30 Things

This is Jill…today I turned 30. YIKES! Actually, I’m excited. I’ve heard that your 30’s are better than your 20’s so I guess I’ll find out if that’s true!

Here are a few things I’ve learned over my 30 years…also they are things I want to remember as I continue on in this crazy world. In no particular order:
1. When things are ridiculous, laugh.

2. You are who you surround yourself with.

3. I always feel better after a workout. But that doesn’t always motivate me to actually go do it.

4. I really have never used anything I learned in geometry/trigonometry in real life. Ever. So when I yelled at my math teachers in high school and said it was useless, I was right. I feel satisfaction in knowing that.๐Ÿ™‚

5. Africa is magical.

6. Hearts can be mended.

7. People will always let me down even if they have every intention not to. God will never let me down even if I have every expectation that He will.

8. Forgiveness is hard. Forgiveness is necessary and life-giving. Usually the necessary, life-giving things are hard.

9. Being around kids brings joy. It keeps you feeling young too.

10. The ocean is my happy place.

11. I’m a major introvert. That’s okay.

12. When all else fails, find some chocolate.

13. I have a LOT to learn.

14. Seasons. They exist. Remember and accept that when it’s time for a new season.
“There is a time for everything and a season for every activity under the heavens.” Ecclesiastes 3:1

15. Most people are driven by insecurity. Try not to be one of those people. Learn to recognize those people and don’t let them get to you.

16. Happiness is a choice.

17. I’d like to think I’m more creative than this, but I could wear jeans, a black hoodie and flip-flops or converse every day of my life and be content. Heck, I pretty much do that. Who am I kidding?

18. The Sound of Music never goes out of style. It was my favorite movie as a child and it still is now.

19. Family is the most important. Your real family and the family you choose. Treat them well.

20. Don’t take yourself too seriously.

21. Trust your instincts. They are usually right.

22. Write notes to people. I learned that from my mom.

23. Be generous. I learned that from myย Dad.

24. Pray. Talk with God. Listen to God. Communicate with Him however it is that you communicate. I learned that from both of my parents.

25. Don’t be easily offended. (This is hard for me.)

26. Appreciate other people. Don’t just put up with them or be indifferent. Learn to genuinely appreciate them.

27. Time FLIES. Be here now. Enjoy the moments.

28. Drink a lot of water.

29. Have a go-to karaoke song and own it.

30. Always be thankful.

 

Thank you for all of your birthday messages, tweets, etc. I had the best birthday! Here’s to my 30’s!๐Ÿ™‚

-j

14 Responses to “30 Things”

  1. Fern Says:

    Firstly, Happy HAPPY 30th Jill! Secondly, what an inspiring and very true “30Things” – thank you!

    On that note “5. Africa is magical” – yes it is, born here and lived my whole life here (so far) – so now please let us all exchange some magic – you guys and KC come back to play Cape Town and in return, you’re invited to enjoy every bit of magic Africa has to offer!! :-))

    Much love…..

  2. Regine Says:

    Happy 30th birthday Jill! A very insightful and inspiring post. Thanks for sharing some of your life lessons with us – I’ve found along the way in my life, I have already learned some of those too.

    I literally LOL’d at #3 because I find that to be so true – as good as I feel after a work out, it doesn’t necessarily motivate me more to do it. If I worked out as often as I thought about exercising, then dang, I would be a fricking fitness model, haha!

    Anyways, I sincerely pray that you continue to be blessed in the years ahead of you, and that you also continue to be a blessing to others.๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Kevin M. Conley Says:

    turning 30 is that hardest ?you think your old but you’re not!

  4. Marissa Hunsberger Says:

    I think it’s true- 30’s are better cuz you know yourself a bit more-so enjoy!!
    I love #7 -it is SO true! thanks for sharing. and glad your day was awesome and filled with so many friends!

  5. Leslie Says:

    Hey, we have the same birthday! Cool!๐Ÿ™‚ I turned 29 yesterday. *LOL* Remind me next year that 30 really isn’t so bad & that I don’t have to go hide under the covers on my birthday!๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. jasmo16 Says:

    CHEERS JILL!!!

    – Great Post! I just turned 31…It does seem better over here!

  7. Boston_Holly Says:

    Happy belated birthday Jill! This was a wonderful post…I think you’ve already got a lot of that wisdom and self-reflection that a lot of people don’t seem to grasp until well past their 30s! ๐Ÿ™‚ And yes, 30’s are way better than your 20s, there is a sense of self-confidence that just permeates everything you do (or don’t do), and it’s liberating. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Selena Says:

    This topic really interested me, but I didn’t have enough time to read the blog before having to leave this morning, so instead, I just had something to look forward to for hours. Okay, I’m caught up so…

    I’m pleased that you had the wonderful birthday you deserve. I see you share Kelly’s view that the 30s are better than the 20s. That’s a good attitude and I hope it pans out that way. I’m pretty positive that this kid will end up taking the “Yikes!” perspective when I hit the milestone though, but I suppose that wouldn’t be all that different from any other birthday I’ve had the last several years, so don’t mind me. Haha.

    Um…anyway, I still have some 20s left to live, but looking at your list, I see that I’ve learned many of the same lessons and have much in common with you, and I think that’s a nice track to be on. I’m proud of you, Jill (and Kate)! Stay awesome and wise for life!

  9. LayBackEnjoy Says:

    LOVED your “30 things” and I totally agree with most of them (never been to Africa). I just turned 30 as well and your words some how meant a lot… Thanks for sharing๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Janell and Kim = JK Says:

    Janell & Kim = JK!!!

    We are @ your concert right now in Salt Lake!!! We are in the white hoodies on the floor/back left looking at the crowd…. with the GLOW STIX!!!

    Our white hoodies say 1+1=<3!! In memory of our friend Christina Santiago who was killed @ the Sugarland Concert!!

    We love you both and are so happy to be rockin' out amd having a hell of a good time tonight!!!

    LOOOOOVE YOU,

    Utah's own JK.. Janell & Kim

  11. Gabor Blasko Says:

    Dear Ladies,
    It would be a pleasure to see you perform in concert
    in EUROPE! (preferably the Eastern part, Budapest, Hungary in particular). You would have blast, and you could wear flip-flops all day and put a happy face on everyone around.
    I know you have been touring a lot in the US, but it would be great if you would make your Hungarian fans happy with a brief visit.
    I’m a 35 year old dad, and your 30 list is right on! (#19!)
    so, since time flies (#27), come for a Visit!

  12. Mindy Says:

    Very well said๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you so much for taking the time to share it with all of us. Happy belated birthday from Boston!!!!

  13. Marleen Says:

    That’s a lovely list! I hope you had a great birthday๐Ÿ˜€

  14. whatever I'm lame Says:

    Thank you for #15. Gonna have to put that in my pocket for a while.

Leave a Reply

