Well well well…

If it isn’t Monday again. The weeks go by rather fast these days don’t they? For me they have been flying. I can’t believe it’s already March. Want to know what’s weird? As I was typing that, the Ellen show was on in the background and she said “I can’t believe it’s March…” It’s so crazy when stuff like that happens. I love it.

So I have these incredible friends back in Nashville who gave me the most awesome Christmas present ever. It’s a day planner with little notes/cards for every week that I am out on the road so that whenever I need a little pick-me-up from back home, I can open it up and read one of their cards. Seriously, best friends ever award. I’m so lucky.

Anyway, today’s card had a quote in it and you know how much I love quotes. So here it is:

“Rudeness is the weak person’s imitation of strength.”

I’ve never heard that one before, but it hit me pretty hard just now. It is pretty easy to get annoyed with little things and be rude especially out here on the road. It’s easy to lose perspective and for everything to become a much bigger deal than it actually is. It’s easy to become completely self-focused. Sometimes I just want to be complain and be rude and act like a two year old who needs a nap. But I have to remember to suck it up, be strong and act appropriately.

So there ya go. Jill’s thoughts for the day. Keep on truckin.

-j-

10 Responses to “Well well well…”

  1. Selena Says:

    Yeah, sometimes certain days seems so long, and yet weeks or months or even a whole year can seem to fly by pretty quickly!

    That was a creative and thoughtful gift from your friends. The quote is a new one for me too. I think it’s normal for even the best behaved to have their moments of weakness/rudeness, and obviously, it’s undesirable, but don’t give yourself too hard of a time. I’m sure you’re not one of the people who seem to do it habitually.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    I hate when people are unnecessarily rude and I have to really stop myself to not get into the same mind frame in work especially when I take every call with the greatest intention to help and be polite.

    Love this story, being Buddhist I try and take this onboard in situations where I find myself edging on being rude,

    The Akkosa Sutta ~ the Insult

    Once the Blessed One (Buddha) was staying at Rajagaha in the Bamboo Grove near the Squirrels’ Feeding Place. Now the brahman Akkosa Bharadvaja heard this: “The brahman Bharadvaja, it seems, has become a monk under the Great Monk Gotama.” Angry and unhappy, he went to where the Blessed One was. Having approached the Blessed One, he abused and criticized the Blessed One in foul and harsh words. Thus reviled, the Blessed One spoke to the brahman Akkosa Bharadvaja: ‘Well, brahman, do friends, confidants, relatives, kinsmen and guests visit you?”

    “Yes, Gotama, sometimes friends, confidants, relatives, kinsmen and guests do visit me.”

    “Well, brahman, do you not offer them snacks or food or tidbits?”

    “Yes, Gotama, sometimes I do offer them snacks or food or tidbits.”

    “But if, brahman, they do not accept it, who gets it?”

    “If Gotama, they do not accept it, I get it back.”

    “Even so, brahman, you are abusing us who do not abuse, you are angry with us who do not get angry, you are quarreling with us who do not quarrel. All this of yours we don’t accept. You alone, brahman, get it back; all this, brahman, belongs to you.

    “When, brahman, one abuses back when abused, repays anger in kind, and quarrels back when quarreled with, this is called, brahman, associating with each other and exchanging mutually. This association and mutual exchange we do not engage in. Therefore you alone, brahman, get it back; all this, brahman, belongs to you.”

    “People, including the king, know the Venerable Gotama thus: ‘The Monk Gotama is the Worthy One.’ When does the Venerable Gotama become angry?”

    Said the Buddha:

    “Where is anger for one freed from anger,
    Who is subdued and lives perfectly equanimous,
    Who truly knowing is wholly freed,
    Supremely tranquil and equipoised?
    He who repays an angry man in kind
    Is worse than the angry man;
    Who does not repay anger in kind,
    He alone wins the battle hard to win.
    He promotes the weal of both,
    His own, as well as of the other.
    Knowing that the other man is angry,
    He mindfully maintains his peace
    And endures the anger of both,
    His own, as well as of the other,
    Even if the people ignorant of true wisdom
    Consider him a fool thereby.”

  3. M Says:

    You should share this quote with Kate.

  4. Stacy Says:

    Love the quote!

  5. Boston_Holly Says:

    Great quote…and that is a wonderful idea for a gift! Now I may have to get all crafty and try making an inspirational planner for my friends!

  6. Jake Leinweber Says:

    The whole camp you work with, from what I’ve seen, is all about what it should be. Passion for your craft and kindness for others. I met Kate in December and you at Champaign on the 25th. If nothing else, know that your journey and talent is inspiring me to really go for it and hopefully make a contribution back in music.

  7. E Says:

    “Sometimes I just want to be complain and be rude and act like a two year old who needs a nap”

    My sister-in-law keeps a blog. This comment reminded me of her latest entry. In case you want pictures of a 2 year old who needs a nap (or just some medicine). The title of her blog entry fits your mind set too. Apparently the first week of March leads to some crankiness in my blog-o-sphere.

    http://lksquared.wordpress.com/2012/03/03/controlling-your-emotions-is-a-part-of-growing-up/

  8. Kevin M. Conley Says:

    i am nicer when iam on road , but iam vacation not working!plus people tend to be nicer when you are spending money and have no idea who you are?

  9. Mindy Says:

    I needed that…However, I needed the laugh I got when you said to keep on truckin more. Leavin the “g” out is a New England thing. Me, being the Masshole that I am, picked up on that🙂 Thanks Jill❤

Leave a Reply

