A Reflection.

2012 was a year packed full of emotions for me. I’m not much of a crier, but that general rule went out the window for me in this past year. There were ups and downs all year long, but the fall months were a roller coaster of emotions filled with lots of tears. Some were happy tears and some were sad, but many were shed. Many more than I usually produce.

On October 21, we ended our nearly 6 years of touring with Kelly and the crew and I cried both happy and sad tears as we said goodbyes and as we prepared for the excitement of what’s to come.

On October 27, I was with my best friends as they welcomed their second baby boy into the world on a rainy Saturday morning and I cried happy tears at the miracle of new life.

On October 31st, one of our closest friends in the world was diagnosed with cancer. He is not only a friend, but has been active in helping Kate and me for 10 years in all things “JillandKate.” I cried at the uncertainty of life and the idea that one’s world can be flipped upside down in an instance.

On November 1st, my 19 year old cousin passed away after her courageous and unimaginable 6 month battle with cancer. I cried at the tragedy of a life taken too soon. I cried as I gathered with my extended family and we tried to make sense of such a senseless situation.

With all of these tears came questions…and resolve…to live life differently. To be in the moment. Cling to loved ones a little closer. Let things go. Love better. To recognize the blessings I have and appreciate them whole-heartedly. Life happens. Change happens. Tragedy happens. But good happens too. Love happens and laughter happens. Take it all in. Cry when you need to…and heal when it’s time.
I hope 2013 is filled with more happy tears than sad for all of us. Can’t wait to see what this year ahead holds.🙂

-jill

5 Responses to “A Reflection.”

  1. Selena Says:

    Wow, when it rains it pours, huh? That’s a lot of emotionally charged situations to go through, especially so close together! I’m sorry you had some rough patches last year, Jill, but it sounds like you were able to get some positive perspective from them. Take care and have way more happy tears in 2013!

  2. shaunna Says:

    you never realize how close to home someone passing away to cancer is until it happens. It does make a person let go of the little things and enjoy what they have and not stress on what they don’t have. Life is too precious to not love and laugh and enjoy just being you.

  3. nataliana3 Says:

    I loved it Jill! Thanks for writing and sharing it with us:)

  4. Alison Says:

    Wow, I’m sorry life was so tough for you in 2012 and here’s hoping you are all cried out. Hoping you piece things back together and come back stronger than ever.

  5. kcnsassy71 Says:

    Wow! Unfortunately, that sounds sadly familiar. I love your attitude. Never lose HOPE!

Leave a Reply

