JillandKate’s New Song on March 17th, 2012-“ONE DAY”

ONE DAY

I see you
You don’t look the same
I hear you
But your voice has changed
I wanted to keep you safe
But you’re stubborn and strong
Think you found what you want
And you’ll never change

One day you might ask me why
I can’t tell you how I’ve tried
To keep you from running away but you turned your back on me
One day I might tell you why
Why I couldn’t stand beside you
Watch you take your own damn life

I’m sorry this is not enough
I’m broken by what you call love
You wanted to keep me close
When it was convenient for you
To have someone to use
So you weren’t alone

(C) jillandkate, 2012.

16 Responses to “JillandKate’s New Song on March 17th, 2012-“ONE DAY””

  1. Alison Says:

    Love it!!! I really want to hear it when you complete the bridge.

  2. Selena Says:

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day, Jill and Kate!๐Ÿ™‚

    Yay, this is the song y’all were working on Tuesday, right? Such pretty vocals and emotional vibe. Good stuff; keep it up! Can we hear the bridge “one day”?๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Dani smith Says:

    I absolutely love this song!!!! You girls are amazing:-)

  4. Stephanie Says:

    Happy Birthday, Jill.๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Kalyn Says:

    LOVED this song!! LOVED seeing y’all at the Fox friday night! Not sure if Kelly remembered, but during our m&g i told her to spread early bday wishes to you Jill. So Happy Early Birthday๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Jaclyn Says:

    I’ve listened to this 4 times already, I love itโค I love sad songs…I don't know what that says about me, but those are usually the ones I put on repeat haha.

    I'm always up for a StageIt show, by the way๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Kim Says:

    I love it! It’s so haunting.

  8. nataliana3 Says:

    great as usual๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Miranda Says:

    I can’t stop listening to this song. So gorgeous. I hope we get to hear the whole thing some day. I definitely wouldn’t be adverse to it ending up on the new album either.๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Kristina Says:

    Oh my goodness!! I think this might be my FAVOURITE Sot17th yet! This is sooo beautiful. Powerful lyrics and the harmonies are so tight! –not that I am surprised๐Ÿ˜‰

    Really, really hope we get to hear the finished product on Sot17th, Vol. 2!๐Ÿ˜€

    Thanks for sharing and continuing to be awesome!

  11. Regine Says:

    I’ve listened to this song repeatedly over the last two days. It’s stunning. You guys have a way with writing beautifully heartbreaking songs and this is no exception. It sounds like such a personal song, but I wanna know the context behind it.

    I love how the guitar plucking is very different from what we normally hear from you, and it gives it this very – I dunno if these are the right terms but – “earthy”/grounded/darker/haunted feel to the song. And Kate’s lead vocals in this song…wow – not that Jill isn’t great in this song too with the guitar and harmony. Great emotion. I can hear fragility, brokenness, anger, frustration, sadness, resentment, regret, pain. If you ever performed this with a full band, or recorded a studio version, I can already hear a cello in the background, a piano, and the drums. I can hear the song slowly build from bare bones accompaniment from the intro to the first verse, then a fuller sound starting from the 2nd verse, then having this really intense swell at the bridge. Is it weird that that’s how I imagine it could sound?

    You paint a really good visual with this song. I can picture the person whose point of view this is being retrospective and seeing the progression and unravelling of this friendship/relationship. I’m not sure if the other person in the relationship metaphorically or literally took their own life, so I don’t know if the first person is imagining seeing or hearing them, reliving old memories with a new insight, or physically seeing them again for the first time in a long time. “You don’t look the same”, “but your voice has changed” – no longer perceiving the other person the way they used to…maybe it’s a realization that perhaps they were initially blinded, enamored, or refused to see that other person for who they were? Maybe they thought the other person needed a protector or a saviour while that other person didn’t think they needed a hero to save them. One loved the other too much while the other was more flippant with the relationship. I could go on with what I think about this song. And because of the subject of “One Day,” it makes me think of “Bring You Back To Life.” Both are sad and emotional songs about losing someone, but they paint different stages of grief in my mind – “One Day” anger; BYBTL denial and bargaining.

    Sorry this feedback is so long. In any case, PLEASE finish this song and share it with us!๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Lynda Benzie Says:

    I just dont like this song, but I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. erin2484 Says:

    You guys are on top of things and i’m behind haha๐Ÿ™‚ Just got a chance to listen to this and i’m in love! You are both so ridiculously talented!!๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Johnny Says:

    Nice…..

Leave a Reply

