighthouse. I had actually been here before but it was during the summer months so it was nice to see it in a different season.

In Boston we scoped out what the New England Aquarium had to offer. My favorite part was the amazing jellyfish. They were mesmerizing. Whatever…I did a report in the 3rd grade on jellyfish…I felt we had a connection. Haha.

They were glowing. Right? #coolestthingever

Then there was THIS guy. I literally laughed out loud and could not get over how funny I thought this was. He didn’t move…he was just chillen on the glass. Watching us. SO FUNNY.

These guys freaked me out. They are something like Dragon Fish found in Australia…they looked SO weird.

#schoolsoffishfordays

Walking around Boston we found this sign. I felt like I was winning.

Hit up a great breakfast spot, The Paramount. Yes, I said breakfast. Don’t judge. This was my breakfast & it was delicious. Banana Caramel French Toast.

This pic was after we had left New England but I still thought I needed to share. I was on the bus in Johnstown, PA…talking to my dad on the phone…minding my own business. I stepped off the bus & was going to the bay to get something from under the bus when a security guy got my attention and said “I don’t think you wanna walk that way…the policemen have their guns out.” I had gotten off the bus and started walking RIGHT INTO four policemen with their guns drawn yelling at someone in a cab. It was crazy. I immediately whipped out my phone to take some pics…I know, I know…super smart. Anyway…they arrested someone in the back of a cab and the excitement was over. I know what you’re thinking…best story ever. Haha.

10 Responses to “Snowy Hikes, General Hooker and Some Guns”

  1. Miriam Says:

    Oh, pretty. If you like aquariums, I’m gonna have to pimp mine, the Georgia Aquarium. Check it out if you haven’t been. It’s awesome AND the Dolphin Tales exhibit is amazing.

    PS. Love the “General Hooker” Entrance. Do specialized ones have a special door?

  2. Esther Says:

    Hi Kate, you could definitely be a tour guide if you ever want a change in career, that was one lucky visitor, nice photos! Especially the rocky outcrops and lighthouse! blessings while you’re on the road! p.s. please keep on making music though🙂

  3. Selena Says:

    The scenic New England shots look chilly, but pretty!

    Interesting creatures at the aquarium. I was reminded of “The One With The Jellyfish”!

    Haha at the General Hooker Entrance sign.

    I don’t think I’d even heard of having Banana Caramel French Toast, but it looks pretty tasty.

    Well, I’m assuming no shots went off at the police scene, but I’m glad you were warned before walking into it!

  4. heinv Says:

    Nice pics! All four food groups in the breakfast, huh? At least the fruit looks healthy😉

  5. Brittany Says:

    Haha yeah good old Johnstown, that same thing happened when I had a track meet there in may.

  6. jennifer Says:

    New England aquarium =❤ been ther twice, also went to the 3d show thing they have and I was that idiot who was so engrossed in it I swatted infront of my face when something came towards me haha

  7. Boston_Holly Says:

    Yay New England blog! Glad you enjoyed all things wicked awesome. I’m a member at the NE Aquarium solely so I can go see the penguins and seals on my lunch break for a quick visit…makes any day that much better. Also, the General Hooker thing? Um yeah, I work a block away from there…but since I’m a State employee I can use the side entrance…no Hooker entrance for me! 🙂 Oh, and yes, local legend is that Gen. Hooker’s penchant for libations and ladies is the root of the slang term for (ahem) “ladies of the night”. But apparently wikipedia feels otherwise:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_Hooker

  8. Candance Flynn Says:

    yup. go old maine! a good place drink, i know been there! very peaceful!kevin hope iam awake tommorrrow!i usally take a nap late aftrnoon, i work nights during the week!

  9. Candance Flynn Says:

    that’s me , KEVIN! not candace , she has taken over this brower INTERNET EXPLOYER! I USALLY I USE GOGGLE CHROME!P.S. SHE IS A CARTOON CHARACTER!

  10. Monica Says:

    Maine beaches are so, so pretty.
    I remember going on a tour at the State House my senior year. I felt like I was the only one who was amused at the General Hooker entrance….everyone else was apparently hardcore government fans and didn’t laugh at such things.

Leave a Reply

