A Happy Shirt

So the other day I wore this t-shirt. I had actually never worn this shirt before…I had bought it on tour but never wore it for some reason. So this was its maiden voyage. We were flying to Orlando & from the moment that I walked into the airport people started telling me that they liked my shirt. Like, everyone.

Now, you have to realize. Fashion isn’t exactly my strong point. I love clothes & colors but rarely spend much time plotting or planning what I will wear…so all of this extra attention was a little baffling. The woman sitting behind me, the TSA agent…as I walked by people you could see them trying to read every word. It was really funny.

First I tried to take this pic in the mirror…apparently I’m not the brightest crayon in the box cause you couldn’t read it…hahaha…so I tried taking one myself…tricky.

When I landed in Orlando I walked past one of the “airport greeters”…you know the precious older people that volunteer at the airport in their spare time. Precious. Anyway…I walked past her and she stopped me and said that she sings that song to her grandkids…then she actually sang me the song!! It was maybe the cutest thing I’ve seen & heard…ever.

So there you have it…I had no idea a shirt could be such a conversation starter. It’s now been deemed my happy shirt. Do you have a happy shirt?

I know we’ve been kinda MIA on the blogging…we’ve been busy and enjoying time with friends & family since being off the road…you know…taking a wee bit of down time๐Ÿ™‚ But, we have lots of blogging to catch you guys up on…like the time we got to sing with Keith Urban & Seal, or the epic Coldplay show at the Hollywood Bowl or the fact that our ALBUM is in the final stages of being mixed & mastered. WHAT WHAT!!!!

So many exciting things coming up. Stay tuned.

Hugs. Love. And a sugar rush.

-j&k-

11 Responses to “A Happy Shirt”

  1. Elena Says:

    Cute Shirt!

    Your blog made me happy๐Ÿ™‚

  2. heinv Says:

    Cute๐Ÿ™‚ My Iron Man shirt is my ‘ happy’ one๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Selena Says:

    Total strangers have complimented shirts of mine before, but not on the same level as yours. I think all that attention would make me feel both flattered and awkward!

    I don’t suppose I have a particular happy shirt, but as a kid, I once had a smiley face tee.๐Ÿ™‚ Then, at some point, it came in contact with a liquid that permanently stained it.๐Ÿ˜ฆ Well, the face was still smiling, but I wasn’t happy about it my shirt being ruined! Haha!

    Thanks for checking in!

  4. Marleen Says:

    Thank you for this blog.. it made me smile๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Alice Koehne (@softballrita) Says:

    I am a shirt collector. My favorites have T-Rex on them. One has two T-Rex and one says to the other: “I love you this much,” with its little arms out and the other has its head down and says: “That’s not very much.” The other shirt has a T-Rex laying on its nose and it says: “T-Rex Hates Pushups.” Many great conversations with strangers start with my shirts. I love it! Glad for your fun experience. Enjoy the break. I cannot wait until May 25th…the last day of school…even teachers countdown to summer!๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Myriam Says:

    Oh my gosh, I want that shirt!

  7. Kevin M. Conley Says:

    you would have got more attention from my favorite ironic tee shirt? ‘IAM EASY’

  8. Kevin M. Conley Says:

    YOU GIRLS CAN BORROW IT IF YOU WANT? I ONLY WERE IT ON SPECIAL OCCASION, YOU KNOW LIKE WEDDINGS, FUNERALS AND KELLY CLARKSON’S CONCERTS?

  9. Boston_Holly Says:

    That shirt would bring a smile to my face too! I actually have a music box that my parents gave me when I was a kid that sings that song. ๐Ÿ™‚ And yes, I have a happy shirt…It says “Reading is for Awesome People” and is yellow and has a rainbow on it. LOVE IT. Oh, and yay for album mixing and mastering!

  10. erin2484 Says:

    Adorable! I love cute old people, so presh!!๐Ÿ™‚

  11. emmjay2662 Says:

    Hey J&K – Io am just now reading this blog post for the first time. It kind of made me think how I wish you would collaborate with KC and do an album of those sweet children’s songs and folk songs and lullabies that we all hear and love as children, not the cheesy ones – rather, the sweet ones like “You Are My Sunshine” (well, in a way I guess they are all cheesy, but you know what I mean).

    The story you told reminded me of the value of a message that is simple, uncomplicated and sweet. Well, actually, I’d like to see both a J&K version of many of these songs, and a KC version. It’s a thought worth considering.

Leave a Reply

